
June 14, 2013 

Dear Subcommittee Members, 

Thank you for thinking about the "point of adoption for purposes of appeal" issue.  I received three sets of 

comments/recommendations from members of our subcommittee: 

1) Karen Perrine is wondering if the "effective date" might be a better solution than the "final adoption date".  She 

believes it is a more certain date, with the only outlier being those regulations that can become effective upon filing 

with the Registrar; for those, the notice of appeal could be 30 days after publication in the Register. She proposes the 

following: 

 

Rule 2A:2: 

(a) Any party appealing from a regulation or case decision shall file with the agency secretary, a notice of appeal 

signed by the appealing party or that party's counsel. The notice of appeal must be filed within 30 days after 

adoption of the date on which, subject only to any readoption required pursuant to § 2.2-4015 (B), the agency takes 

final action to adopt the regulation or after service of the final order in the case decision, a notice of appeal signed by 

the appealing party or that party's counsel. In the event that a case decision is required by § 2.2-4023 or by any other 

provision of law to be served by mail upon a party, 3 days shall be added to the 30-day period for that party. Service 

under this Rule shall be sufficient if sent by registered or certified mail to the party's last address known to the 

agency. 

Section 2.2-4012 new subsection F: 

F. In the event that final adoption of a regulation will not occur at a public meeting, the agency must provide notice 

of final adoption to the public prior to actual adoption of the regulation. The notice must specify (i) the date on 

which the agency intends to adopt the regulation, (ii) that public comment will be received, and (iii) an agency 

contact person. The notice must be published in the Virginia Register and posted on Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 

at least 15 days before adoption. 

She noted that, under current publication schedules, this would create an additional 19-day period before adoption.  

For example, the cut-off date for submission of items for publication is August 7 for the August 26th issue of the 

Register.  Also, the date of a board meeting at which final adoption may occur is not published in the Register 

(although public hearings on regulations are), so one could argue that it would not be necessary to publish this notice 

in the Register.   

2) Roger Chaffe suggested the following amendment to Rule 2A:2: 

(a) Any party appealing from a regulation or case decision shall file with the agency secretary, within 30 days after 

the date on which the agency takes final action to adopt or if required pursuant to § 2.2-4015 (B) to readopt adoption 

of the regulation or after service of the final order in the case decision, a notice of appeal signed by the appealing 

party or that party's counsel. In the event that a case decision is required by § 2.2-4023 or by any other provision of 

law to be served by mail upon a party, 3 days shall be added to the 30-day period for that party. Service under this 

Rule shall be sufficient if sent by registered or certified mail to the party's last address known to the agency. 

Accompanied by the addition of this definition to § 2.2-4001: 

“Adoption” or “readoption” of a regulation shall occur when an agency takes final action with respect to that 

regulation if such action is taken at a publicly held meeting.   If such action is taken other than at such a meeting the 

agency shall publish notice no less than ___ days in advance of the date on which it intends to take such action. 

 



3) Cindy Berndt suggested the following amendment to § 2.2-4012: 

E. A draft of the agency's summary description of public comment shall be sent by the agency to all public 

commenters on the proposed regulation at least five days before final adoption of the regulation. 

F. At least five days before final adoption of the regulation, the agency shall announce the date on which final 

adoption of the regulation is to occur. Such announcement may be made through posting on the Virginia Regulatory 

Town Hall, publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations or such other means as the agency deems 

appropriate.  

G. Immediately upon the adoption by any agency of any regulation in final form, a copy of (i) the regulation, (ii) a 

then current summary and statement as to the basis, purpose, substance, issues, and the economic impact estimate of 

the regulation submitted by the Department of Planning and Budget, and (iii) the agency's summary description of 

the nature of the oral and written data, views, or arguments presented during the public proceedings and the agency's 

comments thereon shall be transmitted to the Registrar of Regulations, who shall retain these documents as 

permanent records and make them available for public inspection. A draft of the agency's summary description of 

public comment shall be sent by the agency to all public commenters on the proposed regulation at least five days 

before final adoption of the regulation. 

With that, Roger's proposed definition could be modified to say that adoption is when the agency takes final action. 

