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2017 Code of Virginia Replacement Volume Recommendations

BV 16 Replacement
Vol Title Subject Edition pp* CS % Lexis* Candidates
1 1-2.2 Gen. Prov., Adm. of Govt. 2014 1080 392 36.3% | 1184 stand alone
1A 3.2 Agriculture 2016 550 0 0.0%
1B 4.1-71 Alcoholic Bev. -- Boundaries 2016 749 0 0.0%
2 8.01 Civil Remedies & Procedure 2015 1386 68 4.9% 1380
2A 8.1-8.11 ucc 2015 1029 12 1.2%
2B 9-10.1 Commissions -- Conservation 2012 680 178 26.2% 685
3 11-14.1 Contracts to Corporations 2016 544 0 0.0% 693
3A 15.2 Counties, Cities, and Towns 2012 1346 295 21.9% 1380
3B 16.1-17.1 Courts 2015 690 75 10.9% 705
4 18.2 Crimes 2014 1197 144 12.0% | 1254
4A 19.2 Criminal Procedure 2015 795 87 10.9% 814
4B 20, 21 Domestic Relations, Drainage 2016 722 0 0.0%
5 22.1, 231 Education -- Eminent Domain 2016 785 0 0.0% | 1212 stand alone
5A 24.2-28.2 Elections - Fiduciaries 2016 808 0 0.0% 767
5B 29.1-32.1 Game to Health 2015 886 145 16.4% 915
6 33.2-37.2 Highways -- Institutions for the Mentally Il 2014 866 252 29.1% 946
6A 38.2 Insurance 2014 1231 129 10.5% | 1217
6B 40.1-45.1 Labor & Employment -- Mines & Mining 2013 655 102 15.6% 673
7 46.2 Motor Vehicles 2014 1186 344 29.0% 1147 stand alone
7A 47.1-53.1 Notaries to Prisons 2013 758 165 | 21.8% 787
7B 54.1 Professions 2013 698 282 | 40.4% 788
8 55-57 | Property -- Religious & Charitable Matters 2012 1203 280 23.3% | 1267 Recozd(:ljic?ation
8A 58.1 Taxation 2013 1181 338 28.6% 1234 stand alone
9 59.1-62.1 Trade -- Waters 2014 1172 192 16.4% 1261
stand alone*
This volume
needs be split
as 9A (Titles
63.2 and 64.2)
and 9B (Titles
9A 63.2-67 Welfare -- Youth & Family Services 2012 1552 320 | 20.6% 1660 65.2-67).
10 Tables 2015 683 27 4.0%
11 Rules 2016 n/a n/a n/a
12 Index 2016 n/a n/a n/a
13 Index 2016 n/a n/a n/a
Compacts Compacts 2010 514 157 30.5%
Const. Consts. 2008 296 76 25.7%
LEO1 LEO/UPL 2002 631 58 9.2%
LEO2 LEO/UPL 2013 955 74 7.7%

* BV and Lexis page counts do not include
prelims.
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VIRGINIA CODE ANNOTATED

STATE PRIVATE
(6 Replacement Volumes)

$181.80 $235.00
$92.00 $97.25
$49.50 $61.60
$37.50 $49.50
$12.50 $12.50

$74.75

$620.80 $838.60

2017 PRICES

STATE PRIVATE

(5 Replacement VVolumes)
$191.00 $247.75
$92.00 $97.25
$4950 $61.60
$37.50 $49.50

$1250 $12.50

$74.75

$580.50 $789.75

STATE PRIVATE
(4 Replacement Volumes)

$209.00 $278.50
$92.00 $97.25
$49.50 $61.60
$37.50 $49.50
$12.50 $12.50

$74.75

$549.00 $758.90

2016 PRICES

STATE

PRIVATE

(6 Replacement VVolumes)

$174.80
$ 88.50
$ 47.50
$ 36.00

$ 12.00

$596.30

$226.00
$93.50
$59.25
$47.50
$12.00

$72.00

$806.50



Virginia Code Commission - September 19, 2016 meeting materials

2016 Legislation Referred by Committee to Code Commission

Referred by House Courts of Justice

Summary

HB 595 - Simon - Married women; property
rights.

Repeals obsolete provisions in the Code of Virginia relating to property rights of married
women. The bill retains provisions relating to (i) a spouse's responsibility for the other
spouse's contract or tort liability to a third party and (ii) the abolishment of separate estates,
by relocating those provisions to appropriate titles in the Code

Referred by House General Laws

Summary

HB 77 - Marshall, R.G. - Sex or gender
discrimination; applicable federal law.

Provides that for the purposes of the Virginia Human Rights Act, an "unlawful discriminatory
practice" shall not include conduct that violates any federal administrative policy, rule, or
regulation adopted on or after January 1, 2012.

HB 179 - Kory - Virginia Human Rights Act;
prohibits discrimination in employment.

Prohibits discrimination in private or public employment based on sexual orientation or status
as a veteran. Under the Virginia Human Rights Act, such discrimination is actionable if the
violating employer has between five and 15 employees. The bill defines "sexual orientation™
as a person's actual or perceived heterosexuality, bisexuality, homosexuality, or gender
identity or expression. The bill expressly provides that "sexual orientation™ does not include
any person's attraction toward persons with whom sexual conduct would be illegal due to the
age of the parties. The bill also conforms various provisions prohibiting discrimination in
public employment based on race, color, religion, national origin, sex, pregnancy, childbirth
or related medical conditions, age, marital status, disability, or veteran status. The bill
contains technical amendments.

HB 300 - Simon - Virginia Fair Housing Law;
unlawful discrimination, definition of sexual
orientation, etc.

Adds discrimination based on sexual orientation or gender identity as an unlawful
discriminatory housing practice. The bill defines "sexual orientation” and "gender identity."

HB 397 - LaRock - Discrimination; specification
of certain terms relating to sex or gender.

Specifies that the terms "because of gender,” "because of sex,” "on the basis of gender,” and
"on the basis of sex™ and terms of similar import when used in reference to discrimination in
the Code and acts of the General Assembly mean because of or on the basis of the biologic
character or quality that distinguishes an individual as either male or female as determined at
birth by analysis of the individual's gonadal, internal and external morphologic,
chromosomal, and hormonal characteristics. The bill provides that, consistent with Acrticle I,
Section 11 of the Constitution of Virginia, no local ordinance prohibiting discrimination on



http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?161+sum+HB595
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?161+sum+HB77
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?161+sum+HB179
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?161+sum+HB300
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?161+sum+HB397
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2016 Legislation Referred by Committee to Code Commission

Referred by House General Laws

Summary

the basis of sex shall consider the mere separation of individuals by sex to be discrimination.
The bill permits local school boards to enact policies prohibiting discrimination in education
on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, pregnancy, childbirth or related medical conditions,
national origin, age, marital status, or disability, provided that, consistent with Article I,
Section 11 of the Constitution of Virginia, no such policy shall consider the mere separation
of individuals by sex to be discrimination.

HB 427 - Hope - Conversion therapy; prohibited,
no state funds shall be expended for purpose of
therapy.

Prohibits any health care provider or person who performs counseling as part of his training
for any profession licensed by a regulatory board of the Department of Health Professions
from engaging in conversion therapy with any person under 18 years of age. The bill defines
"conversion therapy" as any practice or treatment that seeks to change an individual's sexual
orientation or gender identity, including efforts to change behaviors or gender expressions or
to eliminate or reduce sexual or romantic attractions or feelings toward individuals of the
same gender. "Conversion therapy" does not include counseling that provides assistance to a
person undergoing gender transition, or counseling that provides acceptance, support, and
understanding of a person or facilitates a person's coping, social support, and identity
exploration and development, including sexual-orientation-neutral interventions to prevent or
address unlawful conduct or unsafe sexual practices, as long as such counseling does not seek
to change an individual's sexual orientation or gender identity. The bill provides that no state
funds shall be expended for the purpose of conducting conversion therapy, referring a person
for conversion therapy, extending health benefits coverage for conversion therapy, or
awarding a grant or contract to any entity that conducts conversion therapy or refers
individuals for conversion therapy.

HB 429 - Villanueva - Virginia Human Rights
Act; public employment, prohibited
discrimination.

Prohibits discrimination in employment on the basis of sexual orientation. The bill defines
"sexual orientation" as a person's actual or perceived heterosexuality, bisexuality,
homosexuality, or gender identity or expression. The bill expressly provides that "sexual
orientation™ does not include any person's attraction toward persons with whom sexual
conduct would be illegal due to the age of the parties. The bill also codifies existing
prohibited discrimination in public employment on the basis of race, color, religion, national
origin, sex, pregnancy, childbirth or related medical conditions, age, marital status, disability,
or status as a veteran. The bill contains technical amendments.

HB 913 - Toscano - Discrimination; prohibited in
employment and housing.

Prohibits discrimination in private or public employment on the basis of sexual orientation or
gender identity. The bill also adds discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation or gender



http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?161+sum+HB427
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?161+sum+HB429
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?161+sum+HB913
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2016 Legislation Referred by Committee to Code Commission

Referred by House General Laws

Summary

identity as an unlawful discriminatory housing practice. The bill defines "sexual orientation™
and "gender identity.” The bill also conforms various provisions prohibiting discrimination in
public employment on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, pregnancy,
childbirth or related medical conditions, age, marital status, or disability.

HB 1005 - Levine - VA Human Rights Act;
public employment, public accommodation, &
housing, prohibited discrimination.

Prohibits discrimination in employment and public accommodation on the basis of sexual
orientation. The bill defines "sexual orientation™ as a person's actual or perceived
heterosexuality, bisexuality, homosexuality, or gender identity or expression. The bill
expressly provides that "sexual orientation™ does not include any person's attraction toward
persons with whom sexual conduct would be illegal due to the age of the parties. The bill also
codifies existing prohibited discrimination in public employment on the basis of race, color,
religion, national origin, sex, pregnancy, childbirth or related medical conditions, age, marital
status, disability, or status as a veteran. The bill also adds discrimination based on sexual
orientation or gender identity as an unlawful discriminatory housing practice. The bill
contains technical amendments.

SB 12 - Ebbin - Public employment; prohibited
discrimination based on sexual orientation or
gender identity.

Prohibits discrimination in public employment on the basis of sexual orientation or gender
identity, as defined in the bill. The bill also codifies for state and local government
employment the current prohibitions on discrimination in employment on the basis of race,
color, religion, national origin, sex, pregnancy, childbirth or related medical conditions, age,
marital status, disability, or status as a special disabled veteran or other veteran.

SB 67 - Wexton - Virginia Fair Housing Law;
unlawful discriminatory housing practices, sexual
orientation, etc.

Adds discrimination on the basis of an individual's sexual orientation or gender identity as an
unlawful housing practice. The bill also defines sexual orientation and gender identity.



http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?161+sum+HB1005
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?161+sum+SB12
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?161+sum+SB67
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§ 58.1-322 Reorganization Table

Old Cite

New Cite

Notes

58.1-322 (B)

58.1-322.01

Additions

58.1-322(B)(1)

58.1-322.01(1)

58.1-322(B)(2)

58.1-322.01(2)

(
(
(
(
(

)
58.1-322(B)(3) 58.1-322.01(3)
58.1-322(B)(4) 58.1-322.01(4)
58.1-322(B)(9) 58.1-322.01(5)

58.1-322(B)(10)

58.1-322.01(6)

keep reference to "on or after January 1, 2014" because change
less than 5 years old

58.1-322(B)(11)

58.1-322.01(7)

Keep reference to "on or after January 1, 2016" because change
less than 5 years old

58.1-322(C)

58.1-322.02

Subtractions

58.1-322(C)(1)

58.1-322.02(1)

58.1-322(C)(2)

58.1-322.02(2)

58.1-322(C)(4)

58.1-322.02(3)

58.1-322(C)(4a)

deleted

obsolete -- good through December 31, 2000

58.1-322(C)(4b)

58.1-322.02(4)

Removed language "For taxable years beginning on or after January
1, 2001"

58.1-322(C)(5)

58.1-322.02(5)

58.1-322(C)(6)

58.1-322.02(6

Updated reference from "Targeted Jobs Credit" to "Work
Opportunity Credit" per 1996 change in federal law

58.1-322(C)(10)

58.1-322.02(7

58.1-322(C)(11)

58.1-322(C)(12)

)
)
58.1-322.02(8)
58.1-322.02(9)

58.1-322(C)(17)

58.1-322.02(10)

Removed language "For taxable years beginning on or after January
1, 1995"

58.1-322(C)(19)

58.1-322.02(11)

Removed language "For taxable years beginning on or after January
1, 1996"
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58.1-322(C)(20)

58.1-322.02(12)

Removed language "For taxable years beginning on or after January
1, 1997"

58.1-322(C)(21)

58.1-322.02(13)

Removed language "For taxable years beginning on or after January
1, 1998"

58.1-322(C)(22)

58.1-322.02(14)

Removed language referencing January 1, 2000, but left in 2015
sunset.

58.1-322(C)(23)

58.1-322.02(15)

Removed language "Effective for all taxable years beginning on or
after January 1, 2000"

58.1-322(C)(24)

58.1-322.02(16)

Removed language "Effective for all taxable years beginning on or
after January 1, 2000"

58.1-322(C)(25)

58.1-322.02(17)

58.1-322(C)(26)

58.1-322.02(18)

Removed language "For taxable years beginning on or after January
1, 2001"

58.1-322(C)(27)

deleted

obsolete

58.1-322(C)(28)

58.1-322.02(19)

Removed language "For taxable years beginning on or after January
1, 2000"

58.1-322(C)(31)

58.1-322.02(20)

Removed language "Effective for all taxable years beginning on or
after January 1, 2001"

58.1-322(C)(32)

58.1-322.02(21)

Removed language "Effective for all taxable years beginning on or
after January 1, 2007"

58.1-322(C)(33)

58.1-322.02(22)

Removed language "For taxable years beginning on or after January
1, 2009"

58.1-322(C)(34)

58.1-322.02(23)

Removed language "For taxable years beginning on or after January
1, 2009"

58.1-322(C)(35)

58.1-322.02(24)

Removed language "For taxable years beginning on or after January
1,2011"

58.1-322(C)(36)

58.1-322.02(25)

58.1-322(C)(37)

58.1-322.02(26)

58.1-322(D)

58.1-322.03

Deductions

58.1-322(D)(1)

58.1-322.03(1)

Removed language "for taxable years beginning on and after
January 1, 2005" in subdivision b




Virginia Code Commission - September 19, 2016 meeting materials

58.1-322(D)(2)

58.1-322.03(2)

Removed language related to $900/prior to January 1, 2005 in
subdivision a; removed language "For taxable years beginning on or
after January 1, 1987" in subdivision b

58.1-322(D)(3)

58.1-3220.03(3)

58.1-322(D)(4)

58.1-322.03(4)

58.1-322(D)(5)

58.1-322.03(5)

Removed reference to "taxable years beginning on and after
January 1, 2004" in subdivisions a and b

58.1-322(D)(6)

58.1-322.03(6)

Removed language "For taxable years beginning on and after
January 1, 1997"

58.1-322(D)(7)(a)(b)(c)

58.1-322.03(7)(a), (b)

Existing subdivision (b) deleted because obsolete

58.1-322(D)(8)

58.1-322.03(8)

Removed language "For taxable years beginning on and after
January 1, 2000"

58.1-322(D)(9)

58.1-322.03(9)

Removed language "For taxable years beginning on and after
January 1,1999"

58.1-322(D)(10)

58.1-322.03(10)

Removed language "For taxable years beginning on or after January
1, 2000"

58.1-322(D)(11)

58.1-322.03(11)

Removed language "For taxable years beginning on and after
January 1, 2006"

58.1-322(D)(12)

58.1-322.03(12)

Removed language "For taxable years beginning on and after
January 1, 2007"

58.1-322(D)(13)

58.1-322.03(13)

Removed language "For taxable years beginning on or after January
1, 2007"

58.1-322(D)(14)

58.1-322.03(14)

58.1-322(E) 58.01-322.04(1)
58.1-322(F) 58.1-322.04(2)

Removed language "Effective for taxable years beginning on or
58.1-322(G) 58.1-322.04(3) after January 1, 2007" in paragraph 1 & 2

58.1-322(H)

58.1-322.04(4)
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17100122S 9/13/2016 03:53 PM Wallmeyer, Lisa

SUMMARY

Virginia taxable income of residents; reorganization of additions, subtractions, and
deductions. Reorganizes the provisions of the Code of Virginia related to the calculation of Virginia
taxable income of residents. Current law sets out the additions, subtractions, deductions, and other
modifications in one lengthy section. The reorganization creates four new, smaller sections for additions,
subtractions, deductions, and other modifications, respectively, but does not make any substantive
changes to the calculation of Virginia taxable income. The bill contains numerous technical
amendments.
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SENATE BILL NO. HOUSE BILL NO.

A BILL to amend and reenact 8§ 55-556, 55-557, 55-558, 58.1-302, 58.1-315, 58.1-321, 58.1-322, 58.1-
324, 58.1-339.8, 58.1-362, 58.1-363, 58.1-391, 58.1-490, 58.1-513, and 58.1-1823 of the Code
of Virginia and to amend the Code of Virginia by adding sections numbered 58.1-322.01 through
58.1-322.04, relating to Virginia taxable income of residents; reorganization of additions,

subtractions, deductions, and other modifications.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

1. That 8§ 55-556, 55-557, 55-558, 58.1-302, 58.1-315, 58.1-321, 58.1-322, 58.1-324, 58.1-339.8, 58.1-
362, 58.1-363, 58.1-391, 58.1-490, 58.1-513, and 58.1-1823 of the Code of Virginia are amended and
reenacted and that the Code of Virginia is amended by adding sections numbered 58.1-322.01
through 58.1-322.04 as follows:

§ 55-556. Claiming first-time home buyer status.

A. The account holder shall be responsible for the use or application of moneys or funds in an
account for which the account holder claims first-time home buyer savings account status.

B. The account holder shall (i) not use moneys or funds held in an account to pay expenses of
administering the account, except that a service fee may be deducted from the account by a financial
institution; (i) maintain documentation of the segregation of moneys or funds in separate accounts and
documentation of eligible costs for the purchase of a single-family residence in the Commonwealth;
such documentation may include the settlement statement; (iii) file, with the account holder's Virginia
income tax return, forms developed by the Department of Taxation regarding treatment of the account as
a first-time home buyer savings account under this chapter, along with the Form 1099 issued by the
financial institution for such account; and (iv) remit to the Department of Taxation the tax on any
amounts (a) added to individual income pursuant to subdivision-B-10 6 of §-58.1-322 58.1-322.01 or (b)
recaptured pursuant to subdivision-€-36 25 of §-58.1-322 58.1-322.02.

C. The Tax Commissioner shall develop guidelines applicable to account holders to implement

the provisions of this chapter. Such guidelines shall be exempt from the provisions of the Administrative

1
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Process Act (8 2.2-4000 et seq.). Such guidelines shall not apply to, or impose administrative, reporting,
or other obligations or requirements on, financial institutions-related accounts for which first-time home
buyer savings account status is claimed by the account holder.

§ 55-557. Tax exemption; conditions.

A. All interest or other income earned attributable to an account shall be excluded from the
Virginia taxable income of the account holder as provided under subdivision-S-36_25 of §-58.1-322
58.1-322.02.

B. There shall be an aggregate limit of $50,000 per account on the amount of principal for which
the account holder may claim first-time home buyer savings account status. Only cash and marketable
securities may be contributed to an account.

C. Subject to the aggregate limit on the amount of principal that may be contributed to an
account pursuant to subsection B, there shall be a limitation of $150,000 on the amount of principal and
interest or other income on the principal that may be retained within an account.

D. An account holder shall be subject to Virginia income tax pursuant to subdivision-B8-10 6 of 8
58:1-322 58.1-322.01 to the extent of any loss deducted as a capital loss by the individual for federal
income tax purposes attributable to the person's account.

E. Upon being furnished proof of the death of the account holder, a financial institution shall
distribute the principal and accumulated interest or other income in the account in accordance with the
terms of the contract governing the account.

8§ 55-558. Withdrawal of funds from account for purposes other than eligible costs for first-
time home purchase.

If moneys or funds are withdrawn from an account for any purpose other than the payment of
eligible costs by or on behalf of a qualified beneficiary, there shall be imposed a penalty calculated using
the Form 1099 showing the amount of income exempted from state income tax and a five percent
penalty shall be assessed on the amount of exempted income. The penalty shall be paid to the

Department of Taxation. In addition, as provided under subdivision-S-36 25 of §-58.1-322 58.1-322.02,
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the account holder shall also be subject to recapture of income that was subtracted pursuant to that
subdivision.

Such five percent penalty shall not apply to, and there shall be no recapture of income with
regard to, the extent of moneys or funds withdrawn that were (i) withdrawn by reason of the qualified
beneficiary's death or disability, (ii) a disbursement of assets of the account pursuant to a filing for
protection under the United States Bankruptcy Code, 11 U.S.C. 8§88 101 through 1330, or (iii) transferred
from an account established pursuant to this chapter into another account established pursuant to this
chapter for the benefit of another qualified beneficiary.

§ 58.1-302. Definitions.

For the purpose of this chapter and unless otherwise required by the context:

"Affiliated” means two or more corporations subject to Virginia income taxes whose relationship
to each other is such that (i) one corporation owns at least 80 percent of the voting stock of the other or
others or (ii) at least 80 percent of the voting stock of two or more corporations is owned by the same
interests.