Also, Melanie West of DPB helpfully noted that the way the current Executive Branch Review process works, if a 

Director/Commissioner approves a final adopted regulation, it could still be modified without public comment 

during the time it is under review by OAG, DPB, the Cabinet Secretary, and the Governor's office.  It is only at the 

time the final adopted regulation is submitted to the Register's office for publication & public comment that the 

agency is truly done with it. Which may provide a further complication. 

I suggest that we meet to determine the preferred path forward. Please provide Andrew with your availability to 

meet over the next couple of weeks, and we will try to juggle vacation schedules. We could meet at lunch time, as 

we usually do, to keep this simple. 

Thanks, 

Elizabeth 

 

 

 

 



Option 1: 
Point where agency director or 
board makes decision to adopt 
regulation as final 

Option 2: 
Point where regulation is 
published in the VA Register (or, 
end of 30-day final adoption 
period) 

Option 3: 
Effective date of regulation (end 
of 30-day final adoption period 
or later date specified by agency 
- VAPA Sec. 2.2-4015A) 

PRO: - Enables the regulated 
community to appeal ASAP, 
before having to invest to 
achieve compliance.  
- Agency is done with the 
regulation at this point; any 
significant changes after that 
made in response to executive 
review should trigger new public 
comment period & readoption.  

PRO: - Avoids the problem of 
regulations being held up in 
executive review and potentially 
being changed long after appeal 
has been filed. 
- Avoids the need to publicize 
when agency directors adopt 
regulations, since that no longer 
would be the point of adoption 
for appeal purposes. 

PRO: - Avoids the problem of 
regulations being held up in 
executive review and potentially 
being changed long after appeal 
has been filed. 
- The regulation has the full force 
of law (see definition of 
"regulation" in VAPA Sec. 2.2-
4001). 

CON: - Per EO 14 and current 
procedures, a regulation 
sometimes stays in executive 
review for a prolonged period of 
time after the agency decides to 
adopt a final version, and then it 
could be changed as a result of 
executive review; in the 
meantime, time may have been 
wasted on needless appeals.  
- Standing and ripeness issues 
since the regulation is not yet 
effective. There is no one 
"affected by" the regulation yet 
(VAPA Sec. 2.2-4026), and the 
regulation does not have the 
force of law (see definition of 
"regulation" in VAPA Sec. 2.2-
4001).  [But a regulation can 
always be appealed at the time 
of its enforcement (VAPA Sec. 
2.2-4026).] 
- Less public notice of adoption 
date for regulations adopted by 
agency directors (versus boards, 
at public meetings). 

CON: Regulations with delayed 
effective dates have standing 
and ripeness issues since the 
regulation is not yet effective. 
There is no one "affected by" the 
regulation yet (VAPA Sec. 2.2-
4026), and the regulation does 
not have the force of law (see 
definition of "regulation" in 
VAPA Sec. 2.2-4001).  [But a 
regulation can always be 
appealed at the time of its 
enforcement (VAPA Sec. 2.2-
4026).] 
 

CON: At this point, it is too late 
for the regulated community to 
invest in necessary changes 
before the regulation becomes 
effective; so an appellant risks 
being found non-compliant and 
becoming the subject of an 
enforcement action. 

HOW TO ACHIEVE: 
- Add definition of "adoption" to 
VAPA Sec. 2.2-4001 and amend 
Rule 2A:2 (see Roger's and 
Karen's suggested language). 
BUT this needs to be cross-
checked with all uses of the term 

HOW TO ACHIEVE: 
- Amend VAPA Sec. 2.2-4013D as 
follows (note: this is a new 
suggestion): 
"A thirty-day final adoption 
period for regulations shall 
commence upon the publication 

HOW TO ACHIEVE: 
- Amend VAPA Sec. 2.2-4013D, 
similar to what is suggested for 
Option 2. (See, e.g., Model APA, 
which provides that appeals 
based on procedural grounds 
can be brought within 2 years of 



"adoption" in the VAPA; 
potential confusion/conflict, 
particularly with Sec. 2.2-4013. 
- Amend VAPA Sec. 2.2-4012 to 
require agencies to announce 
the date a director will adopt a 
regulation (see Cindy's and 
Karen's suggested language). 

of the final regulation in the 
Register, and such date of 
publication shall serve as the 
date of adoption for purposes of 
appeal except for suspended 
regulations pursuant to 2.2-
4007.06, 2.2-4013(D), and 2.2-
4014(B), and emergency 
regulations as described in 2.2-
4011. The Governor may review 
the final regulation…" 

the effective date of the 
regulation.) 

 



VAPA references to "adoption" 

[Note:  § 2.2-4007.01 and § 2.2-4010 omitted because irrelevant] 

§ 2.2-4006. Exemptions from requirements of this article.  

A. The following agency actions otherwise subject to this chapter and § 2.2-4103 of the Virginia Register Act shall 

be exempted from the operation of this article:  

4. Regulations that are:  

c. Necessary to meet the requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such regulations do not differ 

materially from those required by federal law or regulation, and the Registrar has so determined in writing. Notice of 

the proposed adoption of these regulations and the Registrar's determination shall be published in the Virginia 

Register not less than 30 days prior to the effective date of the regulation.  

§ 2.2-4007.1. (Effective until July 1, 2014) Regulatory flexibility for small businesses; periodic review of 

regulations.  

… 

B. In addition to the requirements of §§ 2.2-4007 through 2.2-4007.06, prior to the adoption of any proposed 

regulation, the agency proposing a regulation shall prepare a regulatory flexibility analysis in which the agency shall 

consider utilizing alternative regulatory methods, consistent with health, safety, environmental, and economic 

welfare, that will accomplish the objectives of applicable law while minimizing the adverse impact on small 

businesses. … 

C. Prior to the adoption of any proposed regulation that may have an adverse effect on small businesses, each 

agency shall notify the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, of 

its intent to adopt the proposed regulation. The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules shall advise and assist 

agencies in complying with the provisions of this section.  

§ 2.2-4007.1. (Effective July 1, 2014) Regulatory flexibility for small businesses; periodic review of 

regulations.  

… 

B. In addition to the requirements of §§ 2.2-4007 through 2.2-4007.06, prior to the adoption of any proposed 

regulation, the agency proposing a regulation shall prepare a regulatory flexibility analysis in which the agency shall 

consider utilizing alternative regulatory methods, consistent with health, safety, environmental, and economic 

welfare, that will accomplish the objectives of applicable law while minimizing the adverse impact on small 

businesses. … 

C. Prior to the adoption of any proposed regulation that may have an adverse effect on small businesses, each 

agency shall notify the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, of 

its intent to adopt the proposed regulation. The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules shall advise and assist 

agencies in complying with the provisions of this section.  

§ 2.2-4012. Purpose; adoption; effective date; filing; duties of Registrar of Regulations.  

… 

B. Subject to the provisions of §§ 2.2-4013 and 2.2-4014, all regulations, including those that agencies, pursuant to § 

2.2-4002, 2.2-4006, or 2.2-4011, may elect to dispense with the public procedures provided by §§ 2.2-4007.01 and 
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2.2-4009, may be formally and finally adopted by the signed order of the agency so stating. No regulation except an 

emergency regulation or a noncontroversial regulation promulgated pursuant to § 2.2-4012.1 shall be effective until 

the expiration of the applicable period as provided in § 2.2-4015. In the case of an emergency regulation filed in 

accordance with § 2.2-4011, the regulation shall become effective upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified. The originals of all regulations shall remain in the custody of the agency 

as public records subject to judicial notice by all courts and agencies. They, or facsimiles thereof, shall be made 

available for public inspection or copying. Full and true copies shall also be additionally filed, registered, published, 

or otherwise made publicly available as required by other laws.   

E. Immediately upon the adoption by any agency of any regulation in final form, a copy of (i) the regulation, (ii) a 

then current summary and statement as to the basis, purpose, substance, issues, and the economic impact estimate of 

the regulation submitted by the Department of Planning and Budget, and (iii) the agency's summary description of 

the nature of the oral and written data, views, or arguments presented during the public proceedings and the agency's 

comments thereon shall be transmitted to the Registrar of Regulations, who shall retain these documents as 

permanent records and make them available for public inspection. A draft of the agency's summary description of 

public comment shall be sent by the agency to all public commenters on the proposed regulation at least five days 

before final adoption of the regulation.  