"Compensation™ means wages, salaries, commissions and any other form of remuneration paid or
accrued to employees for personal services.

"Corporation” includes associations, joint stock companies and insurance companies.

"Domicile” means the permanent place of residence of a taxpayer and the place to which he
intends to return even though he may actually reside elsewhere. In determining domicile, consideration
may be given to the applicant's expressed intent, conduct, and all attendant circumstances including, but
not limited to, financial independence, business pursuits, employment, income sources, residence for
federal income tax purposes, marital status, residence of parents, spouse and children, if any, leasehold,
sites of personal and real property owned by the applicant, motor vehicle and other personal property
registration, residence for purposes of voting as proven by registration to vote, if any, and such other
factors as may reasonably be deemed necessary to determine the person's domicile.

"Foreign source income" means:

1. Interest, other than interest derived from sources within the United States;
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2. Dividends, other than dividends derived from sources within the United States;

3. Rents, royalties, license, and technical fees from property located or services performed
without the United States or from any interest in such property, including rents, royalties, or fees for the
use of or the privilege of using without the United States any patents, copyrights, secret processes and
formulas, good will, trademarks, trade brands, franchises, and other like properties;

4. Gains, profits, or other income from the sale of intangible or real property located without the
United States; and

5. The amount of an individual's share of net income attributable to a foreign source qualified
business unit of an electing small business corporation (S corporation). For purposes of this subsection,
qualified business unit shall be defined by § 989 of the Internal Revenue Code, and the source of such
income shall be determined in accordance with 88 861, 862 and 987 of the Internal Revenue Code.

In determining the source of "foreign source income," the provisions of 88 861, 862, and 863 of
the Internal Revenue Code shall be applied except as specifically provided in subsection 5 above.

"Income and deductions from Virginia sources" includes:

1. Items of income, gain, loss and deduction attributable to:

a. The ownership of any interest in real or tangible personal property in Virginia;

b. A business, trade, profession or occupation carried on in Virginia; or

c. Prizes paid by the Virginia Lottery Department, and gambling winnings from wagers placed or
paid at a location in Virginia.

2. Income from intangible personal property, including annuities, dividends, interest, royalties
and gains from the disposition of intangible personal property to the extent that such income is from
property employed by the taxpayer in a business, trade, profession, or occupation carried on in Virginia.

"Income tax return preparer” means any person who prepares for compensation, or who employs
one or more persons to prepare for compensation, any return of tax imposed by this chapter or any claim
for refund of tax. For purposes of the preceding sentence, the preparation for compensation of any
portion of a return or claim for refund shall be treated as if it were the preparation of the return or claim

for refund. A person shall not be an "income tax return preparer” merely because the person:
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1. Furnishes typing, reproducing, or other mechanical assistance;

2. Prepares a return or claim for refund of the employer (or of an officer or employee of the
employer) by whom he is regularly and continuously employed;

3. Prepares as a fiduciary a return or claim for refund for any person; or

4. Prepares an application for correction of an erroneous assessment or a protective claim for
refund for a taxpayer in response to any assessment pursuant to § 58.1-1812 issued to the taxpayer or in
response to any waiver pursuant to § 58.1-101 or 58.1-220 after the commencement of an audit of the
taxpayer or another taxpayer if a determination in such audit of such other taxpayer directly or indirectly
affects the tax liability of such taxpayer.

"Individual™ means all natural persons whether married or unmarried and fiduciaries acting for
natural persons, but not fiduciaries acting for trusts or estates.

"Intangible expenses and costs™ means:

1. Expenses, losses and costs for, related to, or in connection directly or indirectly with the direct
or indirect acquisition, use, maintenance or management, ownership, sale, exchange, lease, transfer, or
any other disposition of intangible property to the extent such amounts are allowed as deductions or
costs in determining taxable income;

2. Losses related to or incurred in connection directly or indirectly with factoring transactions or
discounting transactions;

3. Royalty, patent, technical and copyright fees;

4. Licensing fees; and

5. Other similar expenses and costs.

"Intangible property" means patents, patent applications, trade names, trademarks, service marks,
copyrights and similar types of intangible assets.

"Interest expenses and costs™ means amounts directly or indirectly allowed as deductions under §
163 of the Internal Revenue Code for purposes of determining taxable income under the Internal

Revenue Code to the extent such expenses and costs are directly or indirectly for, related to, or in
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connection with the direct or indirect acquisition, use, maintenance, management, ownership, sale,
exchange, lease, transfer, or disposition of intangible property.

"Nonresident estate or trust” means an estate or trust which is not a resident estate or trust.

"Related entity" means:

1. A stockholder who is an individual, or a member of the stockholder's family enumerated in §
318 of the Internal Revenue Code, if the stockholder and the members of the stockholder's family own,
directly, indirectly, beneficially or constructively, in the aggregate, at least 50 percent of the value of the
taxpayer's outstanding stock;

2. A stockholder, or a stockholder's partnership, limited liability company, estate, trust or
corporation, if the stockholder and the stockholder's partnerships, limited liability companies, estates,
trusts and corporations own directly, indirectly, beneficially or constructively, in the aggregate, at least
50 percent of the value of the taxpayer's outstanding stock; or

3. A corporation, or a party related to the corporation in a manner that would require an
attribution of stock from the corporation to the party or from the party to the corporation under the
attribution rules of § 318 of the Internal Revenue Code, if the taxpayer owns, directly, indirectly,
beneficially or constructively, at least 50 percent of the value of the corporation's outstanding stock. The
attribution rules of § 318 of the Internal Revenue Code shall apply for purposes of determining whether
the ownership requirements of this subdivision have been met.

"Related member"” means a person that, with respect to the taxpayer during all or any portion of
the taxable year, is a related entity, a component member as defined in 8§ 1563(b) of the Internal
Revenue Code, or is a person to or from whom there is attribution of stock ownership in accordance
with § 1563(e) of the Internal Revenue Code.

"Resident™ applies only to natural persons and includes, for the purpose of determining liability
for the taxes imposed by this chapter upon the income of any taxable year every person domiciled in
Virginia at any time during the taxable year and every other person who, for an aggregate of more than

183 days of the taxable year, maintained his place of abode within Virginia, whether domiciled in



158
159
160
161
162
163
164
165
166
167
168
169
170
171
172
173
174
175
176
177
178
179
180
181
182
183

Virginia Code Commission - September 19, 2016 meeting materials

17100122D 9/13/2016 03:53 PM Wallmeyer, Lisa

Virginia or not. The word "resident™ shall not include any member of the United States Congress who is
domiciled in another state.

"Resident estate or trust” means:

1. The estate of a decedent who at his death was domiciled in the Commonwealth;

2. A trust created by will of a decedent who at his death was domiciled in the Commonwealth;

3. A trust created by or consisting of property of a person domiciled in the Commonwealth; or

4. A trust or estate which is being administered in the Commonwealth.

"Sales" means all gross receipts of the corporation not allocated under § 58.1-407, except the sale
or other disposition of intangible property shall include only the net gain realized from the transaction.

"State,"-means for purposes of Article 10-of-this-chapter (8 58.1-400 et seq.), means any state of

the United States, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, any territory or
possession of the United States, and any foreign country.

"Trust" or "estate” means a trust or estate, or a fiduciary thereof, which is required to file a
fiduciary income tax return under the laws of the United States.

"Virginia fiduciary adjustment” means the net amount of the applicable modifications described

in-8-58.1-322 §8 58.1-322.01, 58.1-322.02, and 58.1-322.04 (including-subsection-E-thereof subdivision

1 of § 58.1-322.04 if the estate or trust is a beneficiary of another estate or trust) which relate to items of

income, gain, loss or deduction of an estate or trust. The fiduciary adjustment shall not include the
modification in-subsection-D-of §-58.1-322 58.1-322.03, except that the amount of state income taxes

excluded from federal taxable income shall be included. The fiduciary adjustment shall also include the

modification in-subseetion-B- subdivision 7 of 8-58-1-322; 58.1-322.03 regarding the deduction for the
purchase of a prepaid tuition contract or contribution to a savings trust account.

8§ 58.1-315. Transitional modifications to Virginia taxable income.

The modifications of Virginia taxable income to be made in accordance with—subsection—F
subdivision 2 of 8-58:1-322 58.1-322.04 and subsection D of § 58.1-402, so long as applicable, are as

follows:
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1. There shall be subtracted from Virginia taxable income the amount necessary to prevent the
taxation under this chapter of any annuity or of any other amount of income or gain which was properly
included in income or gain and was taxable under Articles 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, or 7 (88 58-77 through 58-
151) of Chapter 4 of Title 58 to the taxpayer prior to the repeal thereof, or to a decedent by reason of
whose death the taxpayer acquires the right to receive the income or gain, or to a trust or estate from
which the taxpayer received the income or gain.

2. The carry-back of net operating losses or net capital losses to reduce taxable income of taxable
years beginning prior to January 1, 1972, shall not be permitted. Where a taxpayer would have been
allowed to deduct an amount as a net operating loss carry-over or net capital loss carry-over in
determining taxable income for a taxable year beginning after December 31, 1971, but for the fact that
such loss, or a portion of such loss, had been carried back in determining taxable income for a taxable
year beginning prior to January 1, 1972, there shall be added to Virginia taxable income any amount
which was actually deducted in determining taxable income as a net operating loss carry-over or net
capital loss carry-over and there shall be subtracted from Virginia taxable income the amount which
could have been deducted as a net operating loss carry-over or net capital loss carry-over in arriving at
taxable income but for the fact that such loss, or a portion of such loss, had been carried back for federal
purposes.

3. There shall be added to Virginia taxable income the amount necessary to prevent the
deduction under this chapter of any item which was properly deductible by the taxpayer in determining a
tax under 88 58-77 through 58-151 prior to the repeal thereof.

4. There shall be subtracted from Virginia taxable income that portion of any accumulation
distribution which is allocable, under the laws of the United States relating to federal income taxes, to
undistributed net income of a trust for any taxable year beginning on or before December 31, 1971. The
rules prescribed by such laws of the United States with reference to any such accumulation distribution
shall be applied, mutatis mutandis, to allow for this limitation; and, without limiting the generality of the

foregoing, the credit provided by 8 58.1-370 in the case of accumulation distributions shall in no
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instance encompass any part of any tax paid for a taxable year beginning on or before December 31,
1971.

5. As to gain or loss attributable to the sale or exchange of nondepreciable property, Virginia
taxable income shall be adjusted to effect a reduction in such gain or increase in such loss by the amount
by which the adjusted basis of such property, determined for Virginia income tax purposes at the close
of the taxable period immediately preceding the first taxable period to which Articles 7.1 to 7.6 (8§ 58-
151.01 et seq.) of Title 58 applied prior to repeal thereof exceeds the adjusted basis of such property for
federal income tax purposes determined at the close of the same period.

6. There shall be subtracted from the Virginia taxable income of a shareholder of an electing
small business corporation any amount included in his taxable income as his share of the undistributed
taxable income of such corporation for any year of the corporation beginning before January 1, 1972.

7. There shall be subtracted from federal taxable income amounts which would have been
deductible by the corporation in computing federal taxable income but for the election of such
corporation of the additional investment tax credit under § 46(a)(2)(B) of the Internal Revenue Code in
effect on January 1, 1978.

§ 58.1-321. Exemptions and exclusions.

A. No tax levied pursuant to § 58.1-320 is imposed, nor any return required to be filed by:

1. A single individual where the Virginia adjusted gross income for such taxable year is less than
$5,000 for taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 1987, but before January 1, 2004.

A single individual where the Virginia adjusted gross income plus the modification specified in
subdivision-B 5 of 8-58-1-322 58.1-322.03 for such taxable year is less than $5,000 for taxable years
beginning on and after January 1, 2004, but before January 1, 2005.

A single individual where the Virginia adjusted gross income plus the modification specified in
subdivision-B 5 of 8-58-1-322 58.1-322.03 for such taxable year is less than $7,000 for taxable years

beginning on and after January 1, 2005, but before January 1, 2008.
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A single individual where the Virginia adjusted gross income plus the modification specified in
subdivision-B 5 of §-58:1-322 58.1-322.03 for such taxable year is less than $11,250 for taxable years
beginning on and after January 1, 2008, but before January 1, 2010.

A single individual where the Virginia adjusted gross income plus the modification specified in
subdivision-B 5 of §-58:1-322 58.1-322.03 for such taxable year is less than $11,650 for taxable years
beginning on and after January 1, 2010, but before January 1, 2012.

A single individual where the Virginia adjusted gross income plus the modification specified in
subdivision-B 5 of §-58:1-322 58.1-322.03 for such taxable year is less than $11,950 for taxable years
beginning on and after January 1, 2012.

2. An individual and spouse if their combined Virginia adjusted gross income for such taxable
year is less than $8,000 for taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 1987, (or one-half of such
amount in the case of a married individual filing a separate return) but before January 1, 2004.

An individual and spouse if their combined Virginia adjusted gross income plus the modification
specified in subdivision-B 5 of §-58-1-322 58.1-322.03 is less than $8,000 for taxable years beginning
on and after January 1, 2004, (or one-half of such amount in the case of a married individual filing a
separate return) but before January 1, 2005; less than $14,000 for taxable years beginning on and after
January 1, 2005, (or one-half of such amount in the case of a married individual filing a separate return)
but before January 1, 2008; less than $22,500 for taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2008,
(or one-half of such amount in the case of a married individual filing a separate return) but before
January 1, 2010; less than $23,300 for taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2010, (or one-half
of such amount in the case of a married individual filing a separate return) but before January 1, 2012;
and less than $23,900 for taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2012, (or one-half of such
amount in the case of a married individual filing a separate return).

For the purposes of this section, "Virginia adjusted gross income™ means federal adjusted gross

income for the taxable years with the modifications specified in-§-58.1-322- B, §-58.1-322 C-and-the

Jahuary-1-2004 8§ 58.1-322.01 and 58.1-322.02.-Fortaxable-years-beginning-on-and-after Jandary- 1

10
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B. Persons in the armed forces of the United States stationed on military or naval reservations

within Virginia who are not domiciled in Virginia shall not be held liable to income taxation for
compensation received from military or naval service.

§ 58.1-322. Virginia taxable income of residents.

A. The Virginia taxable income of a resident individual means his federal adjusted gross income
for the taxable year, which excludes combat pay for certain members of the Armed Forces of the United

States as provided in 8 112 of the Internal Revenue Code, as amended, and with the modifications

specified in-this-seetion 88§ 58.1-322.01 through 58.1-322.04.

11
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8§ 58.1-322.01. Virginia taxable income: additions.

In computing Virginia taxable income pursuant to 8§ 58.1-322, to the extent excluded from

federal adjusted gross income, there shall be added:

1. Interest, less related expenses to the extent not deducted in determining federal income, on

obligations of any state other than Virginia, or of a political subdivision of any such other state unless

created by compact or agreement to which Virginia is a party.

2. Interest or dividends, less related expenses to the extent not deducted in determining federal

taxable income, on obligations or securities of any authority, commission, or instrumentality of the

United States, which the laws of the United States exempt from federal income tax but not from state

income taxes.

3. Unrelated business taxable income as defined by 8 512 of the Internal Revenue Code.

24
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4. The amount of a lump sum distribution from a qualified retirement plan, less the minimum

distribution allowance and any amount excludable for federal income tax purposes that is excluded from

federal adjusted gross income solely by virtue of an individual's election to use the averaging provisions

under § 402 of the Internal Revenue Code.

5. The amount required to be included in income for the purpose of computing the partial tax on

an accumulation distribution pursuant to 8 667 of the Internal Revenue Code.

6. For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2014, any loss for the taxable year that

was deducted as a capital loss for federal income tax purposes by an account holder attributable to such

person's first-time home buyer savings account established pursuant to Chapter 32 (§ 55-555 et seq.) of

Title 55. For purposes of this subdivision, "account holder" and "first-time home buyer savings account”

mean the same as those terms are defined in § 55-555.

7. For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2016, to the extent that tax credit is

allowed for the same donation pursuant to § 58.1-439.12:12, any amount claimed as a federal income

tax deduction for such donation under § 170 of the Internal Revenue Code, as amended or renumbered.

8§ 58.1-322.02. Virginia taxable income; subtractions.

In computing Virginia taxable income pursuant to § 58.1-322, to the extent included in federal

adjusted gross income, there shall be subtracted:

1. Income derived from obligations, or on the sale or exchange of obligations, of the United

States and on obligations or securities of any authority, commission, or instrumentality of the United

States to the extent exempt from state income taxes under the laws of the United States, including, but

not limited to, stocks, bonds, treasury bills, and treasury notes but not including interest on refunds of

federal taxes, interest on equipment purchase contracts, or interest on other normal business transactions.

2. Income derived from obligations, or on the sale or exchange of obligations, of the

Commonwealth or of any political subdivision or instrumentality of the Commonwealth.

3. Benefits received under Title 11 of the Social Security Act and other benefits subject to federal

income taxation solely pursuant to § 86 of the Internal Revenue Code.

25
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4. Up to $20,000 of disability income, as defined in 8§ 22(c)(2)(B)(iii) of the Internal Revenue

Code; however, any person who claims a deduction under subdivision 5 of § 58.1-322.03 may not also

claim a subtraction under this subdivision.

5. The amount of any refund or credit for overpayment of income taxes imposed by the

Commonwealth or any other taxing jurisdiction.

6. The amount of wages or salaries eligible for the federal Work Opportunity Credit which was

not deducted for federal purposes on account of the provisions of § 280C(a) of the Internal Revenue

Code.

7. Any amount included therein less than $600 from a prize awarded by the Virginia Lottery.

8. The wages or salaries received by any person for active and inactive service in the National

Guard of the Commonwealth of Virginia, not to exceed the amount of income derived from 39 calendar

days of such service or $3,000, whichever amount is less; however, only those persons in the ranks of

03 and below shall be entitled to the deductions specified in this subdivision.

9. Amounts received by an individual, not to exceed $1,000 in any taxable year, as a reward for

information provided to a law-enforcement official or agency, or to a nonprofit corporation created

exclusively to assist such law-enforcement official or agency, in the apprehension and conviction of

perpetrators of crimes. This subdivision shall not apply to the following: an individual who is an

employee of, or under contract with, a law-enforcement agency, a victim or the perpetrator of the crime

for which the reward was paid, or any person who is compensated for the investigation of crimes or

accidents.

10. The amount of "qualified research expenses" or "basic research expenses" eligible for

deduction for federal purposes, but which were not deducted, on account of the provisions of § 280C(c)

of the Internal Revenue Code and which shall be available to partners, shareholders of S corporations,

and members of limited liability companies to the extent and in the same manner as other deductions

may pass through to such partners, shareholders, and members.

11. Any income received during the taxable year derived from a qualified pension, profit-

sharing, or stock bonus plan as described by § 401 of the Internal Revenue Code, an individual

26
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retirement account or annuity established under § 408 of the Internal Revenue Code, a deferred

compensation plan as defined by § 457 of the Internal Revenue Code, or any federal government

retirement program, the contributions to which were deductible from the taxpayer's federal adjusted

gross income, but only to the extent the contributions to such plan or program were subject to taxation

under the income tax in another state.

12. Any income attributable to a distribution of benefits or a refund from a prepaid tuition

contract or savings trust account with the Virginia College Savings Plan, created pursuant to Chapter 7

(8 23.1-700 et seq.) of Title 23.1. The subtraction for any income attributable to a refund shall be limited

to _income attributable to a refund in the event of a beneficiary's death, disability, or receipt of a

scholarship.

13. All military pay and allowances, to the extent included in federal adjusted gross income and

not otherwise subtracted, deducted, or exempted under this section, earned by military personnel while

serving by order of the President of the United States with the consent of Congress in a combat zone or

gualified hazardous duty area that is treated as a combat zone for federal tax purposes pursuant to § 112

of the Internal Revenue Code.

14. For taxable years beqginning before January 1, 2015, the gain derived from the sale or

exchange of real property or the sale or exchange of an easement to real property which results in the

real property or the easement thereto being devoted to open-space use, as that term is defined in § 58.1-

3230, for a period of time not less than 30 years. To the extent that a subtraction is taken in accordance

with this subdivision, no tax credit under this chapter for donating land for its preservation shall be

allowed for three years following the year in which the subtraction is taken.

15. Fifteen thousand dollars of military basic pay for military service personnel on extended

active duty for periods in excess of 90 days; however, the subtraction amount shall be reduced dollar-

for-dollar by the amount by which the taxpayer's military basic pay exceeds $15,000 and shall be

reduced to zero if such military basic pay amount is equal to or exceeds $30,000.

16. The first $15,000 of salary for each federal and state employee whose total annual salary

from all employment for the taxable year is $15,000 or less.

27
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17. Unemployment benefits taxable pursuant to 8 85 of the Internal Revenue Code.

18. Any amount received as military retirement income by an individual awarded the

Congressional Medal of Honor.

19. Items of income attributable to, derived from, or in any way related to (i) assets stolen from,

hidden from, or otherwise lost by an individual who was a victim or target of Nazi persecution or (ii)

damages, reparations, or other consideration received by a victim or target of Nazi persecution to

compensate such individual for performing labor against his will under the threat of death, during World

War Il and its prelude and direct aftermath. This subtraction shall not apply to assets acquired with such

items of income or with the proceeds from the sale of assets stolen from, hidden from, or otherwise lost

to, during World War 1l and its prelude and direct aftermath, a victim or target of Nazi persecution. The

provisions of this subdivision shall only apply to an individual who was the first recipient of such items

of income and who was a victim or target of Nazi persecution, or a spouse, widow, widower, or child or

stepchild of such victim.