§ 2.2-4013. Executive review of proposed and final regulations; changes with substantial impact.  

… 

B. Upon final adoption of the regulation, the agency shall forward a copy of the regulation to the Registrar of 

Regulations for publication as soon as practicable in the Register. All changes to the proposed regulation shall be 

highlighted in the final regulation, and substantial changes to the proposed regulation shall be explained in the final 

regulation.  

C. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with substantial impact have been made to the proposed 

regulation, he may require the agency to provide an additional thirty days to solicit additional public comment on the 

changes by transmitting notice of the additional public comment period to the agency and to the Registrar within the 

thirty-day adoption period described in subsection D, and publishing the notice in the Register. The additional 

public comment period required by the Governor shall begin upon publication of the notice in the Register.  

D. A thirty-day final adoption period for regulations shall commence upon the publication of the final regulation in 

the Register. The Governor may review the final regulation during this thirty-day final adoption period and if he 

objects to any portion or all of a regulation, the Governor may file a formal objection to the regulation, suspend the 

effective date of the regulation in accordance with subsection B of § 2.2-4014, or both.  

If the Governor files a formal objection to the regulation, he shall forward his objections to the Registrar and agency 

prior to the conclusion of the thirty-day final adoption period. The Governor shall be deemed to have acquiesced to 

a promulgated regulation if he fails to object to it or if he fails to suspend the effective date of the regulation in 

accordance with subsection B of § 2.2-4014 during the thirty-day final adoption period. The Governor's objection, 

or the suspension of the regulation, or both if applicable, shall be published in the Register.  

A regulation shall become effective as provided in § 2.2-4015.  

§ 2.2-4014. Legislative review of proposed and final regulations.  

A. After publication of the Register pursuant to § 2.2-4031, the standing committee of each house of the General 

Assembly to which matters relating to the content of the regulation are most properly referable or the Joint 

Commission on Administrative Rules may meet and, during the promulgation or final adoption process, file with 

the Registrar and the promulgating agency an objection to a proposed or final adopted regulation. The Registrar 

shall publish any such objection received by him as soon as practicable in the Register. Within 21 days after the 

receipt by the promulgating agency of a legislative objection, that agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the 
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objecting legislative committee or the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, and the Governor. If a legislative 

objection is filed within the final adoption period, subdivision A 1 of § 2.2-4015 shall govern.  

B. In addition or as an alternative to the provisions of subsection A, the standing committee of both houses of the 

General Assembly to which matters relating to the content are most properly referable or the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules may suspend the effective date of any portion or all of a final regulation with the Governor's 

concurrence. The Governor and (i) the applicable standing committee of each house or (ii) the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules may direct, through a statement signed by a majority of their respective members and by the 

Governor, that the effective date of a portion or all of the final regulation is suspended and shall not take effect until 

the end of the next regular legislative session. This statement shall be transmitted to the promulgating agency and 

the Registrar within the 30-day adoption period, and shall be published in the Register.  

If a bill is passed at the next regular legislative session to nullify a portion but not all of the regulation, then the 

promulgating agency (i) may promulgate the regulation under the provision of subdivision A 4 a of § 2.2-4006, if it 

makes no changes to the regulation other than those required by statutory law or (ii) shall follow the provisions of §§ 

2.2-4007.01 through 2.2-4007.06, if it wishes to also make discretionary changes to the regulation. If a bill to nullify 

all or a portion of the suspended regulation, or to modify the statutory authority for the regulation, is not passed at 

the next regular legislative session, then the suspended regulation shall become effective at the conclusion of the 

session, unless the suspended regulation is withdrawn by the agency.  

C. A regulation shall become effective as provided in § 2.2-4015.  

§ 2.2-4015. Effective date of regulation; exception.  

A. A regulation adopted in accordance with this chapter and the Virginia Register Act (§ 2.2-4100 et seq.) shall 

become effective at the conclusion of the thirty-day final adoption period provided for in subsection D of § 2.2-

4013, or any other later date specified by the agency, unless:  

1. A legislative objection has been filed in accordance with § 2.2-4014, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn by the agency, shall become effective on a date specified by the agency that shall be after the expiration 

of the applicable twenty-one-day extension period provided in § 2.2-4014;  

2. The Governor has exercised his authority in accordance with § 2.2-4013 to require the agency to provide for 

additional public comment, in which event the regulation, unless withdrawn by the agency, shall become effective 

on a date specified by the agency that shall be after the period for which the Governor has provided for additional 

public comment;  

3. The Governor and (i) the appropriate standing committees of each house of the General Assembly or (ii) the Joint 

Commission on Administrative Rules have exercised their authority in accordance with subsection B of § 2.2-4014 

to suspend the effective date of a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or  

4. The agency has suspended the regulatory process in accordance with § 2.2-4007.06, or for any reason it deems 

necessary or appropriate, in which event the regulation, unless withdrawn by the agency, shall become effective in 

accordance with subsection B.  

§ 2.2-4016. Withdrawal of regulation.  

Nothing in this chapter shall prevent any agency from withdrawing any regulation at any time prior to the effective 

date of that regulation. A regulation may be repealed after its effective date only in accordance with the provisions 

of this chapter that govern the adoption of regulations. 
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Alabama Code of Alabama 
§41-22-5 

(a) Prior to the adoption, amendment, or repeal of any rule, 
the agency shall: 
(1) Give at least 35 days' notice of its intended action. Date of 
publication in the Alabama Administrative Monthly shall 
constitute the date of notice.... 
 

Arizona Arizona Revised 
Statutes 
§41-1092.06  

A. Except as provided in subsection D of this section, an 
agency shall serve notice of an appealable agency action or 
contested case pursuant to section 41-1092.04. The notice 
shall: 
1. Identify the statute or rule that is alleged to have been 
violated or on which the action is based.  
2. Identify with reasonable particularity the nature of any 
alleged violation, including, if applicable, the conduct or 
activity constituting the violation.  
3. Include a description of the party's right to request a 
hearing on the appealable agency action or contested case. 
4. Include a description of the party's right to request an 
informal settlement conference pursuant to section 41-
1092.06. 
B. A party may obtain a hearing on an appealable agency 
action or contested case by filing a notice of appeal or 
request for a hearing with the agency within thirty days after 
receiving the notice prescribed in subsection A of this section. 
The notice of appeal or request for a hearing may be filed by 
a party whose legal rights, duties or privileges were 
determined by the appealable agency action or contested 
case. A notice of appeal or request for a hearing also may be 
filed by a party who will be adversely affected by the 
appealable agency action or contested case and who 
exercised any right provided by law to comment on the action 
being appealed or contested, provided that the grounds for 
the notice of appeal or request for a hearing are limited to 
issues raised in that party's comments...  

California California 
Government Code 
§11340.7 

(c) Any interested person may request a reconsideration of 
any part or all of a decision of any agency on any petition 
submitted. The request shall be submitted in accordance with 
Section 11340.6 and include the reason or reasons why an 
agency should reconsider its previous decision no later than 
60 days after the date of the decision involved. The agency's 
reconsideration of any matter relating to a petition shall be 
subject to subdivision (a). 
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Delaware 29 Delaware Code  
§10141 

In Delaware a complaint must be filed within 30 days of the 
order being published in the Register of Regulations.  
 
(a) Any person aggrieved by and claiming the unlawfulness of 
any regulation may bring an action in the Court for 
declaratory relief.  
(b) No action of an agency with respect to the making or 
consideration of a proposed adoption, amendment or repeal 
of a regulation shall be subject to review until final agency 
action on the proposal has been taken.  
(c) When any regulation is the subject of an enforcement 
action in the Court, the lawfulness of such regulation may be 
reviewed by the Court as a defense in the action.  
(d) Except as provided in subsection (c) of this section, no 
judicial review of a regulation is available unless a complaint 
therefor is filed in the Court within 30 days of the day the 
agency order with respect to the regulation was published in 
the Register of Regulations.  
(e) Upon review of regulatory action, the agency action shall 
be presumed to be valid and the complaining party shall have 
the burden of proving either that the action was taken in a 
substantially unlawful manner and that the complainant 
suffered prejudice thereby, or that the regulation, where 
required, was adopted without a reasonable basis on the 
record or is otherwise unlawful. The Court, when factual 
determinations are at issue, shall take due account of the 
experience and specialized competence of the agency and of 
the purposes of the basic law under which the agency acted.  
 