As used in this subdivision:

"Nazi regime" means the country of Nazi Germany, areas occupied by Nazi Germany, those

European countries allied with Nazi Germany, or any other neutral European country or area in Europe

under the influence or threat of Nazi invasion.

"Victim or target of Nazi persecution” means any individual persecuted or targeted for

persecution by the Nazi regime who had assets stolen from, hidden from, or otherwise lost as a result of

any act or omission in any way relating to (i) the Holocaust, (ii) World War 11 and its prelude and direct

aftermath, (iii) transactions with or actions of the Nazi regime, (iv) treatment of refugees fleeing Nazi

persecution, or (v) the holding of such assets by entities or persons in the Swiss Confederation during

World War 1l and its prelude and aftermath. A "victim or target of Nazi persecution" also includes any

individual forced into labor against his will, under the threat of death, during World War Il and its

prelude and direct aftermath.

20. The military death gratuity payment made after September 11, 2001, to the survivor of

deceased military personnel killed in the line of duty, pursuant to 10 U.S.C. Chapter 75; however, the

28
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subtraction amount shall be reduced dollar-for-dollar by the amount that the survivor may exclude from

his federal gross income in accordance with § 134 of the Internal Revenue Code.

21. The death benefit payments from an annuity contract that are received by a beneficiary of

such contract, provided that (i) the death benefit payment is made pursuant to an annuity contract with

an insurance company and (ii) the death benefit payment is paid solely by lump sum. The subtraction

under this subdivision shall be allowed only for that portion of the death benefit payment that is included

in federal adjusted gross income.

22. Any gain recognized from the sale of launch services to space flight participants, as defined

in 49 U.S.C. § 70102, or launch services intended to provide individuals with the training or experience

of a launch, without performing an actual launch. To qualify for a deduction under this subdivision,

launch services must be performed in Virginia or originate from an airport or spaceport in Virginia.

23. Any gain recognized as a result of resupply services contracts for delivering payload, as

defined in 49 U.S.C. § 70102, entered into with the Commercial Orbital Transportation Services division

of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration or other space flight entity, as defined in § 8.01-

227.8, and launched from an airport or spaceport in Virginia.

24. Any income taxed as a long-term capital gain for federal income tax purposes, or any income

taxed as investment services partnership interest income (otherwise known as investment partnership

carried interest income) for federal income tax purposes. To qualify for a subtraction under this

subdivision, such income shall be attributable to an investment in a "qualified business, " as defined in §

58.1-339.4, or in any other technology business approved by the Secretary of Technology, provided that

the business has its principal office or facility in the Commonwealth and less than $3 million in annual

revenues in the fiscal year prior to the investment. To qualify for a subtraction under this subdivision,

the investment shall be made between the dates of April 1, 2010, and June 30, 2020. No taxpayer who

has claimed a tax credit for an investment in a "qualified business" under § 58.1-339.4 shall be eligible

for the subtraction under this subdivision for an investment in the same business.

25. For taxable years beqginning on and after January 1, 2014, any income of an account holder

for the taxable year taxed as (i) a capital gain for federal income tax purposes attributable to such
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person's first-time home buyer savings account established pursuant to Chapter 32 (8§ 55-555 et seq.) of

Title 55 and (ii) interest income or other income for federal income tax purposes attributable to such

person's first-time home buyer savings account.

Notwithstanding the statute of limitations on assessments contained in § 58.1-312, any

subtraction taken under this subdivision shall be subject to recapture in the taxable year or years in

which moneys or funds withdrawn from the first-time home buyer savings account were used for any

purpose other than the payment of eligible costs by or on behalf of a qualified beneficiary, as provided

under 8 55-558. The amount subject to recapture shall be a portion of the amount withdrawn in the

taxable year that was used for other than the payment of eligible costs, computed by multiplying the

amount withdrawn and used for other than the payment of eligible costs by the ratio of the aggregate

earnings in the account at the time of the withdrawal to the total balance in the account at such time.

However, recapture shall not apply to the extent of moneys or funds withdrawn that were (i)

withdrawn by reason of the qualified beneficiary's death or disability; (ii) a disbursement of assets of the

account pursuant to a filing for protection under the United States Bankruptcy Code, 11 U.S.C. 8§ 101

through 1330; or (iii) transferred from an account established pursuant to Chapter 32 (8 55-555 et seq.)

of Title 55 into another account established pursuant to such chapter for the benefit of another qualified

beneficiary.

For purposes of this subdivision, "account holder," "eligible costs," "first-time home buyer

savings account,”" and "qualified beneficiary" mean the same as those terms are defined in 8 55-555.

26. For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2015, any income for the taxable year

attributable to the discharge of a student loan solely by reason of the student's death. For purposes of this

subdivision, "student loan" means the same as that term is defined under 8 108(f) of the Internal

Revenue Code.

8§ 58.1-322.03. Virginia taxable income:; deductions.

In computing Virginia taxable income pursuant to § 58.1-322, there shall be deducted from

Virginia adjusted gross income as defined in § 58.1-321:
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1. a. The amount allowable for itemized deductions for federal income tax purposes where the

taxpayer has elected for the taxable year to itemize deductions on his federal return, but reduced by the

amount of income taxes imposed by the Commonwealth or any other taxing jurisdiction and deducted

on such federal return and increased by an amount that, when added to the amount deducted under § 170

of the Internal Revenue Code for mileage, results in a mileage deduction at the state level for such

purposes at a rate of 18 cents per mile; or

b. Three thousand dollars for single individuals and $6,000 for married persons (one-half of such

amounts in the case of a married individual filing a separate return), provided that the taxpayer has not

itemized deductions for the taxable year on his federal income tax return. For purposes of this section,

any person who may be claimed as a dependent on another taxpayer's return for the taxable year may

compute the deduction only with respect to earned income.

2. a. A deduction in the amount of $930 for each personal exemption allowable to the taxpayer

for federal income tax purposes.

b. Each blind or aged taxpayer as defined under § 63(f) of the Internal Revenue Code shall be

entitled to an additional personal exemption in the amount of $800.

The additional deduction for blind or aged taxpayers allowed under this subdivision shall be

allowable regardless of whether the taxpayer itemizes deductions for the taxable year for federal income

tax purposes.

3. A deduction equal to the amount of employment-related expenses upon which the federal

credit is based under § 21 of the Internal Revenue Code for expenses for household and dependent care

services necessary for gainful employment.

4. An additional $1,000 deduction for each child residing for the entire taxable year in a home

under permanent foster care placement as defined in § 63.2-908, provided that the taxpayer can also

claim the child as a personal exemption under § 151 of the Internal Revenue Code.

5. a. A deduction in the amount of $12,000 for individuals born on or before January 1, 1939.

b. A deduction in the amount of $12,000 for individuals born after January 1, 1939, who have

attained the age of 65. This deduction shall be reduced by $1 for every $1 that the taxpayer's adjusted
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federal adjusted gross income exceeds $50,000 for single taxpayers or $75,000 for married taxpayers.

For married taxpayers filing separately, the deduction shall be reduced by $1 for every $1 that the total

combined adjusted federal adjusted gross income of both spouses exceeds $75,000.

For the purposes of this subdivision, "adjusted federal adjusted gross income" means federal

adjusted gross income minus any benefits received under Title Il of the Social Security Act and other

benefits subject to federal income taxation solely pursuant to 8 86 of the Internal Revenue Code, as

amended.

6. The amount an individual pays as a fee for an initial screening to become a possible bone

marrow donor, if (i) the individual is not reimbursed for such fee or (ii) the individual has not claimed a

deduction for the payment of such fee on his federal income tax return.

7. a. A deduction shall be allowed to the purchaser or contributor for the amount paid or

contributed during the taxable year for a prepaid tuition contract or college savings trust account entered

into with the Virginia College Savings Plan, pursuant to Chapter 7 (8 23.1-700 et seq.) of Title 23.1.

Except as provided in subdivision b, the amount deducted on any individual income tax return in any

taxable year shall be limited to $4,000 per prepaid tuition contract or college savings trust account. No

deduction shall be allowed pursuant to this subdivision 7 if such payments or contributions are deducted

on the purchaser's or contributor's federal income tax return. If the purchase price or annual contribution

to a college savings trust account exceeds $4,000, the remainder may be carried forward and subtracted

in future taxable years until the purchase price or college savings trust contribution has been fully

deducted; however, except as provided in subdivision b, in no event shall the amount deducted in any

taxable year exceed $4,000 per contract or college savings trust account. Notwithstanding the statute of

limitations on assessments contained in 8§ 58.1-312, any deduction taken hereunder shall be subject to

recapture in the taxable year or years in which distributions or refunds are made for any reason other

than (i) to pay qualified higher education expenses, as defined in § 529 of the Internal Revenue Code or

(ii) the beneficiary's death, disability, or receipt of a scholarship. For the purposes of this subdivision,

"purchaser" or "contributor" means the person shown as such on the records of the Virginia College

Savings Plan as of December 31 of the taxable year. In the case of a transfer of ownership of a prepaid
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tuition contract or college savings trust account, the transferee shall succeed to the transferor's tax

attributes associated with a prepaid tuition contract or college savings trust account, including, but not

limited to, carryover and recapture of deductions.

b. A purchaser of a prepaid tuition contract or contributor to a college savings trust account who

has attained age 70 shall not be subject to the limitation that the amount of the deduction not exceed

$4,000 per prepaid tuition contract or college savings trust account in any taxable year. Such taxpayer

shall be allowed a deduction for the full amount paid for the contract or contributed to a college savings

trust account, less any amounts previously deducted.

8. The total amount an individual actually contributed in funds to the Virginia Public School

Construction Grants Program and Fund, established in Chapter 11.1 (§ 22.1-175.1 et seq.) of Title 22.1,

provided that the individual has not claimed a deduction for such amount on his federal income tax

return.

9. An amount equal to 20 percent of the tuition costs incurred by an individual employed as a

primary or secondary school teacher licensed pursuant to Chapter 15 (8§ 22.1-289.1 et seq.) of Title 22.1

to attend continuing teacher education courses that are required as a condition of employment; however,

the deduction provided by this subdivision shall be available only if (i) the individual is not reimbursed

for such tuition costs and (ii) the individual has not claimed a deduction for the payment of such tuition

costs on his federal income tax return.

10. The amount an individual pays annually in premiums for long-term health care insurance,

provided that the individual has not claimed a deduction for federal income tax purposes, or, for taxable

years beginning before January 1, 2014, a credit under § 58.1-339.11. For taxable years beginning on

and after January 1, 2014, no such deduction for long-term health care insurance premiums paid by the

individual during the taxable year shall be allowed if the individual has claimed a federal income tax

deduction for such taxable year for long-term health care insurance premiums paid by him.

11. Contract payments to a producer of quota tobacco or a tobacco quota holder, or their spouses,

as provided under the American Jobs Creation Act of 2004 (P.L. 108-357), but only to the extent that

such payments have not been subtracted pursuant to subsection D of § 58.1-402, as follows:
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a. If the payment is received in installment payments, then the recognized gain may be subtracted

in the taxable year immediately following the year in which the installment payment is received.

b. If the payment is received in a single payment, then 10 percent of the recognized gain may be

subtracted in the taxable year immediately following the year in which the single payment is received.

The taxpayer may then deduct an equal amount in each of the nine succeeding taxable years.

12. An amount equal to 20 percent of the sum paid by an individual pursuant to Chapter 6 (8

58.1-600 et seq.), not to exceed $500 in each taxable year, in purchasing for his own use the following

items of tangible personal property: (i) any clothes washers, room air conditioners, dishwashers, and

standard size refrigerators that meet or exceed the applicable energy star efficiency requirements

developed by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy; (ii) any

fuel cell that (a) generates electricity using an electrochemical process, (b) has an electricity-only

generation efficiency greater than 35 percent, and (c) has a generating capacity of at least two Kkilowatts;

(iii) any gas heat pump that has a coefficient of performance of at least 1.25 for heating and at least 0.70

for cooling; (iv) any electric heat pump hot water heater that yields an energy factor of at least 1.7; (v)

any electric heat pump that has a heating system performance factor of at least 8.0 and a cooling

seasonal energy efficiency ratio of at least 13.0; (vi) any central air conditioner that has a cooling

seasonal energy efficiency ratio of at least 13.5; (vii) any advanced gas or oil water heater that has an

enerqy factor of at least 0.65; (viii) any advanced oil-fired boiler with a minimum annual fuel-utilization

rating of 85; (ix) any advanced oil-fired furnace with a minimum annual fuel-utilization rating of 85; and

(X) programmable thermostats.

13. The lesser of $5,000 or the amount actually paid by a living donor of an organ or other living

tissue for unreimbursed out-of-pocket expenses directly related to the donation that arose within 12

months of such donation, provided that the donor has not taken a medical deduction in accordance with

the provisions of § 213 of the Internal Revenue Code for such expenses. The deduction may be taken in

the taxable year in which the donation is made or the taxable year in which the 12-month period expires.

14. For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2013, the amount an individual age 66 or

older with earned income of at least $20,000 for the year and federal adjusted gross income not in excess
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of $30.,000 for the year pays annually in premiums for (i) a prepaid funeral insurance policy covering the

individual or (ii) medical or dental insurance for any person for whom individual tax filers may claim a

deduction for such premiums under federal income tax laws. As used in this subdivision, "earned

income" means the same as that term is defined in 8§ 32(c) of the Internal Revenue Code. The deduction

shall not be allowed for any portion of such premiums paid for which the individual has (a) been

reimbursed, (b) claimed a deduction for federal income tax purposes, (c) claimed a deduction or

subtraction under another provision of this section, or (d) claimed a federal income tax credit or any

income tax credit pursuant to this chapter.

8 58.1-322.04. Virginia taxable income; additional modifications.

In calculating Virginia taxable income pursuant to § 58.1-322, the following adjustments shall be

made:

1. There shall be added to or subtracted from federal adjusted gross income, as the case may be,

the individual's share, as beneficiary of an estate or trust, of the Virginia fiduciary adjustment

determined under § 58.1-361.

2. There shall be added or subtracted, as the case may be, the amounts provided in § 58.1-315 as

transitional modifications.

3. To the extent included in federal adjusted gross income, there shall be (i) subtracted from

federal adjusted gross income, by a shareholder of an electing small business corporation (S corporation)

that is subject to the bank franchise tax imposed under Chapter 12 (8§ 58.1-1200 et seq.) for the calendar

year in which such taxable year begins, the shareholder's allocable share of the income or gain of such

electing small business corporation (S corporation) and (ii) added back to federal adjusted gross income,

such that federal adjusted gross income shall be increased, by a shareholder of an electing small business

corporation (S corporation) that is subject to the bank franchise tax imposed under Chapter 12 (8 58.1-

1200 et seq.) for the calendar year in which such taxable year begins, the shareholder's allocable share of

the losses or deductions of such electing small business corporation (S corporation).

To the extent excluded from federal adjusted gross income, there shall be added to federal

adjusted gross income, by a shareholder of an electing small business corporation (S corporation) that is
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subject to the bank franchise tax imposed under Chapter 12 (8§ 58.1-1200 et seq.) for the calendar year in

which such taxable year beqgins, the value of any distribution paid or distributed to the shareholder by

such electing small business corporation (S corporation).

4. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the income from any disposition of real property

that is held by the taxpayer for sale to customers in the ordinary course of the taxpayer's trade or

business, as defined in § 453(1)(1)(B) of the Internal Revenue Code, of property may, at the election of

the taxpayer, be recognized under the installment method described under § 453 of the Internal Revenue

Code, provided that (i) the election relating to the dealer disposition of the property has been made on or

before the due date prescribed by law (including extensions) for filing the taxpayer's return of the tax

imposed under this chapter for the taxable year in which the disposition occurs and (ii) the dealer

disposition is in accordance with restrictions or conditions established by the Department, which shall be

set forth in quidelines developed by the Department. Along with such restrictions or conditions, the

guidelines shall also address the recapture of such income under certain circumstances. The

development of the quidelines shall be exempt from the Administrative Process Act (8§ 2.2-4000 et seq.).

8§ 58.1-324. Husband and wife.

A. If the federal taxable income of husband or wife is determined on a separate federal return,
their Virginia taxable incomes shall be separately determined.

B. If the federal taxable income of husband and wife is determined on a joint federal return, or if
neither files a federal return:

1. Their tax shall be determined on their joint Virginia taxable income; or

2. Separate taxes may be determined on their separate Virginia taxable incomes if they so elect.

C. Where husband and wife have not separately reported and claimed items of income,
exemptions and deductions for federal income tax purposes, and have not elected to file a joint Virginia
income tax return, such items allowable for Virginia income tax purposes shall be allocated and adjusted
as follows:

1. Income shall be allocated to the spouse who earned the income or with respect to whose

property the income is attributable.
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2. Allowable deductions with respect to trade, business, production of income, or employment
shall be allocated to the spouse to whom attributable.

3. Nonbusiness deductions, where properly taken for federal income tax purposes, shall be
allowable for Virginia income tax purposes, but shall be allocable between husband and wife as they
may mutually agree. For this purpose, "nonbusiness deductions” consist of allowable deductions not
described in subdivision 2-ef-this-subsection.

4. Where the standard deduction or low income allowance is properly taken pursuant to
subdivision-B 1 a of §-58:1-322 58.1-322.03, such deduction or allowance shall be allocable between
husband and wife as they may mutually agree.

5. Personal exemptions properly allowable for federal income tax purposes shall be allocated for
Virginia income tax purposes as husband and wife may mutually agree; however, exemptions for
taxpayer and spouse together with exemptions for old age and blindness must be allocated respectively
to the spouse to whom they relate.

D. Where allocations are permitted to be made under subsection C pursuant to agreement
between husband and wife, and husband and wife have failed to agree as to those allocations, such
allocations shall be made between husband and wife in a manner corresponding to the treatment for
federal income tax purposes of the items involved, under regulations prescribed by the Department-ef
Taxation.

8§ 58.1-339.8. Income tax credit for low-income taxpayers.

A. As used in this section, unless the context requires otherwise:

"Family Virginia adjusted gross income" means the combined Virginia adjusted gross income of
an individual, the individual's spouse, and any person claimed as a dependent on the individual's or his
spouse’s income tax return for the taxable year.

"Poverty guidelines” means the poverty guidelines for the 48 contiguous states and the District of
Columbia updated annually in the Federal Register by the U.S. Department of Health and Human
Services under the authority of § 673(2) of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1981.

"Virginia adjusted gross income™ has the same meaning as the term is defined in § 58.1-321.

37



986
987
988
989
990
991
992
993
994
995
996
997
998
999
1000
1001
1002
1003
1004
1005
1006
1007
1008
1009
1010
1011
1012

Virginia Code Commission - September 19, 2016 meeting materials

17100122D 9/13/2016 03:53 PM Wallmeyer, Lisa

B. 1. For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2000, any individual or persons filing a
joint return whose family Virginia adjusted gross income does not exceed 100 percent of the poverty
guideline amount corresponding to a household of an equal number of persons as listed in the poverty
guidelines published during such taxable year, shall be allowed a credit against the tax levied pursuant to
§ 58.1-320 in an amount equal to $300 each for the individual, the individual's spouse, and any person
claimed as a dependent on the individual's or married persons' income tax return for the taxable year.
For any taxable year in which a husband and wife file separate Virginia income tax returns, the credit
provided under this section shall be allowed against the tax for only one of such two tax returns.
Additionally, the credit provided under this section shall not be allowed against such tax of a dependent
of the individual or of married persons.

2. For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2006, any individual or married persons,
eligible for a tax credit pursuant to § 32 of the Internal Revenue Code, may for the taxable year, in lieu
of the credit authorized under subdivision B 1, claim a credit against the tax imposed pursuant to § 58.1-
320 in an amount equal to 20 percent of the credit claimed by the individual or married persons for
federal individual income taxes pursuant to § 32 of the Internal Revenue Code for the taxable year. In no
case shall a household be allowed a credit pursuant to this subdivision and subdivision B 1 for the same
taxable year.

For purpose of this subdivision, "household” means an individual and in the case of married
persons, the individual and his spouse regardless of whether or not the individual and his spouse file
combined or separate Virginia individual income tax returns.

C. The amount of the credit provided pursuant to subsection B for any taxable year shall not
exceed the individual's or married persons' Virginia income tax liability.

D. Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, no credit shall be allowed pursuant to
subsection B in any taxable year in which the individual, the individual's spouse, or both, or any person
claimed as a dependent on such individual's or married persons' income tax return, claims one or any
combination of the following on his or their income tax return for such taxable year:

1. The subtraction under subdivision-G211 8 of §58-1-322 58.1-322.02;
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2. The subtraction under subdivision-G-23 15 of §58.1-322 58.1-322.02;

3. The subtraction under subdivision-G-24 16 of §58.1-322 58.1-322.02;

4. The deduction for the additional personal exemption for blind or aged taxpayers under
subdivision-B 2 b of §58:1-322 58.1-322.03; or

5. The deduction under subdivision-B 5 of §58.1-322 58.1-322.03.

8 58.1-362. Virginia taxable income of a nonresident estate or trust.