Georgia Georgia Statutes 
§50-13-9 

An interested person may petition an agency requesting the 
promulgation, amendment, or repeal of a rule. Each agency 
shall prescribe by rule the form for petitions and the 
procedure for their submission, consideration, and 
disposition. Within 30 days after submission of a petition, the 
agency either shall deny the petition in writing, stating its 
reasons for the denial, or shall initiate rule-making 
proceedings in accordance with Code Section 50-13-4. 

Idaho Idaho Statutes 
§67-5224 (2) 

A petition for judicial review of a temporary or final rule may 
be filed at any time, except as limited by section 67-5231, 
Idaho Code.  Idaho Code 67-5273(1). 
  
A proceeding, either administrative or judicial, to contest any 
rule on the ground of noncompliance with the procedural 
requirements of this chapter must be commenced within two 
(2) years from the effective date of the rule.   Idaho Code  67-
5231(2). 
  

http://legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title67/T67CH52SECT67-5231.htm
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Effective date of final rule: 
A rule adopted by an agency is considered a pending rule 
until the rule has been submitted to the Idaho Legislature for 
review.  The rule becomes final and effective upon the 
conclusion of the legislative session at which the rule was 
submitted for review.  See Idaho Code 67-5224(5) below. 
Idaho Code 67-5224(5) 
 (a) Except as set forth in sections 67-5226 and 67-5228, 
Idaho Code, a pending rule shall become final and effective 
upon the conclusion of the legislative session at which the 
rule was submitted to the legislature for review, or as 
provided in the rule, but no pending rule adopted by an 
agency shall become final and effective before the conclusion 
of the regular or special legislative session at which the rule 
was submitted for review. A rule which is final and effective 
may be applied retroactively, as provided in the rule. 
(b)  When the legislature approves, amends or modifies a 
pending rule pursuant to section 67-5291, Idaho Code, the 
rule shall become final and effective upon adoption of the 
concurrent resolution or such other date specified in the 
concurrent resolution. 
(c)  Except as set forth in sections 67-5226 and 67-5228, Idaho 
Code, no pending rule or portion thereof imposing a fee or 
charge of any kind shall become final and effective until it has 
been approved, amended or modified by concurrent 
resolution. 

Model State  
APA 

§503 SECTION 503. TIME TO SEEK JUDICIAL REVIEW OF AGENCY 
ACTION; LIMITATIONS.  
(a) Judicial review of a rule on the ground of noncompliance 
with the procedural requirements of this [act] must be 
commenced not later than [two] years after the effective 
date of the rule. Judicial review of a rule or guidance 
document on other grounds may be sought at any time.  
(b) Judicial review of an order or other final agency action 
other than a rule or guidance document must be commenced 
not later than [30] days after the date the parties are notified 
of the order or other agency action.  
(c) The time for seeking judicial review under this section is 
tolled during any time a party pursues an administrative 
remedy before the agency which must be exhausted as a 
condition of judicial review.  
 

Nevada Nevada Revised 
Statutes 
§233B.0617 

 Limitation on objections to regulation.  No regulation 
adopted after July 1, 1965, is valid unless adopted in 
substantial compliance with this chapter but no objection to 
any regulation on the ground of noncompliance with the 
procedural requirements of NRS 233B.060 to 233B.0617, 

http://legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title67/T67CH52SECT67-5226.htm
http://legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title67/T67CH52SECT67-5228.htm
http://legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title67/T67CH52SECT67-5291.htm
http://legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title67/T67CH52SECT67-5226.htm
http://legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title67/T67CH52SECT67-5228.htm
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-233B.html#NRS233BSec060
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-233B.html#NRS233BSec0617
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inclusive, may be made more than 2 years after its effective 
date. 