The Virginia taxable income of a nonresident estate or trust shall be its share of income, gain,
loss and deduction attributable to Virginia sources as determined under 8 58.1-363 increased or reduced,
as the case may be, by:

1. The amount derived from or connected with Virginia sources of any income, gain, loss and
deduction recognized for federal income tax purposes but excluded from the computation of
distributable net income of the estate or trust; and

2. The net amount of any modifications as provided for in-5-58-1-322-(net-including-subsection
D-thereof) 88 58.1-322.01, 58.1-322.02, and 58.1-322.04 with respect to the income or gain referred to

in subdivision 1 of this section.

8 58.1-363. Share of a nonresident estate, trust, or beneficiary in income from Virginia
sources.

A. The share of a nonresident estate or trust under 8 58.1-362 and the share of a nonresident
beneficiary of any estate or trust under provisions otherwise applicable to nonresident individuals in
estate or trust income or loss attributable to Virginia sources shall be determined as follows:

1. There shall be determined the items of income, gain, loss and deduction derived from Virginia
sources, which enter into the computation of distributable net income of the estate or trust for the taxable
year (including such items from another estate or trust of which the first estate or trust is a beneficiary).

2. There shall be added or subtracted (as the case may be) the modifications described in-5-58-1-
322 8§ 58.1-322.01, 58.1-322.02, 58.1-322.03, and 58.1-322.04 to the extent relating to items of income,

gain, loss and deduction derived from Virginia sources which enter into the computation of distributable

net income (including all such items from another estate or trust of which the first estate or trust is a
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beneficiary). No modification shall be made under this subsection which has the effect of duplicating an
item already reflected in the computation of distributable net income.

3. The amounts determined under subdivisions 1 and 2 shall be allocated among the estate or
trust and its beneficiaries (including, solely for the purposes of this allocation, resident beneficiaries) in
proportion to their respective shares of distributable net income. The amounts so allocated shall have the
same character under this article as under the laws of the United States relating to federal income taxes.
Where an item entering into the computation of such amounts is not characterized by such laws, it shall
have the same character as if realized directly from the source from which realized by the estate or trust,
or incurred in the same manner as incurred by the estate or trust.

B. If the estate or trust has no distributable net income for the taxable year, the share of each
beneficiary (including, solely for the purpose of such allocation, resident beneficiaries) in the net amount
determined under subdivisions A 1 and 2-ef-subsection-A shall be in proportion to his share of the estate
or trust income for such year, under local law or the governing instrument, which is required to be
distributed currently and any other amounts of such income distributed in such year. Any balance of
such net amount shall be allocated to the estate or trust.

8 58.1-391. Virginia taxable income of owners of a pass-through entity.

A. In determining Virginia taxable income of an owner, any modification described in-5-58-1-

322 88 58.1-322.01, 58.1-322.02, 58.1-322.03, and 58.1-322.04 that relates to an item of pass-through

entity income, gain, loss or deduction shall be made in accordance with the owner's distributive share,
for federal income tax purposes, of the item to which the modification relates. Where an owner's
distributive share of any such item is not included in any category of income, gain, loss or deduction
required to be taken into account separately for federal income tax purposes, the owner's distributive
share of such item shall be determined in accordance with his distributive share, for federal income tax
purposes, of pass-through entity taxable income or loss.

B. Each item of pass-through entity income, gain, loss or deduction shall have the same character
for an owner under this chapter as for federal income tax purposes. Where an item is not characterized

for federal income tax purposes, it shall have the same character for an owner as if realized directly from
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the source from which realized by the pass-through entity or incurred in the same manner by the pass-
through entity.

C. Where an owner's distributive shares of an item of pass-through entity income, gain, loss or
deduction is determined for federal income tax purposes by special provision in the pass-through entity
agreement with respect to such item, and where the principal purpose of such provision is the avoidance
or evasion of tax under this chapter, the owner's distributive share of such item, and any modification
required with respect thereto, shall be determined as if the pass-through entity agreement made no
special provision with respect to such item.

8 58.1-490. Declarations of estimated tax.

A. Every resident and nonresident individual shall make a declaration of his estimated tax for
every taxable year, if his Virginia tax liability can reasonably be expected to exceed an amount, to be
determined under regulations promulgated by the Tax Commissioner, which takes into account the

additions, subtractions, and deductions set forth in-§58-1-322 §§ 58.1-322.01, 58.1-322.02, 58.1-322.03,

and 58.1-322.04, the credits set forth in Articles 3 (§ 58.1-332 et seq.) and 13.2 (§ 58.1-439.18 et seq.),

and the filing exclusions set forth in § 58.1-321. Every estate with respect to any taxable year ending
two or more years after the date of death of the decedent and every trust shall make a declaration of its
estimated tax for every taxable year, if its Virginia taxable income can reasonably be expected to exceed
the amount specified by regulation for individuals as set forth above.

B. For purposes of this article, "estimated tax™ means the amount which an individual estimates
to be his income tax under this chapter for the taxable year, less the amount which he estimates to be the
sum of any credits allowable against the tax.

C. For purposes of this section, the declaration shall be the first voucher.

D. In the case of a husband and wife, a single declaration under this section may be made by
them jointly, in which case the liability with respect to the estimated tax shall be joint and several. No
joint declaration may be made if either the husband or the wife is a nonresident of the Commonwealth
unless both are required by this chapter to file a return, if they are separated under a decree of divorce or

of separate maintenance, or if they have different taxable years. If a joint declaration is made but a joint

41



1094
1095
1096
1097
1098
1099
1100
1101
1102
1103
1104
1105
1106
1107
1108
1109
1110
1111
1112
1113
1114
1115
1116
1117
1118
1119

Virginia Code Commission - September 19, 2016 meeting materials

17100122D 9/13/2016 03:53 PM Wallmeyer, Lisa

return is not made for the taxable year, the estimated tax for such year may be treated as the estimated
tax of either the husband or the wife, or may be divided between them.

E. A declaration of estimated tax of an individual other than a farmer, fisherman, or merchant
seaman shall be filed on or before May 1 of the taxable year, except that if the requirements of
subsection A are first met:

1. The declaration shall be filed on or before June 15;; or

2. After June 1 and before September 2 of the taxable year, the declaration shall be filed on or
before September 15;; or

3. After September 1 of the taxable year, the declaration shall be filed on or before January 15 of
the succeeding year.

F. A declaration of estimated tax of an individual having an estimated gross income from (i)
farming (including oyster farming); (ii) fishing; or (iii) working as a merchant seaman for the taxable
year, which is at least two-thirds of his total estimated gross income for the taxable year, may be filed at
any time on or before January 15 of the succeeding year, in lieu of the time otherwise prescribed.

G. A declaration of estimated tax of an individual having a total estimated tax for the taxable
year of $40 or less may be filed at any time on or before January 15 of the succeeding year under
regulations of the Tax Commissioner.

H. An individual may amend a declaration under regulations of the Tax Commissioner.

I. If on or before March 1 of the succeeding taxable year an individual files his return for the
taxable year for which the declaration is required, and pays therewith the full amount of the tax shown to
be due on the return:

1. Such return shall be considered as his declaration if no declaration was required to be filed
during the taxable year, but is otherwise required to be filed on or before January 15.

2. Such return shall be considered as the amendment permitted by subsection H to be filed on or
before January 15 if the tax shown on the return is greater than the estimated tax shown in a declaration

previously made.
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J. This section shall apply to a taxable year other than a calendar year by the substitution of the
months of such fiscal year for the corresponding months specified in this section.

K. An individual having a taxable year of less than 12 months shall make a declaration in
accordance with regulations of the Tax Commissioner.

L. The declaration of estimated tax for an individual who is unable to make a declaration by
reason of any disability shall be made and filed by his guardian, committee, fiduciary or other person
charged with the care of his person or property (other than a receiver in possession of only a part of his
property), or by his duly authorized agent.

M. The declaration of estimated tax for a trust or estate shall be made by the fiduciary. For
purposes of the estimated tax imposed in this article, any reference to an "individual” shall be deemed to
include the fiduciary required to file a declaration for a trust or estate. Any overpayment of estimated tax
with respect to any trust or estate shall be refunded to the fiduciary. A beneficiary of a trust or estate
shall not be entitled to a credit against the beneficiary's individual income tax for any overpayment of
estimated tax by a trust or estate.

§ 58.1-513. Limitations; transfer of credit; gain or loss from tax credit.

A. Any taxpayer claiming a tax credit under this article shall not claim a credit under any similar
Virginia law for costs related to the same project. To the extent a credit is taken in accordance with this
article, no subtraction allowed for the gain on the sale of (i) land dedicated to open-space use or (ii) an

easement dedicated to open-space use under-subsection-C_subdivision 14 of §-58.1-322 58.1-322.02

shall be allowed for three years following the year in which the credit is taken. Any building which
serves as the basis, in whole or in part, of a tax credit under this article shall not serve as the basis of the
tax credit allowed under § 58.1-339.2 for a period of five years following the donation on which the
credit is based; and any building which serves as the basis for the tax credit allowed under § 58.1-339.2
shall not serve as the basis, in whole or in part, for a tax credit under this article for a period of five years
following the completion of the rehabilitation project on which the credit is based.

B. Any tax credits that arise under this article from the donation of land or an interest in land

made by a pass-through tax entity such as a trust, estate, partnership, limited liability company or
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partnership, limited partnership, subchapter S corporation or other fiduciary shall be used either by such
entity if it is the taxpayer on behalf of such entity or by the member, manager, partner, shareholder or
beneficiary, as the case may be, in proportion to their interest in such entity in the event that income,
deductions and tax liability pass through such entity to such member, manager, partner, shareholder or
beneficiary or as set forth in the agreement of said entity. Such tax credits shall not be claimed by both
the entity and the member, manager, partner, shareholder or beneficiary for the same donation.

C. 1. Any taxpayer holding a credit under this article may transfer unused but otherwise
allowable credit for use by another taxpayer on Virginia income tax returns. A taxpayer who transfers
any amount of credit under this article shall file a notification of such transfer to the Department in
accordance with procedures and forms prescribed by the Tax Commissioner.

2. A fee of two percent of the value of the donated interest shall be imposed upon any transfer
arising from the sale by any taxpayer of credits under this article and upon the distribution of a portion
of credits under this article to a member, manager, partner, shareholder or beneficiary pursuant to
subsection B. Revenues generated by such fees first shall be used by the Department of Taxation and the
Department of Conservation and Recreation for their costs in implementing this article but in no event
shall such amount exceed 50 percent of the total revenue generated by the fee on an annual basis. The
remainder of such revenues shall be transferred to the Virginia Land Conservation Fund for distribution
to the public or private conservation agencies or organizations, excluding federal governmental entities,
that are responsible for enforcing the conservation and preservation purposes of the donated interests.
Distribution of such revenues shall be made annually by the Virginia Land Conservation Foundation
proportionally based on a three-year average of the number of donated interests accepted by the public
or private conservation agencies or organizations, excluding federal governmental entities, during the
immediately preceding three-year period.

D. To the extent included in and not otherwise subtracted from federal adjusted gross income
pursuant to §-58.1-322 58.1-322.02 or federal taxable income pursuant to § 58.1-402, there shall be
subtracted any amount of gain or income recognized by a taxpayer on the application of a tax credit

under this article against a Virginia income tax liability.
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E. The transfer of the credit and its application against a tax liability shall not create gain or loss
for the transferor or the transferee of such credit.

F. A pass-through tax entity, such as a partnership, limited liability company or Subchapter S
corporation, may appoint a tax matters representative, who shall be a general partner, member/manager
or shareholder, and register that representative with the Tax Commissioner. The Tax Commissioner
shall be entitled to deal with the tax matters representative as representative of the taxpayers to whom
credits have been allocated or transferred by the entity under this article with respect to those credits. In
the event a pass-through tax entity allocates or transfers tax credits arising under this article to its
partners, members or shareholders and the allocated or transferred credits shall be disallowed, in whole
or in part, such that an assessment of additional tax against a taxpayer shall be made, the Tax
Commissioner shall first make written demand for payment of any additional tax, together with interest
and penalties, from the tax matters representative. In the event such payment demand is not satisfied, the
Tax Commissioner shall proceed to collection against the taxpayers in accordance with the provisions of
Chapter 18 (§ 58.1-1800 et seq.).

8§ 58.1-1823. Reassessment and refund upon the filing of amended return or the payment of
an assessment.

A-—Any person filing a tax return or paying an assessment required for any tax administered by
the Department-efFaxatien may file an amended return with the Department within the later of: (i) three
years from the last day prescribed by law for the timely filing of the return; (ii) one year from the final
determination of any change or correction in the liability of the taxpayer for any federal tax upon which
the state tax is based, provided that the refund does not exceed the amount of the decrease in Virginia
tax attributable to such federal change or correction; (iii) two years from the filing of an amended
Virginia return resulting in the payment of additional tax, provided that the amended return raises issues
relating solely to such prior amended return and that the refund does not exceed the amount of the
payment with such prior amended return; (iv) two years from the payment of an assessment, provided
that the amended return raises issues relating solely to such assessment and that the refund does not

exceed the amount of such payment; or (v) one year from the final determination of any change or
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correction in the income tax of the taxpayer for any other state, provided that the refund does not exceed
the amount of the decrease in Virginia tax attributable to such change or correction. If the Department is
satisfied, by evidence submitted to it or otherwise, that the tax assessed and paid upon the original return
exceeds the proper amount, the Department may reassess the taxpayer and order that any amount
excessively paid be refunded to him. The Department may reduce such refund by the amount of any
taxes, penalties and interest which are due for the period covered by the amended return, or any past-due
taxes, penalties and interest which have been assessed within the appropriate period of limitations. Any
order of the Department denying such reassessment and refund, or the failure of the Department to act

thereon within three months shall, as to matters first raised by the amended return, be deemed an

assessment for the purpose of enabling the taxpayer to pursue the remedies allowed under this chapter.
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SUBTITLE IlI.

RENTAL CONVEYANCES.

Drafting note: Proposed Subtitle 111 is created to logically reorganize all provisions
relating to rental conveyances in two parts: proposed Part A, Residential Tenancies, and
proposed Part B, Other Tenancies.

PART A.
RESIDENTIAL TENANCIES.

Drafting note: Proposed Part A is created to logically reorganize all provisions
relating to residential tenancies in three chapters: parts of existing Chapters 13 and 13.2
are logically reorganized as proposed Chapter XX [1], General Provisions; parts of
existing Chapter 13.2 are retained as proposed Chapter XX [2], the Virginia Residential
Landlord and Tenant Act; and parts of existing Chapter 13 are retained as proposed
Chapter XX [3], Other Residential Tenancies.

CHAPTER XX. [1]

GENERAL PROVISIONS.

Drafting note: Parts of existing Chapters 13 and 13.2 are logically reorganized as
proposed Chapter XX [1] of Part A, which consolidates general provisions that apply to all
residential tenancies and is divided into the following proposed articles: Article 1, In
General; Article 2, Assignments; Article 3, Landlord Obligations; Article 4, Tenant
Obligations; Article 5, Tenant Remedies; and Article 6, Landlord Remedies.

Article 1.
In General.

Drafting note: Proposed Article 1 consolidates existing definitions and sections
from existing Chapters 13 and 13.2 that are generally applicable to all residential
tenancies.

8-55-248-4 55.1-xxx. Definitions.
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When-As used in this-chapter part, unless-expresshy-stated-otherwise the context requires

a different meaning:

"Action" means_any recoupment, counterclaim,-set-off setoff, or other civil suit and any

other proceeding in which rights are determined, including—witheut—tmitation actions for
possession, rent, unlawful detainer, unlawful entry, and distress for rent.

"Application deposit” means any refundable deposit of money, however denominated,
including all money intended to be used as a security deposit under a rental agreement, or
property,-whieh that is paid by a tenant to a landlord for the purpose of being considered as a
tenant for a dwelling unit.

"Application fee" means any nonrefundable fee;—whieh_that is paid by a tenant to a

landlord or managing agent for the purpose of being considered as a tenant for a dwelling unit.

"Assignment” means the transfer by any tenant of all interests created by a rental
agreement.

"Authorized occupant™ means a person entitled to occupy a dwelling unit with the
consent of the landlord, but who has not signed the rental agreement and therefore does not have
the financial obligations as a tenant under the rental agreement.

"Building or housing code” means any law, ordinance, or governmental regulation
concerning fitness for habitation; or the construction, maintenance, operation, occupancy, use,

or appearance of any structure or that part of a structure that is used as a home, residence, or
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sleeping place, by one person who maintains a household or by two or more persons who
maintain a common household.

"Commencement date of rental agreement” means the date-tpen_on which the tenant is
entitled to occupy the dwelling unit as a tenant.

"Community land trust" means a community housing development organization whose

(i) corporate membership is open to any adult resident or organization of a particular geographic

area specified in the bylaws of the organization and (ii) board of directors includes a majority of

members who are elected by the corporate membership and are composed of tenants, corporate

members who are not tenants, and any other category of persons specified in the bylaws of the

organization and that:

1. Is not sponsored by a for-profit organization;

2. Acquires parcels of land, held in perpetuity, primarily for conveyance under long-term

ground leases;

3. Transfers ownership of any structural improvements located on such leased parcels to

the tenant; and

4. Retains a preemptive option to purchase any such structural improvement at a price

determined by formula that is designed to ensure that the improvement remains affordable to

low-income and moderate-income families in perpetuity.

"Dwelling unit" means a structure or part of a structure that is used as a home or
residence by one or more persons who maintain a household, including,—but-net-timited-to; a
manufactured home, as defined in 8 55.1-xxx [§ 55-248.41].

"Effective date of rental agreement™ means the date-tper_on which the rental agreement
is signed by the landlord and the tenant obligating each party to the terms and conditions of the
rental agreement.

"Essential service" includes heat, running water, hot water, electricity, and gas.

"Facility” means something that is built, constructed, installed, or established to perform

some particular function.
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"Good faith™ means honesty in fact in the conduct of the transaction concerned.

"Guest or invitee" means a person, other than the tenant or—persen—autherized—by-the
fandlord-to-oceupy-thepremises an authorized occupant, who has the permission of the tenant to

visit but not to occupy the premises.

"Interior of the dwelling unit" means the inside of the dwelling unit, consisting of
interior walls, floor, and ceiling; that enclose the dwelling unit as conditioned space from the
outside air.

"Landlord™ means the owner, lessor, or sublessor of the dwelling unit or the building of
which such dwelling unit is a part. "Landlord™ also includes a managing agent of the premises
who fails to disclose the name of such owner, lessor, or sublessor. Such managing agent shall be
subject to the provisions of § 16.1-88.03. "Landlord—shall" does not.—hewever; include a
community land trust-as-defined-in-§55-221-1.

"Managing agent" means a person authorized by the landlord to act on behalf of the
landlord under an agreement.

"Mold remediation in accordance with professional standards” means mold remediation
of that portion of the dwelling unit or premises affected by mold, or any personal property of the
tenant affected by mold, performed consistent with guidance documents published by the-United
States_U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban
Development,_or the American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists (the

Bioaerosols-Manual: Assessment and Control);; Standard and Reference Guides of the Institute

of Inspection, Cleaning, and Restoration_Certification (IICRC) for _Professional Water Damage

Restoration and Professional Mold Remediation;; or any protocol for mold remediation prepared
by an industrial hygienist consistent with-said such guidance documents.

"Natural person,” wherever the—chapter part refers to an owner as a "natural person,”
includes co-owners who are natural persons, either as tenants in common, joint tenants, tenants

in partnership, tenants by the entirety, trustees or beneficiaries of a trust, general partnerships,
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limited liability partnerships, registered limited liability partnerships or limited liability
companies, or any other lawful combination of natural persons permitted by law.

"Notice™" means notice given in writing by either regular mail or hand delivery, with the

sender retaining sufficient proof of having given such notice—which—ay-be—eitheraUnited
States—peostal-certificate—of-mating—or_in the form of a certificate of service confirming such

mailing prepared by the sender. However, a person shall be deemed to have notice of a fact if he

has actual knowledge of it, he has received a verbal notice of it, or, from all of the facts and
circumstances known to him at the time in question, he has reason to know it exists. A person
"notifies” or "gives" a notice or notification to another by taking steps reasonably calculated to
inform another person, whether or not the other person actually comes to know of it. If notice is
given that is not in writing, the person giving the notice has the burden of proof to show that the
notice was given to the recipient of the notice.

"Organization™ means a corporation, government, governmental subdivision or agency,
business trust, estate, trust, partnership, or association;; two or more persons having a joint or
common interest;-e; any combination thereof;; and any other legal or commercial entity.

"Owner" means one or more persons or entities, jointly or severally, including a

mortgagee in possession, in whom is vested:

1. All or part of the legal title to the property;; or

2. All or part of the beneficial ownership and a right to present use and enjoyment of the
premises.and-the term-includes-a-mortgagee in-possession.

"Person” means any individual, group of individuals, corporation, partnership, business
trust, association, or other legal entity, or any combination thereof.

"Premises” means a dwelling unit and the structure of which it is a part-and, facilities
and appurtenances_contained therein, and grounds, areas, and facilities held out for the use of
tenants generally or whose use is promised to the tenant.

"Processing fee for payment of rent with bad check” means the processing fee specified

in the rental agreement, not to exceed $50, assessed by a landlord against a tenant for payment
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of rent with a check drawn by the tenant on which payment has been refused by the payor bank
because the drawer had no account or insufficient funds.

"Readily accessible” means areas within the interior of the dwelling unit available for
observation at the time of the move-in inspection that do not require removal of materials,
personal property, equipment, or similar items.