New 
Hampshire 

New Hampshire 
Revised Statutes 
§541-A: 24 

Under New Hampshire's APA (RSA 541-A), adoption must 
precede filing, and filing is necessary to make a rule 
effective.  Most rules are effective at 12:01 a.m. the day after 
they are filed as adopted rules with the NH Office of 
Legislative Services (OLS). The agency may specify a different 
date and time for the effective date and time, provided that 
they are not earlier than the date and time of filing. The one 
exception is emergency rules, which are effective 
immediately upon filing.  Although the Director of the OLS 
may refuse a rule for filing, the grounds are limited.   If there 
were an unresolved dispute with the agency about the filing, 
it would be up to a court to decide if the rule were legally 
valid. Effective dates are indicated on the OLS website and in 
the NH Rulemaking Register as well as in the published rule. 
The APA requires notice of adopted rules to be printed in 
the Register. 
  
Appeals for procedural violations of the rulemaking process 
under the APA must be made to the Superior Court in 
Merrimack County (trial court for the state capital city region) 
within one year of the effective date of the rule (RSA 541-
A:23, IV). However, declaratory judgments may be brought in 
the same court at any time against a rule [as defined in RSA 
541-A:1, XV], even if the rule is oral and has never been filed 
under the APA, "if it is alleged that the rule, or its threatened 
application, interferes with or impairs, or threatens to 
interfere with or impair, the legal rights or privileges of the 
plaintiff."  (RSA 541-A:24)  
 

New Jersey New Jersey Statutes 
§52:14B-1 

The New Jersey APA, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 et seq., provides at 
N.J.S.A. 52:14B-4(d) that, “A proceeding to contest any rule 
on the ground of noncompliance with the procedural 
requirements of P.L.1968, c.410 (C.52:14B-1 et seq.) shall be 
commenced within one year from the effective date of the 
rule.” There is no time frame for challenges to a rule’s validity 
on other grounds, such as the rule’s exceeding the 
promulgating agency’s statutory authority or that the rule is 
“arbitrary or capricious.” 

  
A rules is generally effective on the date of publication of its 
notice of adoption in the New Jersey Register; exceptions that 
are effective upon the date of the submission of an adoption 
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to the Office of Administrative Law (OAL) for Register 
publication include emergency rules, organizational rules, a 
readoption of rules (to avoid “sunset”), and the adoption of a 
concurrent proposal of an emergency rule. (See N.J.A.C. 1:30-
6.6.) The adoption date of a rule is the date of official 
approval of a rule by the promulgating agency, authorizing its 
effectiveness through submission to the OAL for Register 
publication. (See N.J.A.C. 1:30-1.2, definitions of “adopt,” 
“effective,” and “promulgate.”) Both the date of adoption 
and the effective date of a rule appear in the rule’s notice of 
adoption. (See N.J.A.C. 1:30-6.1(b)6 and 9.) In some instances 
where a rule is effective upon submission to the OAL, the 
date of adoption and the effective date will be coincide, but 
such occurrence is up to the promulgating agency. 
 

New Mexico New Mexico Statutes 
§14-4-5 

New Mexico does not have a mechanism for filing an 
appeal.  The only recourse is to sue in court. 
  
14-4-5. Filing and compliance required for validity.  (1995) 
Statute text 
No rule shall be valid or enforceable until it is filed with the 
records center and published in the New Mexico register as 
provided by the State Rules Act [Chapter 14, Article 4 NMSA 
1978].  Unless a later date is otherwise provided by law, the 
effective date of a rule shall be the date of publication in the 
New Mexico register. Emergency regulations may go into 
effect immediately upon filing with the records center, but 
shall be effective no more than thirty days unless they are 
published in the New Mexico register. 
 

North Carolina  North Carolina requires most rules to be adopted according 
to the NC Administrative Procedure Act (APA). Before a  rule 
can take effect it must be formally adopted by the agency 
after notice, hearing, and comments. But then it must also be 
approved by the NC Rules Review Commission. If it is not 
approved by the commission, it (the rule) cannot be entered 
in the NC Administrative Code (NCAC) and does not take 
effect. Generally a rule takes effect and is considered entered 
in the NCAC the first of the month following approval – 
usually 10 – 15 days later. 
  