"Rent" means all money, other than a security deposit, owed or paid to the landlord
under the rental agreement, including prepaid rent paid more than one month in advance of the
rent due date.

"Rental agreement” or "lease agreement™ means all agreements, written or oral, and valid
rules and regulations adopted under §-55-248-17 55.1-xxx embodying the terms and conditions
concerning the use and occupancy of a dwelling unit and premises.

"Rental application” means the written application or similar document used by a

landlord to determine if a prospective tenant is qualified to become a tenant of a dwelling unit.

"Roomer” means a person occupying a dwelling unit that lacks a major bathroom or

kitchen facility, in a structure where one or more major facilities are used in common by

occupants of the dwelling unit and other dwelling units. "Major facility” in the case of a
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bathroom means_a toilet; and either a bath or shower; and in the case of a kitchen means_a
refrigerator, stove, or sink.

"Security deposit" means any refundable deposit of money that is furnished by a tenant
to a landlord to secure the performance of the terms and conditions of a rental agreement, as a
security for damages to the leased premises, or as a pet deposit. However, such money shall be
deemed an application deposit until the commencement date of the rental agreement. "Security

deposit-shal" does not include a damage insurance policy or renter's insurance policy, as those

terms are defined in § 55-248.7:2 55.1-xxx, purchased by a landlord to provide coverage for a

tenant.
"Single-family residence” means a structure, other than a multi-family residential
structure, maintained and used as a single dwelling unit, condominium unit, or any other

dwelling unit that has direct access to a street or thoroughfare and-shares-reither does not share

heating facilities, hot water equipment,—refr_or any other essential facility or_essential service
with any other dwelling unit.

"Sublease” means the transfer by any tenant of any but not all interests created by a
rental agreement.

"Tenant™ means a person entitled only under the terms of a rental agreement to occupy a
dwelling unit to the exclusion of others and-shal-nelude includes a roomer. "Tenant-shal" does
not include (i) an authorized occupant, (ii) a guest or invitee, or (iii) any person who guarantees
or cosigns the payment of the financial obligations of a rental agreement but has no right to
occupy a dwelling unit.

"Tenant records” means all information, including financial, maintenance, and other
records, about a tenant or prospective tenant, whether such information is in written or
electronic form or_ any other medium.-A-tepant-may-request-copies-of-his-tenant recordspursuant

"Utility" means electricity, natural gas, or water and sewer provided by a public service

corporation or such other person providing utility services as permitted under § 56-1.2. If the
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rental agreement so provides, a landlord may use submetering equipment or energy allocation
equipment as defined in § 56-245.2; or a ratio utility billing system as defined in §-55-226-2
55.1-XXX.

"Visible evidence of mold" means the existence of mold in the dwelling unit that is
visible to the naked eye by the landlord or tenant in areas within the interior of the dwelling unit
readily accessible at the time of the move-in inspection.

"Written notice™ means notice given in accordance with §8-55-248-6 55.1-xxx, including
any representation of words, letters, symbols, numbers, or figures, whether (i) printed in or
inscribed on a tangible medium or (ii) stored in an electronic form or_any other medium,
retrievable in a perceivable form, and regardless of whether an electronic signature authorized

by-Chapter-42.1 the Uniform Electronic Transactions Act (8 59.1-479 et seq.)-ef Fitle 59.1 is

affixed.

Drafting note: Definitions from existing § 55-248.4 are relocated from the Virginia

Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (VRLTA) (8 55-248.2 et seq.) to this proposed
chapter because they apply to all residential tenancies. In the definitions of *action,™
"without limitation™ is removed following the term "including' on the basis of § 1-218,
which states that throughout the Code "Includes’ means includes, but not limited to."”
Language in the definition of "application fee' pertaining to the amount of such fee is
stricken and relocated to proposed § 55.1-xxx [§ 55-248.6:1] because it is applicable only to
application fees for tenancies governed by the VRLTA. The definition for "‘community
land trust™ is relocated from existing 8 55-221.1. In the definition of ""dwelling unit,” **but
not limited to™ is removed following the term *including' on the basis of § 1-218, which
states that throughout the Code 'Includes’ means, includes, but not limited to."” The
definition of "essential service™ is added on the basis of the list of essential services in

existing 8 55-248.23. In the definition of "*guest or invitee,” the phrase **person authorized
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by the landlord to occupy the premises' is replaced with the defined term "authorized
occupant.” In the definition of "Mold remediation in accordance with professional
standards," the references to guide documents were updated to reflect the current titles. In
the definition of ""notice," reference to a U.S. postal certificate of mailing is— stricken
because that type of certificate is no longer in use. Language in the definition of "'rental
application™ pertaining to application fees and identification is- stricken and relocated to
proposed 8 55.1-xxx [8 55-248.6:1] because it is applicable only to rental agreements for
tenancies governed by the VRLTA. The last sentence in the definition of ""tenant records"
is stricken because its provisions are contained in current law in subsection D of proposed
8 55.1-xxx [8 55-248.9:1] and it is applicable only to tenancies governed by the VRLTA.
The last sentence in the definition of "written notice™ is relocated to proposed § 55.1-xxx

[8 55-248.6], which contains all provisions related to service of notice for tenancies

governed by the VRLTA. Technical changes are made.
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Drafting note: Existing § 55-221.1 is logically relocated to two proposed sections:

The definition of ""community land trust” is relocated to proposed § 55.1-xxx[previous
section] (Definitions), and the first sentence of existing 8 55-221.1 is restated as proposed
subdivision A 7 of 8 55.1-xxx[next section] (Applicability), excluding occupancy in a
community land trust from residential rental tenancies.
§ 55-248.5 55.1-xxx. Exemptions; exception to exemption; apphication of chapter to
certain-oceupants Applicability.
A oot ac coecifi

not-geverned-by-this_This chapter_ applies to all residential tenancies. The following occupancies

are not residential rental tenancies for purposes of this part:

1. Residence at a public or private institution; if incidental to detention or the provision

of medical, geriatric, educational, counseling, religious, or similar services;

3- Occupancy by a member of a fraternal or social organization in the portion of a

structure operated for the benefit of the organization;

6--3. Occupancy by an owner of a condominium unit or a holder of a proprietary lease in

a cooperative;
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#—4. Occupancy under a rental agreement—eovering—premises—used—bythe—oeceupant
primarHy-in-connection-with-business, for a commercial-er-agricultural-purpeses tenancy;

8-5. Occupancy in a public housing unit or other housing unit subject to regulation by

the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development where such regulation is inconsistent

with this-ehapter part;

11-6. Occupancy in a campground as defined in § 35.1-1; and

7. Occupancy in a community land trust.

B. 1. A guest who is an occupant-ir_of a hotel, motel, extended stay facility, vacation

residential facility, including those governed by the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act (8

55.1-xxx et seq. [8 55-360 et seq.]), boardinghouse, or similar_transient lodging shall not be

construed to be a tenant living in a dwelling unit if such person does not reside in such lodging
as his primary residence. Such guest shall be exempt from this-chapter part, and the innkeeper or
property owner, or his agent-thereef, shall have the right to use self-help eviction under Virginia
law, without the necessity of the filing of an unlawful detainer action in a court of competent

jurisdiction and the execution of a writ of possession issued pursuant-therete to such action,

which would otherwise be required under this-ehapter part. For purposes of this-ehapter part, a
hotel, motel, extended stay facility, vacation residential facility, boardinghouse, or similar
transient lodging shall be exempt from the provisions of this-ehapter part if overnight sleeping
accommodations are furnished to a person for consideration if such person does not reside in
such lodging as his primary residence.

C-2. If a person resides in a hotel, motel, extended stay facility, vacation residential

facility, including those governed by the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act (8§ 55.1-xxx et

seq. [8 55-360 et seq.]), boardinghouse, or similar transient lodging as his primary residence for
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fewer than 90 consecutive days, such lodging shall not be subject to the provisions of this
chapter_part. However, the owner of such lodging establishment shall give a five-day written
notice of nonpayment to a person residing in such lodging and, upon the expiration of the five-
day period specified in the notice, may exercise self-help eviction if payment in full has not
been received.

B--3. If a person resides in a hotel, motel, extended stay facility, vacation residential

facility, including those governed by the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act (8 55.1-xxx et

seq. [§ 55-360 et seq.]), boardinghouse, or similar transient lodging as—their his primary

residence for more than 90 consecutive days or is subject to a written lease for more than 90

days, such lodging shall be subject to the provisions of this-ehapter part.

Drafting note: This section incorporates provisions of existing § 55-248.5 and
existing subsections B, C, and D of 8§ 55-225.8 (which duplicate existing subsections B, C,
and D of § 55-248.5 in the Virginia Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (VRLTA)) that
apply to all residential tenancies. Existing subdivisions A 2, 5, and 9 of § 55-248.5 are
stricken and relocated to proposed § 55-xxx [8 55-248.3:1] because those exemption are
only applicable to the VRLTA. Existing subdivision A 4 of § 55-248.5 is stricken as
redundant to proposed subsection B of this section. Existing subdivision A 10 is stricken
because it describes the applicability of the provisions of proposed Chapter XX [3].- The
statement in existing § 55-221.1 that states that community land trusts are not landlords is
moved to this section as proposed subdivision A 7 for a more logical placement as an
exclusion from applicability. In proposed subsection B 1, the word *‘transient™ is added
before "lodging™ for consistency with subdivisions B 2 and B 3, and cross-references are
added to the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act throughout subdivision B. Existing
subsection E is stricken and its provisions relocated to Chapter XX [3]. Technical changes

are made.
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8-55-218-1 55.1-xxx. Appointment of resident agent by nonresident property owner;
service of process, etc., on such agent or on Secretary of the Commonwealth.

Any nonresident person as the term "person” is defined in §-55-248-4-of this-title 55.1-
xxx of the Commonwealth who owns and leases residential-er—commercial real property
consisting of four or more units within-a-ceunty-er-eity-r the Commonwealth shall have and
continuously maintain an agent who is a resident and maintains a business office within the
Commonwealth. Every lease executed by or on behalf of nonresident property owners regarding
any such real property shall specifically designate such agent and the agent's office address for
the purpose of service of any process, notice, order, or demand required or permitted by law to
be served upon such property owner.

Whenever any nonresident property owner fails to appoint or maintain an agent, as
required-herein in this section, or whenever his agent cannot with reasonable diligence be found,
then the Secretary of the Commonwealth shall be an agent of the nonresident property owner
upon whom may be served any process, notice, order, or demand. Service may be made on the
Secretary or any of his staff at his office, who shall forthwith cause it to be sent by registered or
certified mail addressed to the property owner at his address as shown on the official tax records
maintained by the locality where the property is located.

The name and office address of the agent appointed as provided-herein_in this section

shall be filed in the office of the clerk of the court in which deeds are recorded in the county or
city-wherein_in which the property lies. Recordation shall be in the same book as certificates of
fictitious names are recorded as provided by 8 59.1-74 for which the clerk shall be entitled to a
fee of $10.

No nonresident property owner shall maintain an action in the courts of the
Commonwealth concerning property for which a designation is required—hereunder by this
section until such designation has been filed.

Drafting note: Existing § 55-218.1 is logically relocated from existing Chapter 13 (8

55-217 et seq.) to this chapter of general provisions for residential tenancies because it
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applies to all residential tenancies. The reference to commercial tenancies is stricken in
this section. Language is updated for modern usage, and technical changes are made.
8-55-219 55.1-xxx. Apportionment on purchase of part of land by holder of rent;-ete.
When the holder of a rent-shal-purehase_purchases part of the land out of which the
same_rent issues,—the such rent shall be apportioned in like manner as if the land had come to
him by descent;, and when the holder of land, being part of land out of which a rent shall be
issuing,-shaHl-purehase purchases such rent or part-thereef of it, the rent so purchased shall be

apportioned as-aferesaid in like manner as if the land had come to him by descent.

Drafting note: Existing § 55-219 is logically relocated from existing Chapter 13 (8
55-217 et seq.) to this chapter of general provisions for residential tenancies because it
applies to all residential tenancies. Technical changes are made.

8-55-220-1 55.1-xxx. Perfection of lien or interest in leases, rents, and profits.

The recordation pursuant to 8-55-106 55.1-xxx, in the county or city in which the real
property is located, of any deed, deed of trust, or other instrument granting, transferring, or
assigning the interest of the grantor, transferor, assignor, pledgor, or-lesser_landlord in leases,
rents, or profits arising from the real property described in such deed, deed of trust, or other
instrument; shall fully perfect the interest of the grantee, transferee, assignee, or pledgee—er
asstgnee as to the assignor and all third parties without the necessity of (i) furnishing notice to
the assignor or fessee tenant, (ii) obtaining possession of the real property, (iii) impounding the

rents, (iv) securing the appointment of a receiver, or (v) taking any other affirmative action. The

fessee tenant is authorized to pay the assignor until the-lessee tenant receives written notification
that rents due or to become due have been assigned and that payment is to be made to the

assignee.

Drafting note: Existing § 55-220.1 is logically relocated from existing Chapter 13 (8
55-217 et seq.) to this chapter of general provisions for residential tenancies because it
applies to all residential tenancies. References to *'lessor’” are changed to "'landlord™ and

references to "'lessee™ are changed to ""tenant to reflect modern usage of these terms in
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the residential tenancies context. The last sentence is stricken as obsolete. Technical
changes are made.

8-55-226-2 55.1-xxx. Energy submetering, energy allocation equipment, sewer and water
submetering equipment, and ratio utility-bHhngs billing systems; local government fees.

A. As used in this section:

"Building" means all of the individual dwelling units served through the same utility-

owned meter within a residential building that is defined in subsection A of § 56-245.2 as an

apartment building or house or all of the individual dwelling units served through the same

utility-owned meter within a manufactured home park as defined in § 55.1-xxx [55-248.41].

"Campground" means the same as that term is defined in § 35.1-1.

"Campsite" means the same as that term is defined in § 35.1-1.

"Enerqy allocation equipment" means the same as that term is defined in subsection A of

§ 56-245.2.

"Enerqy submetering equipment” means the same as the term "submetering equipment"

as it is defined in subsection A of § 56-245.2.

"Local government fees" means any local government charges or fees assessed against a

residential building or campground, including charges or fees for stormwater, recycling, trash

collection, elevator testing, fire or life safety testing, or residential rental inspection programs.

"Ratio utility billing system' means a program that utilizes a mathematical formula for

allocating, among the tenants of a building, manufactured home park, or campground, the actual

or anticipated water, sewer, electrical, or natural gas billings billed to the building,

manufactured home park, or campground owner from a third-party provider of the utility

service. Permitted allocation methods may include formulas based on square footage,

occupancy, number of bedrooms, or some other specific method agreed to by the building,

manufactured home park, or campground owner and the tenant in the rental agreement or lease.

"Water and sewer submetering equipment” means equipment used to measure actual

water or sewer usage in any dwelling unit, as defined in subsection A of § 56-245.2, or
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campsite, when such equipment is not owned or controlled by the utility or other provider of

water or sewer service that provides service to the building in which the dwelling unit is located

or campground where the campsite is located.

B. Energy submetering equipment, energy allocation equipment, water and sewer
submetering equipment, or a ratio utility billing system may be used in a—cemmerctal—of
residential building, manufactured home park, or campground if clearly stated in the rental
agreement or lease for the leased premises or dwelling unit. All energy submetering equipment
and energy allocation equipment shall meet the requirements and standards established and
enforced by the State Corporation Commission pursuant to 8 56-245.3.

B-C. If energy submetering equipment, energy allocation equipment, or water and sewer

submetering equipment,—er-energy-aHocation-eguipment is used in any building, manufactured

home park, or campground, the owner, manager, or operator of the building, manufactured

home park, or campground shall bill the tenant for electricity, natural gas, or water and sewer

for the same billing period as the utility serving the building, manufactured home park, or

campground, unless the rental agreement or lease expressly provides otherwise. The owner,
manager, or operator of the building, manufactured home park, or campground may charge and
collect from the tenant additional service charges, including;-but-ret-Hmited-te; monthly billing
fees, account set-up fees, or account move-out fees, to cover the actual costs of administrative
expenses and billing charged to the building, manufactured home park, or campground owner,
manager, or operator by a third-party provider of such services, provided that such charges are

agreed to by the building, manufactured home park, or campground owner and the tenant in the

rental agreement or lease. The building, manufactured home park, or campground owner may

require the tenant to pay a late charge of up to $5 if the tenant fails to make payment when due,
which shall not be less than 15 days following the date of mailing or delivery of the bill sent
pursuant to this section.

G-D. If aratio utility billing system is used in any building, manufactured home park, or

campground, in lieu of increasing the rent, the owner, manager, or operator of the building,
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manufactured home park, or campground may employ such a program that utilizes a
mathematical formula for allocating, among the tenants in a building, manufactured home park,
or campground, the actual or anticipated water, sewer, electrical, or natural gas billings billed to

the building, manufactured home park, or campground owner from a third-party provider of the

utility service. The owner, manager, or operator of the building, manufactured home park, or
campground may charge and collect from the tenant additional service charges, including-but
not-Hmited-te monthly billing fees, account set-up fees, or account move-out fees, to cover the
actual costs of administrative expenses and billings charged to the building, manufactured home
park, or campground owner, manager, or operator by a third-party provider of such services,
provided that such charges are agreed to by the building, manufactured home park, or
campground owner and the tenant in the rental agreement or lease. The building, manufactured
home park, or campground owner may require the tenant to pay a late charge of up to $5 if the
tenant fails to make payment when due, which shall not be less than 15 days following the date
of mailing or delivery of the bill sent pursuant to this section. The late charge shall be deemed
rent (i) as defined in 8-55-248:4 55.1-xxx if a ratio utility billing system is used in a residential
multifamily dwelling unit subject to the Virginia Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (8-55-
2482 55.1-xxx et seq.) or (ii) as defined in §-55-248:41 55.1-xxx if a ratio utility billing system
is used in_a manufactured home park subject to the Manufactured Home Lot Rental Act (8-55-
24841 55.1-xxx et seq.).

D-E. Energy allocation equipment shall be tested periodically by the owner, operator, or
manager of the building, manufactured home park, or campground. Upon the request by a
tenant, the owner shall test the energy allocation equipment without charge. The test conducted
without charge to the tenant shall not be conducted more frequently than once in a 24-month
period for the same tenant. The tenant or his designated representative may be present during
the testing of the energy allocation equipment. A written report of the results of the test shall be

made to the tenant within 10 working days after the completion of the test.
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E—F. The owner of any building, manufactured home park, or campground shall
maintain adequate records regarding energy submetering equipment,_energy allocation

equipment, water and sewer submetering equipment;—energy—aHocation—equipment, or a ratio

utility billing system. A tenant may inspect and copy the records for the leased premises during

reasonable business hours at a convenient location within the building, manufactured home

park, or campground. The owner of the building, manufactured home park, or campground may

impose and collect a reasonable charge for copying documents, reflecting the actual costs of
materials and labor for copying, prior to providing copies of the records to the tenant.

F—G. Notwithstanding any enforcement action undertaken by the State Corporation
Commission pursuant to its authority under 8 56-245.3, tenants and owners shall retain any
private right of action resulting from any breach of the rental agreement or lease terms required
by this section or 8 56-245.3, if applicable, to the same extent as such actions may be
maintained for breach of other terms of the rental agreement or lease under Chapter-£3_XX [2]
(8-55-217 55.1-xxx et seq.) or Chapter-13:2 XX [3] (8-55-248:2 55.1-xxx et seq.)-of this-title, if
applicable. The use of energy submetering equipment,_energy allocation equipment, water and

sewer submetering equipment—energy-aHocation-eguipment, or a ratio utility billing system is

not within the jurisdiction of the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services under

Chapter 56 (§ 3.2-5600 et seq.) of Title 3.2.

G-H. In lieu of increasing the rent, the owner, manager, or operator of a-cemmereial-or
residential building, manufactured home park, or campground may employ a program that
utilizes a mathematical formula for allocating the actual or anticipated local government fees
billed to the building, manufactured home park, or campground owner among the tenants in
such building, manufactured home park, or campground if clearly stated in the rental agreement
or lease for the leased premises or dwelling unit. Permitted allocation methods may include
formulas based upon square footage, occupancy, number of bedrooms, or some other specific
method agreed to by the building, manufactured home park, or campground owner and the

tenant in the rental agreement or lease. Such owner, manager, or operator of a-commercial-of
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residential building, manufactured home park, or campground may also charge and collect from
each tenant additional service charges, including monthly billing fees, account set-up fees, or
account move-out fees, to cover the actual costs of administrative expenses for administration of
such a program. If the building is residential and is subject to (i) the Virginia Residential
Landlord and Tenant Act (8-55-248:2 55.1-xxx et seq.), such local government fees and
administrative expenses shall be deemed to be rent as defined in §-55-248-4 55.1-xxx or (ii) the
Manufactured Home Lot Rental Act (8-55-248-41 55.1-xxx et seq.), such local government fees
and administrative expenses shall be deemed to be rent as defined in 8-55-248.41 55.1-xXX.
H—1. Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit an owner, manager, or
operator of a-commeretal-orresidential building, manufactured home park, or campground from

including water, sewer, electrical, natural gas, or other utilities in the amount of rent as specified

in the rental agreement or lease.
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Drafting note: Existing § 55-226.2 is logically relocated from existing Chapter 13 (8

55-217 et seq.) to this chapter of general provisions for residential tenancies because it
applies to all residential tenancies. The definitions are moved from existing subsection | to
the beginning of the section. References to commercial buildings are stricken. The term
"manufactured home park'™ is added throughout the section for consistency with
subsection B. In proposed subsections C and D, *"but not limited to™ is removed following
the term "including™ on the basis of § 1-218, which states that throughout the Code
"Includes’ means, includes, but not limited to.”" Technical changes are made.
CHAPTER 25.
TRANSFER OF DEPOSITS.

Drafting note: Existing Chapter 25 is recommended for repeal. It contains only one
section, which has been relocated to proposed Chapter XX [1], Chapter XX, Chapter XX
[4] and Chapter XX [6] because it applies to residential tenancies, the rental of
manufactured homes, and commercial tenancies.

§55-507 55.1-xxx. Transfer of deposits upon purchase.
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The owner of rental property shall transfer any security deposits and any accrued interest
on the deposits in his possession to the new owner at the time of the transfer of the rental
property.

Drafting note: Existing § 55-507 is logically relocated from existing Chapter 25 (8
55-507) to this chapter of general provisions for residential tenancies because it applies to
all residential tenancies, and identical language is added to Chapter XX [4] and Chapter
XX [6] as it also applies to manufactured home rentals and commercial tenancies.

Article 2.
Assignments.

Drafting note: Proposed Article 2 of Chapter XX [1] consolidates all sections from
existing Chapter 13 (8§ 55-217 et seq.) relating to assignments of leases that are applicable
to residential tenancies.

8-55-217 55.1-xxx. Grantees and assignees-te have same rights against-lessees tenants as
fessers—ete landlords.

A grantee or assignee of any land-let-te-lease rented, or of the reversion thereof, and his
heirs, personal representative, or assigns shall enjoy against the—tessee; tenant or his personal
representative or assigns; the like advantage, by action or entry for any forfeiture or by action
upon any covenant or promise in the lease,~whieh that the grantor, assignor, or-esser_landlord,
or his heirs, might have enjoyed.

Drafting note: Existing § 55-217 is logically relocated from existing Chapter 13 (8
55-217 et seq.) to this article on assignments because it applies to assignments of leases for
all residential tenancies. References to "lessor’ are changed to "'landlord™ and references
to "lessee’ are changed to '‘tenant™ to reflect modern usage of these terms in the
residential tenancies context. Technical changes are made.

8-55-218 55.1-xxx.-Lessees,—ete—to_Tenants have same rights against grantees—ete-; as
against-tessers landlords.
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A-lessee; tenant or his personal representative or assigns may have against a grantee or

alienee of the reversion, or of any part-thereoef of such reversion, or his heirs or assigns; the like

benefit of any condition, covenant, or promise in the lease as he could have had against the
lessors-themselves landlord and-their his heirs and assigns, except the benefit of any warranty, in
deed or law.

Drafting note: Existing § 55-218 is logically relocated from existing Chapter 13 (8
55-217 et seq.) to this article on assignments because it applies to assignments of leases for
all residential tenancies. References to "lessor’ are changed to "'landlord™ and references
to "lessee’ are changed to "tenant™ to reflect modern usage of these terms in the
residential tenancies context. Technical changes are made.

8-55-220 55.1-xxx. What powers to pass to grantee or devisee; when attornment
unnecessary.

In conveyances or devises of rents in fee, with powers of distress and reentry, or either
of them, such powers shall pass to the grantee or devisee without express words. A grant or
devise of a rent, or of a reversion or remainder,-shaH-be is good and effectual without attornment

of the tenant;, but no tenant who; before notice of the grant—shal-have paid the rent to the

grantor shall suffer any damage-thereby as a result of such payment.

Drafting note: Existing § 55-220 is logically relocated from existing Chapter 13 (8
55-217 et seq.) to this article on assignments because it applies to assignments of leases for
all residential tenancies. Technical changes are made.

8-55-221 55.1-xxx. When attornment void.

The attornment of a tenant to any stranger-shal-be_is void, unless it-be is with the
consent of the landlord of such tenant or pursuant to or in consequence of the judgment, order,
or decree of a court.

Drafting note: Existing § 55-221 is logically relocated from existing Chapter 13 (8
55-217 et seq.) to this article on assignments because it applies to assignments of leases for

all residential tenancies. Technical changes are made.
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Article 3.

Landlord Obligations.

Drafting note: Proposed Article 3 consolidates all sections from existing Chapters
13 (8 55-217 et seq.) and 13.2, the Virginia Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (8 55-
248.2 et seq.), that relate to the obligations of landlords in residential tenancy agreements.

8-55-225-15 55.1-xxx. Receipt required for certain rental payments; upon request.

The landlord shall provide the tenant with_a written receipt, upon request of the tenant,
whenever the tenant pays rent in the form of cash or a money order.

Drafting note: Existing § 55-225.15 is logically relocated from existing Chapter 13
(8 55-217 et seq.) to this article on the obligations of landlords because it applies to such
obligations for all residential tenancies. A technical change is made.

8-55-248-12:2 55.1-xxx. Required disclosures for properties with defective drywall;
remedy for nondisclosure.

A. If the landlord of a-restdential dwelling unit has actual knowledge of the existence of
defective drywall in such dwelling unit that has not been remediated, the landlord shall provide
to a prospective tenant a written disclosure that the property has defective drywall. Such
disclosure shall be provided prior to the execution by the tenant of a written lease agreement or,
in the case of an oral lease agreement, prior to occupancy by the tenant. For purposes of this
section, "defective drywall" means all defective drywall as defined in 8 36-156.1.

B. Any tenant who is not provided the disclosure required by subsection A may
terminate the lease agreement at any time within 60 days-ef-retice of discovery of the existence
of defective drywall by providing written notice to the landlord in accordance with the lease or
as required by law. Such termination shall be effective as of (i) 15 days after the date of the
mailing of the notice or (ii) the date through which rent has been paid, whichever is later. In no
event, however, shall the effective date of the termination exceed one month from the date of
mailing. Termination of the lease agreement shall be the exclusive remedy for the failure to

comply with the disclosure provisions of this section, and shall not affect any rights or duties of
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the landlord or tenant arising under this—ehapter part, other applicable law, or the rental
agreement.

Drafting note: Existing § 55-248.12:2 is logically relocated from the existing
VRLTA (8 55-248.2 et seq.) to this article on the obligations of landlords because it applies
to such obligations for all residential tenancies. In subsection A, the word *'residential® is
deleted before ""dwelling unit™ as redundant. In subsection B, the words "'of notice' are
deleted after ""60 days' for consistency with the termination provisions for properties

found to have been used to manufacture methamphetamine contained in existing

subsection B of§ 55-248.12:3. Technical changes are made.
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Drafting note: Because the text in this section is set out in two sections of the Code
(8 55-225.11 in Chapter 13 and § 55-248.12:2 in the VRLTA) and the application of those
two chapters is combined in this proposed chapter for application to all residential
tenancies, this second instance is recommended for repeal.

8—55-248-12:3 55.1-xxx. Required disclosures for property previously used to
manufacture methamphetamine; remedy for nondisclosure.

A. If the landlord of a-restdential dwelling unit has actual knowledge that the dwelling
unit was previously used to manufacture methamphetamine and has not been cleaned up in
accordance with the guidelines established pursuant to § 32.1-11.7 and the applicable licensing
provisions of Chapter 11 (8§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 54.1, the landlord shall provide to a

prospective tenant a written disclosure that-se states_such information. Such disclosure shall be

provided prior to the execution by the tenant of a written lease agreement or, in the case of an
oral lease agreement, prior to occupancy by the tenant.

B. Any tenant who is not provided the disclosure required by subsection A may
terminate the lease agreement at any time within 60 days of discovery that the property was
previously used to manufacture methamphetamine and has not been cleaned up in accordance
with the guidelines established pursuant to § 32.1-11.7 by providing written notice to the
landlord in accordance with the lease or as required by law. Such termination shall be effective
as of (i) 15 days after the date of the mailing of the notice or (ii) the date through which rent has
been paid, whichever is later. In no event, however, shall the effective date of the termination
exceed one month from the date of mailing. Termination of the lease agreement shall be the
exclusive remedy for the failure to comply with the disclosure provisions required by this
section and shall not affect any rights or duties of the landlord or tenant arising under this
chapter part, other applicable law, or the rental agreement.

Drafting note: Existing § 55-248.12:3 is logically relocated from the existing
VRLTA (8 55-248.2 et seq.) to this article on the obligations of landlords because it applies
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to such obligations for all residential tenancies. In subsection A, the word *'residential’ is

deleted before ""dwelling unit' as redundant. A technical change is made.

Drafting note: Because the text in this section is set out in two sections of the Code

(8 55-225.17 in Chapter 13 and § 55-248.12:3 in the VRLTA) and the application of those
two chapters is combined in this proposed chapter for application to all residential
tenancies, this second instance is recommended for repeal.

8-55-248:13 55.1-xxx. Landlord to maintain fit premises.
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A. The landlord shall:

1. Comply with the requirements of applicable building and housing codes materially
affecting health and safety;

2. Make all repairs and do whatever is necessary to put and keep the premises in a fit and
habitable condition;

3. Keep all common areas shared by two or more dwelling units of the premises in a
clean and structurally safe condition;

4. Maintain in good and safe working order and condition all electrical, plumbing,
sanitary, heating, ventilating, air-conditioning, and other facilities and appliances, including
elevators, supplied or required to be supplied by him;

5. Maintain the premises in such a condition as to prevent the accumulation of moisture
and the growth of mold; and-te promptly respond to any notices from a tenant as provided in
subdivision-A-10 xxx of §855-248.16 55.1-xxx. Where there is visible evidence of mold, the
landlord shall promptly remediate the mold conditions in accordance with the requirements of
subsection E of § 8.01-226.12 and reinspect the dwelling unit to confirm that there is no longer
visible evidence of mold in the dwelling unit. The landlord shall make available to the tenant
copies of any available written information related to the remediation of mold;

6. Provide and maintain appropriate receptacles and conveniences, in common areas, for
the collection, storage, and removal of ashes, garbage, rubbish, and other waste incidental to the
occupancy of two or more dwelling units and arrange for the removal of same; and

7. Supply running water and reasonable amounts of hot water at all times and reasonable
air conditioning if provided and heat in season except where the dwelling unit is so constructed

that heat, air conditioning, or hot water is generated by an installation within the exclusive

control of the tenant or supplied by a direct public utility connection;and
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B. The landlord shall perform the duties imposed by subsection A in accordance with
law; however, the landlord shall only be liable for the tenant's actual damages proximately
caused by the landlord's failure to exercise ordinary care.

C. If the duty imposed by subdivision—1—ef-subsection A_1 is greater than any duty
imposed by any other subdivision of that subsection, the landlord's duty shall be determined by
reference to subdivision--ef-subsection A 1.

D. The landlord and tenant may agree in writing that the tenant perform the landlord's
duties specified in subdivisions_A 3, 6, and 7-ef-subsection—A and also specified repairs,
maintenance tasks, alterations, and remodeling, but only if the transaction is entered into in good
faith and not for the purpose of evading the obligations of the landlord; and if the agreement
does not diminish or affect the obligation of the landlord to other tenants in the premises.

Drafting note: Existing § 55-248.13 is logically relocated from the existing Virginia
Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (VRLTA) (8 55-248.2 et seq.) to this article on the
obligations of landlords because it applies to such obligations for all residential tenancies.
Subdivision A 8 is stricken and relocated as proposed § 55.1-xxx in the VRLTA because

the requirements related to carbon monoxide detectors are applicable only to residential

tenancies governed by the VRLTA. Technical changes are made.
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Drafting note: Because the text in this section is set out in two sections of the Code

(8 55-225.3 in Chapter 13 and 8 55-248.13 in the VRLTA) that are substantially similar

and the application of those two chapters is combined in this proposed chapter for

application to all residential tenancies, this second instance is recommended for repeal.
Article 4.

Tenant Obligations.

Drafting note: Proposed Article 4 consolidates all sections from existing Chapters
13 (8 55-217 et seq.) and 13.2, the Virginia Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (8§ 55-
248.2 et seq.), that relate to the obligations of tenants in residential tenancy agreements.

8-55-248:16 55.1-xxx. Tenant to maintain dwelling unit.
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A. In addition to the provisions of the rental agreement, the tenant shall:
1. Comply with all obligations primarily imposed upon tenants by applicable provisions
of building and housing codes materially affecting health and safety;

2. Keep that part of the dwelling unit and the part of the premises that he occupies and

uses as clean and safe as the condition of the premises permit;

4-Remove from his dwelling unit all ashes, garbage, rubbish, and other waste in a clean

and safe manner-a

5-4. Keep all plumbing fixtures in the dwelling unit or used by the tenant as clean as

their condition permits;

6—5. Use in a reasonable manner all utilities and all electrical, plumbing, sanitary,

heating, ventilating, air-conditioning, and other facilities and appliances-treluding-elevaters—in

7#-6. Not deliberately or negligently destroy, deface, damage, impair, or remove any part

of the premises or permit any person-te-de-se, whether known by the tenant or not, to do so;
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10-7. Use reasonable efforts to maintain the dwelling unit and any other part of the

premises that he occupies in such a condition as to prevent accumulation of moisture and the
growth of mold, and to promptly notify the landlord of any moisture accumulation that occurs or
of any visible evidence of mold discovered by the tenant;

11-8. Not paint or disturb painted surfaces or make alterations in the dwelling unit
without the prior written approval of the landlord, provided_that (i) the dwelling unit was
constructed prior to 1978 and therefore requires the landlord to provide the tenant with lead-
based paint disclosures and (ii) the landlord has provided the tenant with such disclosures and
the rental agreement provides that the tenant is required to obtain the landlord's prior written
approval before painting, disturbing painted surfaces, or making alterations in the dwelling unit;

12-9. Be responsible for his conduct and the conduct of other persons, whether known

by the tenant or not, who are on the premises with his consent-whetherknown-by-the-tepant-of

net, to ensure that his neighbors' peaceful enjoyment of the premises will not be disturbed; and

13-10. Abide by all reasonable rules and regulations imposed by the landlord pursuant
to 8-55-248-17 55.1-xxX.

B. If the duty imposed by subdivision—1-ef-subseetion A_1 is greater than any duty
imposed by any other subdivision of that subsection, the tenant's duty shall be determined by
reference to subdivision A 1.

Drafting note: Existing § 55-248.16 is logically relocated from the existing VRLTA
(8 55-248.2 et seq.) to this article on the obligations of tenants because it applies to such
obligations for all residential tenancies. Language in existing subdivisions A 3 and part of
A 4,6, 8, and 9 is stricken and relocated to proposed 8§ 55.1-xxx [§8 55-248.16] in Article 3
of the VRLTA because they are applicable only to residential tenancies that are governed

by the VRLTA. Technical changes are made.




826
827
828
829
830
831
832
833
834
835
836
837
838
839
840
841
842
843
844
845
846
847
848
849
850
851
852

Page 32 of 52

Virginia Code Commission - September 19, 2016 meeting materials

9/9/2016 02:40 PM

#: General Provisions




853
854
855
856
857
858
859
860
861
862
863
864
865
866
867
868
869
870
871
872
873
874
875
876
877
878
879

Virginia Code Commission - September 19, 2016 meeting materials

#: General Provisions 9/9/2016 02:40 PM Page 33 of 52

Drafting note: Because the text in this section is set out in two sections of the Code

(8 55-225.4 in Chapter 13 and § 55-248.16 in the VRLTA) that are substantially similar

and the application of those two chapters is combined in this proposed chapter for

application to all residential tenancies, this second instance is recommended for repeal.
8-55-248.18:1 55.1-xxx. Access following entry of certain court orders.

A. A tenant or authorized occupant who has obtained an order from a court-ef-cempetent
jurisdietion pursuant to § 16.1-279.1 or subsection B of 8§ 20-103 granting such tenant
possession of the premises to the exclusion of one or more co-tenants or authorized occupants
may provide the landlord with a copy of that court order and request that the landlord either (i)
install a new lock or other security devices on the exterior doors of the dwelling unit at the
landlord's actual cost or (ii) permit the tenant or authorized occupant to do so, provided_that:

1. Installation of the new lock or security devices does no permanent damage to any part
of the dwelling unit; and

2. A duplicate copy of all keys and instructions—ef-how-to—eperate_for operating all
devices are given to the landlord.

Upon termination of the tenancy, the tenant shall be responsible for payment to the
landlord of the reasonable costs incurred for the removal of all such devices installed and repairs
to all damaged areas.

B. A person; who is not a tenant or authorized occupant-i_of the dwelling unit and who

has obtained an order from a court—ef-cempetentjurisdiction pursuant to § 16.1-279.1 or
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subsection B of 8 20-103 granting such person possession of the premises to the exclusion of
one or more co-tenants or authorized occupants; may provide a copy of such order to the
landlord and submit a rental application to become a tenant-t_of such dwelling unit within 10
days of the entry of such order. If such person's rental application meets the landlord's tenant
selection criteria, such person may become a tenant-_of such dwelling unit under a written
rental agreement. If such person submits a rental application and does not meet the landlord's
tenant selection criteria, such person shall vacate the dwelling unit no later than 30 days of the
date the landlord gives such person written notice that his rental application has been rejected. If
such person does not provide a copy of the protective order to the landlord and submit a rental
application to the landlord within 10 days as required by this section, such person shall vacate
the dwelling unit no later than 30 days of the date of the entry of such order. Such person shall
be liable to the landlord for failure to vacate the dwelling unit as required in this section.

Any tenant obligated on a rental agreement shall pay the rent and otherwise comply with
any and all requirements of the rental agreement; and any applicable laws and regulations. The
landlord may pursue all of its remedies under the rental agreement and applicable laws and
regulations, including filing an unlawful detainer action pursuant to 8 8.01-126 to obtain a
money judgment and to evict any persons residing in such dwelling unit.

C. A landlord who has received a copy of a court order in accordance with subsection A
shall not provide copies of any keys to the dwelling unit to any person excluded from the
premises by such order.

D. This section shall not apply when the court order excluding a person was issued ex
parte.

Drafting note: Existing § 55-248.18:1 is logically relocated from the existing
VRLTA (8 55-248.2 et seq.) to this article on the obligations of tenants because it applies to
such obligations for all residential tenancies. ""Of competent jurisdiction™ is deleted after
court™ in subsections A and B as unnecessary; the court must have the authority under

the sections cross-referenced to make the order. Technical changes are made.
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Drafting note: Because the text in this section is set out in two sections of the Code

(8 55-225.5 in Chapter 13 and § 55-248.18:1 in the VRLTA) that are identical and the
application of those two chapters is combined in this proposed chapter for application to
all residential tenancies, this second instance is recommended for repeal.

Article 5.

Tenant Remedies.

Drafting note: Proposed Article 5 consolidates all sections from existing Chapters
13 (8 55-217 et seq.) and 13.2, the Virginia Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (8§ 55-
248.2 et seq.), that relate to remedies available to tenants in residential tenancy
agreements.

§-55-248.21 55.1-xxx. Noncompliance by landlord.

Except as provided in this—ehapter part, if there is a material noncompliance by the
landlord with the rental agreement or a noncompliance with any provision of this-chapter part,
materially affecting health and safety, the tenant may serve a written notice on the landlord

specifying the acts and omissions constituting the breach and stating that the rental agreement
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will terminate upon a date not less than 30 days after receipt of the notice if such breach is not
remedied in 21 days.

If the landlord commits a breach-whieh that is not remediable, the tenant may serve a
written notice on the landlord specifying the acts and omissions constituting the breach; and
stating that the rental agreement will terminate upon a date not less than 30 days after receipt of
the notice.

If the landlord has been served with a prior written notice—whieh_that required the
landlord to remedy a breach, and the landlord remedied such breach, where the landlord
intentionally commits a subsequent breach of a like nature as the prior breach, the tenant may
serve a written notice on the landlord specifying the acts and omissions constituting the
subsequent breach, make reference to the prior breach of a like nature, and state that the rental
agreement will terminate upon a date not less than 30 days after receipt of the notice.

If the breach is remediable by repairs and the landlord adequately remedies the breach
prior to the date specified in the notice, the rental agreement will not terminate. The tenant may

not terminate for a condition caused by the deliberate or negligent act or omission of the tenant,

tenant-or-not an authorized occupant, or a guest or invitee of the tenant. In addition, the tenant

may recover damages and obtain injunctive relief for noncompliance by the landlord with the
provisions of the rental agreement or of this-chapter part. The tenant shall be entitled to recover
reasonable—atterneys’ attorney fees, unless the landlord proves by a preponderance of the

evidence that the landlord's actions were reasonable under the circumstances.—H—the—rental

Drafting note: Existing § 55-248.21 is logically relocated from the existing VRLTA

(8 55-248.2 et seq.) to this article on tenant remedies because it applies to such remedies
for all residential tenancies. Language in the last paragraph is amended to use the defined

terms "authorized occupant™ and "“guest or invitee." The provision relating to security
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deposits is relocated to proposed 8§ 55.1-xxx [8§ 55-248.15:1] because it is applicable only to

residential tenancies that are governed by the VRLTA. Technical changes are made.
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Drafting note: Because the text in this section is set out in two sections of the Code
(8 55-225.13 in Chapter 13 and § 55-248.21 in the VRLTA) that are substantially similar
and the application of those two chapters is combined in this proposed chapter for
application to all residential tenancies, this second instance is recommended for repeal.

8-55-248:21:1 55.1-xxx. Early termination of rental agreement by military personnel.