Review and approval of the rule includes establishing that 
there is authority for the rule, the rule is clear and 
unambiguous, the rule is necessary, and – I believe, most 
pertinent to Andrew’s question – whether the proper 
procedure was followed. 
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G.S. 150B-21.9(a1) states that “[e]ntry of a rule in the [NCAC] 
after review by the Commission creates a rebuttable 
presumption that the rule was adopted in accordance with 
[the APA].” There is no limitation in the APA on how long a 
person has to challenge the procedure followed in adopting a 
rule. It also seems to me that there is no limitation on the 
legal ability of someone to mount whatever action they might 
find available to slow down or stop a rule during the process 
prior to adoption. 
  
In North Carolina it is fair to say that a rule remains open to 
procedural attack both before and after adoption and 
anytime after publication. 
  
The rule is also open to challenges on substantive grounds 
(lack of authority or necessity, ambiguity, arbitrary and 
capricious, unconstitutionality) its entire life. This can be by 
way of a contested case defense to an agency enforcement 
action, a declaratory judgment action, an appeal of an agency 
decision in a declaratory ruling action, or any other way an 
inventive attorney can dream. 
  
In NC one must be an “aggrieved party” to challenge a rule, 
but there is no readily apparent limitation on when that 
challenge can or must be started. 
 

Oklahoma Oklahoma Statutes 
§75-308.2 

Oklahoma's APA stipulates that challenges to rules based on 
"noncompliance with the procedural requirements of Article 
1 of the [APA] must be commenced within two (2) years from 
the effective date of the promulgated rule."  (Note:  Article 1 
sets out the requirements for notice, adoption, 
legislative/gubernatorial review, final adoption, promulgation 
in the Oklahoma Register, and subsequent publication in 
the Oklahoma Administrative Code.  Also, permanent rules 
cannot be effective until at least 10 days after publication of 
the finally adopted rules in the Register.) 
  
Here's the actual statute . . . . 
  
§75-308.2.  Rules - Necessity of promulgation - 
Interpretations not to change - Prospective effect only - 
Limitation period on contest proceedings - Force of law and 
prima facie evidence. 
A.  No agency rule is valid or effective against any person or 
party, or may be invoked by the agency for any purpose, until 
it has been promulgated as required in the Administrative 
Procedures Act. 
B.  A proceeding to contest any promulgated rule on the 
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ground of noncompliance with the procedural requirements 
of Article I of the Administrative Procedures Act must be 
commenced within two (2) years from the effective date of 
the promulgated rule. 
C.  Rules shall be valid and binding on persons they affect, 
and shall have the force of law unless amended or revised or 
unless a court of competent jurisdiction determines 
otherwise.  Except as otherwise provided by law, rules shall 
be prima facie evidence of the proper interpretation of the 
matter to which they refer. 
 

Tennessee Tennessee Code 
§4-5-322 

4-5-322. Judicial review. 

(a) (1) A person who is aggrieved by a final decision in a 
contested case is entitled to judicial review under this 
chapter, which shall be the only available method of judicial 
review. A preliminary, procedural or intermediate agency 
action or ruling is immediately reviewable if review of the 
final agency decision would not provide an adequate remedy. 

(2) A state agency is considered to be an aggrieved person for 
the purpose of judicial review when the order is from a 
board, commission or other entity independent of the 
aggrieved agency. In such instances, judicial review under this 
chapter is permitted upon the request of the agency head 
and the approval of the attorney general and reporter. 

(b) (1) (A) Proceedings for review are instituted by filing a 
petition for review in the chancery court of Davidson County, 
unless another court is specified by statute. Such petition 
shall be filed within sixty (60) days after the entry of the 
agency's final order thereon. 

 

Texas  Texas:  An adoption can take effect only after an agency has 
FILED it with the secretary of state. This applies to emergency 
(temporary) and permanent rules alike. The secretary of state 
is obligated to publish, but the filing date rather than 
publication date starts the clock on a rule becoming effective. 
Of course, adoption is an action performed by the rulemaking 
authority (typically a commission or board for an agency).  I 
am uncertain if the effective date matters necessarily when a 
rule is challenged. Or at least I’m not sure that you would 
need to wait until the effective date to challenge the agency 
in court. 
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