A. Any member of the-armed-forees Armed Forces of the United States or a member of

the National Guard serving on full-time duty or as a-Givi-Serviee civil service technician with
the National Guard may, through the procedure detailed in subsection B, terminate his rental
agreement if the member (i) has received permanent change of station orders to depart 35 miles
or more (radius) from the location of the dwelling unit; (ii) has received temporary duty orders
in excess of three months' duration to depart 35 miles or more (radius) from the location of the
dwelling unit; (iii) is discharged or released from active duty with the—armedforees Armed
Forces of the United States or from his full-time duty or technician status with the National
Guard; or (iv) is ordered to report to government-supplied quarters resulting in the forfeiture of
basic allowance for quarters.

B. Tenants who qualify to terminate a rental agreement pursuant to subsection A shall do
so by serving on the landlord a written notice of termination to be effective on a date stated

therein_in such written notice, such date to be not less than 30 days after the first date on which

the next rental payment is due and payable after the date on which the written notice is given.
The termination date shall be no more than 60 days prior to the date of departure necessary to
comply with the official orders or any supplemental instructions for interim training or duty
prior to the transfer. Prior to the termination date, the tenant shall furnish the landlord with a
copy of the official notification of the orders or a signed letter, confirming the orders, from the
tenant's commanding officer.

C. The landlord may not charge any liquidated damages.
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€.D. Nothing in this section shall affect the tenant's obligations established by §-55-

24816 55.1-xxx or 55.1-xxx [tenant to maintain dwelling unit; additional obligations § in

Chapter 2].

Drafting note: Existing 8 55-248.21:1 is logically relocated from the existing
VRLTA (8 55-248.2 et seq.) to this article on tenant remedies because it applies to such
remedies for all residential tenancies. Existing subsection D is stricken because it is no
longer applicable due to the relocation of this section. Technical changes are made.

8-55-248.21:2 55.1-xxx. Early termination of rental agreements by victims of family
abuse, sexual abuse, or criminal sexual assault.

A. Any tenant who is a victim of (i) family abuse as defined by § 16.1-228, (ii) sexual
abuse as defined by § 18.2-67.10, or (iii) other criminal sexual assault under Article 7 (§ 18.2-61
et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 18.2 may terminate such tenant's obligations under a rental
agreement under the following circumstances:

1. The victim has obtained an order of protection pursuant to 8§ 16.1-279.1 and has given
written notice of termination in accordance with subsection B during the period of the protective
order or any extension thereof; or

2. A court has entered an order convicting a perpetrator of any crime of sexual assault
under Article 7 (8 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 18.2, sexual abuse as defined by § 18.2-
67.10, or family abuse as defined by § 16.1-228 against the victim and the victim gives written
notice of termination in accordance with subsection B. A victim may exercise a right of
termination under this section to terminate a rental agreement in effect when the conviction
order is entered and one subsequent rental agreement based upon the same conviction.

B. A tenant who qualifies to terminate such tenant's obligations under a rental agreement

pursuant to subsection A shall do so by serving on the landlord a written notice of termination to

be effective on a date stated-therein in such written notice, such date to be not less than 30 days
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after the first date on which the next rental payment is due and payable after the date on which
the written notice is given. When the tenant serves the termination notice on the landlord, the
tenant shall also provide the landlord with a copy of (i) the order of protection issued or (ii) the
conviction order.

C. The rent shall be payable at such time as would otherwise have been required by the
terms of the rental agreement through the effective date of the termination as provided in
subsection B.

D. The landlord may not charge any liquidated damages.

E. The victim's obligations as a tenant under 8-55-248.16 55.1-xxx shall continue
through the effective date of the termination as provided in subsection B. Any co-tenants on the
lease with the victim shall remain responsible for the rent for the balance of the term of the
rental agreement. If the perpetrator is the remaining sole tenant obligated on the rental
agreement, the landlord may terminate the rental agreement and collect actual damages for such
termination against the perpetrator pursuant to 8-55-248.35 55.1-xxx.

Drafting note: Existing § 55-248.21:2 is logically relocated from the existing
VRLTA (8 55-248.2 et seq.) to this article on tenant remedies because it applies to such

remedies for all residential tenancies. A technical change is made.
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Drafting note: Because the text in this section is set out in two sections of the Code

(8 55-225.16 in Chapter 13 and § 55-248.21:2 in the VRLTA) that are identical and the
application of those two chapters is combined in this proposed chapter for application to
all residential tenancies, this second instance is recommended for repeal.

8-55-248:25:1 55.1-xxx. Rent escrow required for continuance of tenant's case.
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A. Where a landlord has filed an unlawful detainer action seeking possession of the
premises as provided by this-chapter part, and the tenant seeks to obtain a continuance of the
action or to set it for a contested trial, the court shall, upon request of the landlord, order the
tenant to pay an amount equal to the rent that is due as of the initial court date into the court
escrow account prior to granting the tenant's request for a delayed court date. However, if the
tenant asserts a good faith defense, and the court so finds, the court shall not require the rent to
be escrowed. If the landlord requests a continuance; or to set the case for a contested trial, the
court shall not require the rent to be escrowed.

B. If the court finds that the tenant has not asserted a good faith defense, the tenant shall
be required to pay an amount determined by the court to be proper into the court escrow account
in order for the case to be continued or set for contested trial.—Fo-meet-the—ends—ofjustice;
however-the The court may grant the tenant a continuance of no more than one week to make
full payment of the court-ordered amount into the court escrow account. If the tenant fails to pay
the entire amount ordered, the court shall, upon request of the landlord, enter judgment for the
landlord and enter an order of possession of the premises.

C. The court shall further order that should the tenant fail to pay future rents due under
the rental agreement into the court escrow account, the court shall, upon the request of the
landlord, enter judgment for the landlord and enter an order of possession of the premises.

D. Upon motion of the landlord, the court may disburse the moneys held in the court
escrow account to the landlord for payment of his mortgage or other expenses relating to the
dwelling unit.

E. Except as provided in subsection D, no rent required to be escrowed under this section
shall be disbursed within 10 days of the date of the judgment unless otherwise agreed to by the
parties. If an appeal is taken by the plaintiff, the rent held in escrow shall be transmitted to the
clerk of the circuit court to be held in such court escrow account pending the outcome of the

appeal.
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Drafting note: Existing § 55-248.25:1 is logically relocated from the existing
VRLTA (8 55-248.2 et seq.) to this article on tenant remedies because it applies to such

remedies for all residential tenancies. Application for this section is amended so that it

applies to all of Part A of this subtitle. Technical changes are made.




1172
1173
1174
1175
1176
1177
1178
1179
1180
1181
1182
1183
1184
1185
1186
1187
1188
1189
1190
1191
1192
1193
1194
1195
1196
1197
1198

Virginia Code Commission - September 19, 2016 meeting materials

#: General Provisions 9/9/2016 02:40 PM Page 45 of 52

Drafting note: Because the text in this section is set out in two sections of the Code

(8 55-225.14 in Chapter 13 and § 55-248.25:1 in the VRLTA) that are identical and the
application of those two chapters is combined in this proposed chapter for application to
all residential tenancies, this second instance is recommended for repeal.

8-55-248-26 55.1-xxx. Tenant's remedies for landlord's unlawful ouster, exclusion, or
diminution of service.

If-the_a landlord unlawfully removes or excludes—the a tenant from the premises or
willfully diminishes services to the tenant by interrupting or causing the interruption of-gas;
water-or-other an essential service to the tenant, the tenant may obtain an order from a general
district court to recover possession, require the landlord to resume any such interrupted utility

service, or terminate the rental agreement and, in any case, recover the actual damages sustained

by him and-a reasonable attorney-fee fees. H-therental-agreement-is—terminated-the-landlord

Drafting note: Existing § 55-248.26 is logically relocated from the existing VRLTA
(8 55-248.2 et seq.) to this article on tenant remedies because it applies to such remedies
for all residential tenancies. The phrase *"gas, water, or other™ is stricken in favor of using
the defined term ""essential service." The provision relating to security deposits is stricken

here and relocated to proposed § 55.1-xxx [§ 55-248.15:1] because it applies only to

residential tenancies that are governed by the VRLTA. A technical change is made.
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Drafting note: Because the text in this section is set out in two sections of the Code

(8 55-225.2 in Chapter 13 and § 55-248.26 in the VRLTA) that are substantially similar

and the application of those two chapters is combined in this proposed chapter for

application to all residential tenancies, this second instance is recommended for repeal.
8-55-248.36 55.1-xx. Recovery of possession limited.

A landlord may not recover or take possession of the dwelling unit (i) by willful
diminution of services to the tenant by interrupting or causing the interruption of-eleetric—gas;
water-or-other an essential service required by the rental agreement or (ii) by refusal to permit
the tenant access to the unit unless such refusal is pursuant to a court order for possession._A

provision included in a rental agreement authorizing action prohibited by this section is

unenforceable.

Drafting note: Existing § 55-248.36 is logically relocated from the existing VRLTA
(8 55-248.2 et seq.) to this article on tenant remedies because it applies to such remedies
for all residential tenancies. The phrase "electric, gas, water or other™ is stricken in favor

of using the defined term "essential service.” The last sentence of this section is based on

language in existing 8 55-225.1, which is stricken as substantially similar to this section.
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Drafting note: Because the text in this section is set out in two sections of the Code

(8 55-225.1 in Chapter 13 and § 55-248.36 in the VRLTA) that are substantially similar
and the application of those two chapters is combined in this proposed chapter for
application to all residential tenancies, this second instance is recommended for repeal.

§-55-248.-39 55.1-xxx. Retaliatory conduct prohibited.

A. Except as provided in this section, or as otherwise provided by law, a landlord may
not retaliate by increasing rent or decreasing services or by bringing or threatening to bring an
action for possession or by causing a termination of the rental agreement pursuant to 8-55-222
or—55-248.37-55.1-xxx_after he has knowledge that (i) the tenant has complained to a
governmental agency charged with responsibility for enforcement of a building or housing code
of a violation applicable to the premises materially affecting health or safety; (ii) the tenant has
made a complaint to or filed a suit against the landlord for a violation of any provision of this
chapter_part; (iii) the tenant has organized or become a member of a tenants' organization; or
(iv) the tenant has testified in a court proceeding against the landlord. However, the provisions
of this subsection shall not be construed to prevent the landlord from increasing-rents rent to that
which is charged-en_for similar market rentals-rer or from decreasing services that-shal apply
equally to all tenants.

B. If the landlord acts in violation of this section, the tenant is entitled to the applicable
remedies provided for in this-ehapter part, including recovery of actual damages, and may assert
such retaliation as a defense in any action against him for possession. The burden of proving
retaliatory intent shall be on the tenant.

C. Notwithstanding subsections A and B, a landlord may terminate the rental agreement

pursuant to §-55-222-6+55-248.37-55.1-xxx and bring an action for possession if:
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1. Violation of the applicable building or housing code was caused primarily by lack of

reasonable care by the tenant

consent, an authorized occupant, or a guest or invitee of the tenant;

2. The tenant is in default in rent;

3. Compliance with the applicable building or housing code requires alteration,
remodeling, or demolition that would effectively deprive the tenant of use of the dwelling unit;
or

4. The tenant is in default of a provision of the rental agreement materially affecting the

health and safety of himself or others. Fhe-maintenance-of-the-actionprovided-herein-does-not

D. The landlord may also terminate the rental agreement pursuant to §-55-222-6+55-
24837 55.1-xxx for any other reason not prohibited by law unless the court finds that the reason
for the termination was retaliation.

Drafting note: Existing § 55-248.39 is logically relocated from the existing VRLTA
(8 55-248.2 et seq.) to this article on tenant remedies because it applies to such remedies
for all residential tenancies. Language in subdivision C 1 is amended to use defined terms
""authorized occupant™ and *‘guest or invitee.”" Language in subdivision C 4 relating to a
landlord’s obligations with respect to security deposits pursuant to existing § 55-248.15:1 is
stricken and relocated to proposed 8 55.1-xxx [§ 55-248.15:1] in the VRLTA because it is

applicable only to residential tenancies that are governed by the VRLTA. Technical

changes are made.
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Drafting note: Because the text in this section is set out in two sections of the Code

(8 55-225.18 in Chapter 13 and § 55-248.39 in the VRLTA) that are substantially similar
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and the application of those two chapters is combined in this proposed chapter for
application to all residential tenancies, this second instance is recommended for repeal.
Article 6.

Landlord Remedies.

Drafting note: Proposed Article 6 contains the section from existing Chapter 13 (8§
55-217 et seq.) that relates to remedies available to landlords in residential tenancy
agreements.

8-55-246-1 55.1-xxx. Who may recover rent or possession.

Notwithstanding any rule of court to the contrary, (i) any person licensed under the
provisions of § 54.1-2106.1, (ii) any property manager, or a managing agent of a landlord as
defined in 8-55-2484 55.1-xxx, or (iii) any employee, who is authorized in writing by a
corporate officer with the approval of the board of directors, or by a manager, a general partner,
or a trustee, of a partnership, association, corporation, limited liability company, limited
partnership, professional corporation, professional limited liability company, registered limited
liability partnership, registered limited liability limited partnership, business trust, or family
trust to sign pleadings as the agent of the business entity may obtain a judgment (a) for
possession in the general district court for the county or city-wherein_in which the premises, or
part thereof, is situated or (b) for rent or damages, including actual damages for breach of the
rental agreement, in any general district court where venue is proper under § 8.01-259, against
any defendant if the person seeking such judgment had a contractual agreement with the
landlord to manage the premises for which rent or possession is due and may prepare, execute,
file, and have served on other parties in any general district court a warrant in debt, suggestion

for summons in garnishment, garnishment summons, writ of possession, or writ of fieri facias

arising out of a-landlerd-tenant landlord-tenant relationship. However, the activities of any such

person in court shall be limited by the provisions of § 16.1-88.03.
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Drafting note: Existing § 55-246.1 is logically relocated from the existing VRLTA (8§
55-248.2 et seq.) to this article on landlord remedies because it applies to such remedies for
all residential tenancies. Technical changes are made.

#
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CHAPTER 131
RENTCONTROL:

Drafting note: Repealed by Acts 2010, c. 92, cl. 1.
CHAPTER-13:2 XX._[2]
THE VIRGINIA RESIDENTIAL LANDLORD AND TENANT ACT.

Drafting note: Existing Chapter 13.2, the Virginia Residential Landlord and
Tenant Act (VRLTA), is retained as proposed Chapter XX [2]. Numerous provisions of the
existing VRLTA that are applicable to all residential tenancies are logically relocated and
combined with identical or similar provisions of existing Chapter 13 as proposed Chapter
XX [1] (General Provisions) of Part A (Residential Tenancies).

Article 1.
In General-Rrovisions.

Drafting note: Existing 88§ 55-248.3:1, 55-248.6, 55-248.6:1, 55-248.7, 55-248.7:1, 55-
248.7:2, 55-248.8, 55-248.9, 55-248.9:1, and 55-248.10:1 in Article 1 of the VRLTA are
retained as proposed Article 1 of the VRLTA in proposed Subtitle I11. Existing 8§ 55-248.4
and 55-248.5 from Article 1 and § 55-248.40 from Article 6 of the VRLTA are relocated to

this article because they apply to all residential tenancies governed by the VRLTA.

Drafting note: Existing 8 55-248.2 is recommended for repeal on the basis of § 1-
244, which states that the caption of a subtitle, chapter, or article operates as a short title
citation. The short title citation is retained in the title of proposed Chapter XX [2].

§55-248.3:1 55.1-xxx. Applicability-ef chapter.

A. This chapter shall apply to all rental agreements entered into on or after July 1, 1974,

which_that are not exempted pursuant to-§-55-248-5 subsection B, and all of its provisions
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thereof shall apply to all jurisdictions in the Commonwealth and may not be waived or
otherwise modified, in whole or in part, by the governing body of any locality; or its boards-ané
or commissions or other instrumentalities; or by the courts of the Commonwealth.

B. The provisions of this chapter shall not apply to:

1. Occupancy in single-family residences located in Virginia where the owners are

natural persons, or their estates, who own in their own name no more than two single-family

residences subject to a rental agreement, unless the landlord states in the rental agreement that

the landlord-tenant relationship is subject to the provisions of this chapter;

2. Occupancy under a contract of sale of a dwelling unit, or the property of which it is a

part, if the occupant is the purchaser or a person who succeeds to his interest;

3. Occupancy by an employee of a landlord whose right to occupancy is conditioned

upon employment in and about the premises or an ex-employee whose occupancy continues for

less than 60 days; or

4. Occupancy by a tenant who pays no rent pursuant to a rental agreement.

C. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit a-eeunty—€ity-ertewn locality from establishing

a commission, reconciliatory in nature only, or designating an existing agency, which upon

mutual agreement of the parties may mediate conflicts—whieh that may arise out of the

application of this chapter, nor shall anything-herein_in this chapter be deemed to prohibit an

ordinance designed to effect compliance with local property maintenance codes. This chapter
shall supersede all other local;—ceunty,—or—municipal ordinances or regulations concerning

landlord and tenant relations and the leasing of residential property.
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Drafting note: Existing 88 55-248.3 and 55-248.3:1 are combined. First, existing
subdivisions A 2, 5, 9, and 10 of § 55-248.5 are relocated as proposed subsection B. These
exemptions apply only to residential tenancies governed by the VRLTA. Existing
subsection E of § 55-248.5, which allows a landlord otherwise exempted from the
provisions of the VRLTA because he owns no more than two residential rental properties
to opt in to the provisions of this chapter by stating so in the rental agreement, is relocated
to the end of proposed subdivision B 1. Second, the initial purpose statement in existing 8§
55-248.3 is stricken per the Code Commission general policy that purpose statements do
not have general and permanent application and thus are not included in the Code. Third,
the provision (*'provided, however, that nothing in this chapter ..."") of existing § 55-248.3
is relocated as proposed subsection C. Technical changes are made.

§55-248.6 55.1-xxx. Notice.

A. As used in this chapter, "notice" means the same as that term is defined in § 55.1-xxx

[§8 55-248.4]:

B. If the rental agreement so provides, the landlord and tenant may send notices in

electronic form;; however, any tenant who so requests may elect to send and receive notices in

paper form. If electronic delivery is used, the sender shall retain sufficient proof of the
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electronic delivery, which may be an electronic receipt of delivery, a confirmation that the
notice was sent by facsimile, or a certificate of service prepared by the sender confirming the
electronic delivery.

C. In the case of the landlord, notice is served on the landlord at his place of business
where the rental agreement was made; or at any place held out by the landlord as the place for
receipt of the communication.

G.D. In the case of the tenant, notice is served at the tenant's last known place of
residence, which may be the dwelling unit.

B-E. Notice, knowledge, or a notice or notification received by an organization is
effective for a particular transaction from the time it is brought to the attention of the person
conducting that transaction, or from the time it would have been brought to his attention if the
organization had exercised reasonable diligence.

E-F. No notice of termination of tenancy served upon a tenant by a public housing
authority organized under the Housing Authorities Law (8 36-1 et seq.)-efFitle-36 shall be
effective unless it contains on its first page, in type no smaller or less legible than that otherwise
used in the body of the notice, the name, address, and telephone number of the legal services
program, if any, serving the jurisdiction-wherein in which the premises-are_is located.

G. The landlord may, in accordance with a written agreement, delegate to a managing

agent or other third party the responsibility of providing any written notice required by this

chapter.

Drafting note: Existing subsection A, the definition of *"'notice,” is relocated to
proposed § 55.1-xxx [§ 55-248.4], the definitions section for Part A, and a cross-reference
is added for ease of use. Proposed subsection G contains a notice provision relocated from
the definition of "*written notice™ in existing § 55-248.4. Technical changes are made.

§55-248.6:1 55.1-xxx. Application deposit and application fee.

A. Any landlord may require a refundable application deposit in addition to a

nonrefundable application fee. If the applicant fails to rent the unit for which application was
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made, from the application deposit the landlord shall refund to the applicant within 20 days after
the applicant's failure to rent the unit or the landlord's rejection of the application all sums in
excess of the landlord's actual expenses and damages together with an itemized list of-said_such
expenses and damages. If, however, the application deposit was made by cash, certified check,
cashier's check, or postal money order, such refund shall be made within 10 days of the
applicant's failure to rent the unit if the failure to rent is due to the landlord's rejection of the
application. If the landlord fails to comply with this section, the applicant may recover as
damages suffered by him that portion of the application deposit wrongfully withheld and
reasonable attorney fees.

B. A landlord may request that a prospective tenant provide information that will enable

the landlord to determine whether each applicant may become a tenant. The landlord may

photocopy each applicant's driver's license or other similar photo identification, containing

either the applicant's social security number or control number issued by the Department of

Motor Vehicles pursuant to § 46.2-342. However, a landlord shall not photocopy a U.S.

government-issued identification so long as to do so is a violation of 18 U.S.C. § 701. The

landlord may require, for the purpose of determining whether each applicant is eligible to

become a tenant in the landlord's dwelling unit, that each applicant provide a social security

number issued by the U.S. Social Security Administration or an individual taxpayer

identification number issued by the U.S. Internal Revenue Service.

C. An application fee shall not exceed $50, exclusive of any actual out-of-pocket

expenses paid by the landlord to a third party performing background, credit, or other pre-

occupancy checks on the applicant. However, where an application is being made for a dwelling

unit that is a public housing unit or other housing unit subject to regqulation by the U.S.

Department of Housing and Urban Development, an application fee shall not exceed $32,

exclusive of any actual out-of-pocket expenses paid to a third party by the landlord performing

background, credit, or other pre-occupancy checks on the applicant.
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Drafting note: Proposed subsection B contains rental application provisions
relocated from the definition of "'rental application™ in existing § 55-248.4 because these
provisions apply only to tenancies governed by the VRLTA. Proposed subsection C
contains rental application provisions relocated from the definition of "application fee™ in
existing 8§ 55-248.4 because these provisions apply only to tenancies governed by the
VRLTA. Technical changes are made.

8-55-248.-7 55.1-xxx. Terms and conditions of rental agreement;_payment of rent; copy

of rental agreement for tenant;-aceeunting-ofrental-payments.

A. A landlord and tenant may include in a rental agreement; terms and conditions not

prohibited by this chapter or other rule of law, including rent, charges for late payment of rent,
the term of the agreement, automatic renewal of the rental agreement, requirements for notice of
intent to vacate or terminate the rental agreement, and other provisions governing the rights and
obligations of the parties.

B. In the absence of a rental agreement, the tenant shall pay as rent the fair rental value
for the use and occupancy of the dwelling unit.

C. Rent shall be payable without demand or notice at the time and place agreed upon by
the parties. Unless otherwise agreed, rent is payable at the place designated by the landlord, and
periodic rent is payable at the beginning of any term of one month or less and otherwise in equal
installments at the beginning of each month. If the landlord receives from a tenant a written
request for an accounting of charges and payments, he shall provide the tenant with a written
statement showing all debits and credits over the tenancy or the past 12 months, whichever is
shorter. The landlord shall provide such written statement within 10 business days of receiving
the request.

D. Unless the rental agreement fixes a definite term, the tenancy shall be-week-to-week

week-to-week in_the case of a-+reemer tenant who pays weekly rent; and_month-to-month in all

other cases-menth-to-month. Terminations of tenancies shall be governed by §-55-248-37 55.1-

XXX, unless the rental agreement provides for a different notice period.
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E. If the rental agreement contains any provision-whereby allowing the landlord-may to
approve or disapprove a sublessee or assignee of the tenant, the landlord shall within 10
business days of receipt—by—him of the written application of the prospective sublessee or
assignee, on a form to be provided by the landlord, approve or disapprove the sublessee or
assignee. Failure of the landlord to act within 10 business days-shal-be-deemed is evidence of
his approval.

F.-A_The landlord shall provide a copy of any written rental agreement signed by both

the tenant and the landlord-shaH-be-provided to the tenant within one month of the effective date

of the written rental agreement. The failure of the landlord to deliver such a rental agreement
shall not affect the validity of the agreement.
G. No unilateral change in the terms of a rental agreement by a landlord or tenant shall

be valid unless (i) notice of the change is given in accordance with the terms of the rental

agreement or as otherwise required by law and (ii) both parties consent in writing to the change.

Drafting note: In subsection D, the term "roomer™ is changed to "tenant” to
correct a drafting error. Subsection H is stricken because it is identical to existing § 55-
225.15, which has been relocated to proposed Chapter XX [1] as applicable to all
residential tenancies. Technical changes are made.

8-55-248-7:1 55.1-xxx. Prepaid rent; maintenance of escrow account.

A landlord and a tenant may agree in a rental agreement that the tenant pay prepaid rent.
If a landlord receives prepaid rent, it shall be placed in an escrow account in a federally insured
depository in Virginia by the end of the fifth business day following receipt and shall remain in
the account until such time as the prepaid rent becomes due. Unless the landlord has otherwise
become entitled to receive any portion of the prepaid rent, it shall not be removed from the
escrow account required by this section without the written consent of the tenant.

Drafting note: No change.
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8-55-248-7:2 55.1-xxx. Landlord may obtain certain insurance for tenant.

A.-Damage-thsuranee: A landlord may require as a condition of tenancy that a tenant
have commercial insurance coverage as specified in the rental agreement to secure the
performance by the tenant of the terms and conditions of the rental agreement and pay for the
cost of premiums for such insurance coverage obtained by the landlord, generally known as
"damage insurance." As provided in §8-55-248-4 55.1-xxx, such payments shall not be deemed a
security deposit; but shall be rent. However, as provided in 8-55-248-9 55.1-xxx, the landlord
eannet shall not require a tenant to pay both a security-depesits_deposit and the cost of damage
insurance premiums, if the total amount of any security-depesits deposit and damage insurance
premiums exceeds the amount of two months' periodic rent. The landlord shall notify a tenant in
writing that the tenant has the right to obtain a separate policy from the landlord's policy for
damage insurance. If a tenant elects to obtain a separate policy, the tenant shall submit to the
landlord written proof of such coverage and shall maintain such coverage at all times during the
term of the rental agreement. Where a landlord obtains damage insurance coverage on behalf of
a tenant, the insurance policy shall provide coverage for the tenant as an insured. The landlord
shall recover from the tenant the actual costs of such insurance coverage and may recover
administrative or other fees associated with administration of a damage insurance policy,
including a tenant opting out of the insurance coverage provided by the landlord pursuant to this
subsection. If a landlord obtains damage insurance for his tenants, the landlord shall provide to
each tenant, prior to execution of the rental agreement, a summary of the insurance policy or
certificate evidencing the coverage being provided and upon request of the tenant make
available a copy of the insurance policy.

B.-Renters-tnsurance: A landlord may require as a condition of tenancy that a tenant
have renter's insurance as specified in the rental agreement that is a combination multi-peril
policy containing fire, miscellaneous property, and personal liability coverage insuring personal
property located in residential dwelling units not occupied by the owner. A landlord may require

a tenant to pay for the cost of premiums for such insurance obtained by the landlord,_in order to
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provide such coverage for the tenant as part of rent or as otherwise provided-herein_in this

section. As provided in §-55-248-4 55.1-xxx, such payments shall not be deemed a security
deposit; but shall be rent. H-thelandlord—requires—that-such—premiums—be—paid-priorto-the

of such-thsurance-coverage—The landlord shall notify a tenant in writing that the tenant has the

right to obtain a separate policy from the landlord's policy for renter's insurance. If a tenant

elects to obtain a separate policy, the tenant shall submit to the landlord written proof of such
coverage and shall maintain such coverage at all times during the term of the rental agreement.

C. If the landlord requires that premiums for damage insurance or renter's insurance be

paid prior to the commencement of the tenancy, the total amount of all security deposits and

insurance premiums for such insurance shall not exceed the amount of two months' periodic

rent. Otherwise, the landlord may add a monthly amount as additional rent to recover the costs

of such insurance coverage.

D. Where a landlord obtains renter's insurance coverage on behalf of a tenant, the
insurance policy shall provide coverage for the tenant as an insured. The landlord shall recover
from the tenant the actual costs of such insurance coverage and may recover administrative or
other fees associated with the administration of a renter's insurance program, including a tenant
opting out of the insurance coverage provided to the tenant pursuant to this subsection. If a
landlord obtains renter's insurance for his tenants, the landlord shall provide to each tenant, prior
to execution of the rental agreement, a summary of the insurance policy prepared by the insurer
or certificate evidencing the coverage being provided and upon request of the tenant make
available a copy of the insurance policy.

B-E. Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit the landlord from recovering
from the tenant, as part of the rent, the tenant's prorated share of the actual costs of other

insurance coverages provided by the landlord relative to the premises; or the tenant's prorated
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share of a self-insurance program held in an escrow account by the landlord, including the
landlord's administrative or other fees associated with the administration of such coverages. The
landlord may apply such funds held in escrow to pay claims pursuant to the landlord's self-
insurance plan.

Drafting note: Subsection catchlines in subsections A and B are stricken per the
general policy of the Code Commission that such internal catchlines are unnecessary.
Language in subsection B is relocated to subsection C because it deals with both damage
insurance and renter's insurance, which are covered in both subsection A and B.
Technical changes are made.

8-55-248.8 55.1-xxx. Effect of unsigned or undelivered rental agreement.

If the landlord does not sign and deliver a written rental agreement signed and delivered
to him by the tenant, acceptance of rent without reservation by the landlord gives the rental
agreement the same effect as if it had been signed and delivered by the landlord. If the tenant
does not sign and deliver a written rental agreement signed and delivered to him by the landlord,
acceptance of possession or payment of rent without reservation gives the rental agreement the
same effect as if it had been signed and delivered by the tenant. If a rental agreement; given
effect-by-the-eperation-of pursuant to this section; provides for a term longer than one year, it is
effective for only one year.

Drafting note: Technical changes.

8-55-248.9 55.1-xxx. Prohibited provisions in rental agreements.

A. A rental agreement shall not contain provisions that the tenant:

1. Agrees to waive or-ferege forgo rights or remedies under this-chapter part;

2. Agrees to waive or forgo rights or remedies pertaining to the 120-day conversion or
rehabilitation notice required in the Condominium Act (8-55-79-39 55.1-xxx et seq.), the
Virginia Real Estate Cooperative Act (8-55-424 55.1-xxx et seq.), or Chapter-43 XX (8-55-247
55.1-xxx et seq.), except where the tenant is on a month-to-month lease pursuant to 8-55-222

55.1-XXX;
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3. Authorizes any person to confess judgment on a claim arising out of the rental
agreement;

4. Agrees to pay the landlord's-atterney's attorney fees, except as provided in this-chapter
part;

5. Agrees to the exculpation or limitation of any liability of the landlord to the tenant
arising under law or to indemnify the landlord for that liability or—the any associated costs

connected-therewith:

6. Agrees as a condition of tenancy in public housing to a prohibition or restriction of
any lawful possession of a firearm within individual dwelling units unless required by federal
law or regulation; or

7. Agrees to both the payment of a security deposit and the provision of a bond or
commercial insurance policy purchased by the tenant to secure the performance of the terms and
conditions of a rental agreement, if the total of the security deposit and the bond or insurance
premium exceeds the amount of two months' periodic rent.

B.-A_Any provision prohibited by subsection A _that is included in a rental agreement is

unenforceable. If a landlord brings an action to enforce any-ef-theprehibitedprevisions such
provision, the tenant may recover actual damages sustained by him and reasonable-atterney's

attorney fees.

Drafting note: Technical changes.
8-55-248.9:1 55.1-xxx. Confidentiality of tenant records.
A. No landlord or managing agent shall release information about a tenant or prospective

tenant in the possession of the landlord or managing agent to a third party unless:

1. The tenant or prospective tenant has given prior written consent;
2. The information is a matter of public record as defined in § 2.2-3701;
3. The information is a summary of the tenant's rent payment record, including the

amount of the tenant's periodic rent payment;
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4. The information is a copy of a material noncompliance notice that has not been
remedied or; termination notice given to the tenant under § 55-248-31 55.1-xxx, and the tenant

did not remain in the premises-thereafter after the notice was given;

5. The information is requested by a local, state, or federal law-enforcement or public
safety official in the performance of his duties;

6. The information is requested pursuant to a subpoena in a civil case;

7. The information is requested by a local commissioner of the revenue in accordance
with § 58.1-3901;

8. The information is requested by a contract purchaser of the landlord's property;,
provided_that the contract purchaser agrees in writing to maintain the confidentiality of such
information;

9. The information is requested by a lender of the landlord for financing or refinancing
of the property;

10. The information is requested by the commanding officer, military housing officer, or
military attorney of the tenant;

11. The third party is the landlord's attorney or the landlord's collection agency;

12. The information is otherwise provided in the case of an emergency; or

13. The information is requested by the landlord to be provided to the managing agent;
or a successor to the managing agent.

B. A tenant may designate a third party to receive duplicate copies of a summons that
has been issued pursuant to § 8.01-126 and of written notices from the landlord relating to the
tenancy. Where such a third party has been designated by the tenant, the landlord shall mail the
duplicate copy of any summons issued pursuant to § 8.01-126 or notice to the designated third
party at the same time the summons or notice is mailed to or served upon the tenant. Nothing in
this subsection shall be construed to grant standing to any third party designated by the tenant to

challenge actions of the landlord in which notice was mailed pursuant to this subsection. The
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failure of the landlord to give notice to a third party designated by the tenant shall not affect the
validity of any judgment entered against the tenant.

C. A landlord or managing agent may enter into an agreement with a third-party service
provider to maintain tenant records in electronic form or other medium. In such case, the
landlord and managing agent shall not be liable under this section in the event of a breach of the
electronic data of such third-party service provider, except in the case of gross negligence or

intentional act. Nothing—herein_in this section shall be construed to require a landlord or

managing agent to indemnify such third-party service provider.

D. A tenant may request a copy of his tenant records in paper or electronic form. If the
rental agreement so provides, a landlord may charge a tenant requesting more than one copy of
his records the actual costs of preparing copies of such records. However, if the landlord makes
available tenant records to each tenant by electronic portal, the tenant shall not be required to
pay for access to such portal.

Drafting note: Technical changes.

Drafting note: Repealed by Acts 2000, c. 760, cl. 2.

8-55-248.-10:1 55.1-xxx. Landlord and tenant remedies for abuse of access.

If the tenant refuses to allow lawful access, the landlord may obtain injunctive relief to
compel access; or terminate the rental agreement. In either case, the landlord may recover actual
damages and reasonable-atterney's attorney fees. If the landlord makes an unlawful entry or a
lawful entry in an unreasonable manner or makes repeated demands for entry that is otherwise
lawful but-whieh that have the effect of unreasonably harassing the tenant, the tenant may obtain
injunctive relief to prevent the recurrence of the conduct; or terminate the rental agreement. In
either case, the tenant may recover actual damages and reasonable-atterney's attorney fees.

Drafting note: Technical changes.

8-55-248:40 55.1-xxx. Actions to enforce chapter.
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In addition to any other remedies in this chapter_or Chapter XX [1] (8 55.1-xxx et seq.),

any person adversely affected by an act or omission prohibited under this chapter_ or Chapter XX

[1] may institute an action for injunction and damages against the person responsible for such
act or omission in the circuit court in the county or city in which such act or omission occurred.
If the court finds that the defendant was responsible for such act or omission, it shall enjoin the
defendant from continuance of such practice; and in its discretion award the plaintiff damages as

herein-previded provided in this section.
Drafting note: Existing 8 55-248.40 is logically relocated from existing Article 6 of

the VRLTA to proposed Article 1 of the VRLTA as a general provision for the VRLTA.
References to Chapter XX [1] are added to clarify that the remedies provided in this
section are available for suits for acts or omissions prohibited under Chapter XX [1],
which contains general provisions applicable to all residential tenancies. Technical changes
are made.
Article 2.
Landlord Obligations.

Drafting note: Existing 88 55-248.11:1, 55-248.11:2, 55-248.12, 55-248.12:1, 55-
248.13:1, 55-248.13:2, 55-248.13:3, 55-248.14, 55-248.15, and 55-248.15:1 in Article 2 of the
VRLTA are retained as proposed Article 2 of the VRLTA. Existing 88§ 55-248.12:2, 55-
248.12:3, and 55-248.13 are relocated to proposed Article 3 of Chapter XX [1] because
they apply to all residential tenancies.

§55-248.11.

Drafting note: Repealed by Acts 2000, c. 760, cl. 2.

8-55-248-11:1 55.1-xxx. Inspection of-premises dwelling unit; report.

The landlord shall, within five days after occupancy of a dwelling unit, submit a written
report to the tenant—foer-his-safekeeping; itemizing damages to the dwelling unit existing at the
time of occupancy,-which-record and the report shall be deemed correct unless the tenant objects
therete_to it in writing within five days after receipt-thereef of the report. The landlord may
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adopt a written policy allowing the tenant to prepare the written report of the move-in
inspection, in which case the tenant shall submit a copy to the landlord,~which-reeerd_and the
report shall be deemed correct unless the landlord objects—therete_to it in writing within five
days after receipt-thereef of the report. Such written policy adopted by the landlord may also
provide for the landlord and the tenant to prepare the written report of the move-in inspection
jointly, in which case both the landlord and the tenant shall sign the written report and receive a
copy-thereof of the report, at which time the inspection—+eeerd report shall be deemed correct. If
any damages are reflected on the written report, a landlord is not required to make repairs to
address such damages unless required to do so under §8-55-248-11:2 55.1-xxx or-55-248-13 55.1-
XXX.

Drafting note: The word "'premises’ is changed in the catchline to ""dwelling unit"
consistent with the language in the section. References to '‘record™ are changed to
"report' for consistency. The phrase "'for his safekeeping™ is stricken as unnecessary.
Technical changes are made.

8-55-248-11:2 55.1-xxx. Disclosure of mold in dwelling units.

As part of the written report of the move-in inspection required by 8-55-248-11:1 55.1-
xxx, the landlord shall disclose whether there is any visible evidence of mold in areas readily
accessible within the interior of the dwelling unit. If the landlord's written disclosure states that
there is no visible evidence of mold in the dwelling unit, this written statement shall be deemed
correct unless the tenant objects—therete_to it in writing within five days after receiving the
report. If the landlord's written disclosure states that there is visible evidence of mold in the
dwelling unit, the tenant shall have the option to terminate the tenancy and not take possession
or remain in possession of the dwelling unit. If the tenant requests to take possession, or remain
in possession, of the dwelling unit, notwithstanding the presence of visible evidence of mold,
the landlord shall promptly remediate the mold condition but in no event later than five business

days-thereafter-and-re-nspect after the tenant's request to take possession or decision to remain

in possession, reinspect the dwelling unit to confirm_that there is no visible evidence of mold in
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the dwelling unit, and-refleet-en prepare a new report_stating that there is no visible evidence of
mold in the dwelling unit upon-+e-inspection reinspection.

Drafting note: Technical changes.

§55-248-12 55.1-xxx. Disclosure.

A.—Fhe For the purpose of service of process and receiving and issuing receipts for

notices and demands, the landlord or any person authorized to enter into a rental agreement on

his behalf shall disclose to the tenant in writing at or before the-eemmeneement beginning of the
tenancy the name and address of:

1. The person or persons authorized to manage the premises; and

2. An owner of the premises or any other person authorized to act for and on behalf of

B. In the event of the sale of the premises, the landlord shall notify the tenant of such
sale and disclose to the tenant the name and address of the purchaser and a telephone number at
which such purchaser can be located.

C. If an application for registration of the rental property as a condominium or
cooperative has been filed with the Real Estate Board, or if there is within six months an
existing plan for tenant displacement resulting from (i) demolition or substantial rehabilitation
of the property or (ii) conversion of the rental property to office, hotel, or motel use or planned
unit development,-then the landlord or any person authorized to enter into a rental agreement on
his behalf shall disclose that information in writing to any prospective tenant.

D. The information required to be furnished by this section shall be kept current, and_the
provisions of this section—extends extend to and—is_are enforceable against any successor
landlord or owner. A person who fails to comply with this section becomes an agent of each
person who is a landlord for the purposes of service of process and receiving and—receipting

issuing receipts for notices and demands.

Drafting note: Technical changes.
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429 8-55-248-12:1 55.1-xxx. Required disclosures for properties located adjacent to a ‘
430  military air installation; remedy for nondisclosure.

431 A. Notwithstanding the provisions of-subdivision-A—10-6f §-55-248.5 55.1-xxx, the ‘
432  landlord of property in any locality in which a military air installation is located, or any person
433  authorized to enter into a rental agreement on his behalf, shall provide to a prospective tenant a
434 written disclosure that the property is located in a noise zone or accident potential zone, or both,
435 as designated by the locality on its official zoning map. Such disclosure shall be provided prior
436  to the execution by the tenant of a written lease agreement or, in the case of an oral lease
437  agreement, prior to occupancy by the tenant. The disclosure shall specify the noise zone or
438 accident potential zone in which the property is located according to the official zoning map of
439  the locality. A disclosure made pursuant to this section containing inaccurate information
440 regarding the location of the noise zone or accident potential zone shall be deemed as
441  nondisclosure unless the inaccurate information is provided by an officer or employee of the
442  locality in which the property is located.

443 B. Any tenant who is not provided_with the disclosure required by subsection A may

444 terminate the lease agreement at any time during the first 30 days of the lease period by sending
445  to the landlord by certified or registered mail, return receipt requested, a written notice of
446  termination. Such termination shall be effective as of (i) 15 days after the date of the mailing of
447  the notice or (ii) the date through which rent has been paid, whichever is later. In no event,
448  however, shall the effective date of the termination exceed one month from the date of mailing.
449  Termination of the lease agreement shall be the exclusive remedy for the failure to comply with
450  the disclosure provisions of this section; and shall not affect any rights or duties of the landlord
451  ortenant arising under this chapter, other applicable law, or the rental agreement.

452 Drafting note: Technical changes.

453 8 55.1-xxx. Landlord to maintain fit premises; additional obligation of the landlord

454  reqgarding carbon monoxide alarms.
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In addition to the landlord's obligations contained in § 55.1-xxx [§ 55-248.13], the

landlord shall maintain any carbon monoxide alarm that has been installed by the landlord in a

dwelling unit.
Drafting note: Existing subdivision A 8 of § 55-248.13 is relocated as proposed 8

55.1-xxx. This provision pertains only to residential tenancies governed by the VRLTA.

8-55-248.13:1 55.1-xxx. Landlord to provide locks and peepholes when required by local

ordinance.

The governing body of any-eeunty—¢ity-er-tewn locality may require by ordinance that
any landlord who rents five or more dwelling units in any one building shall install:

1. Dead-bolt locks-which that meet the requirements of the Uniform Statewide Building
Code (8 36-97 et seq.) for new—multi-famiby_multifamily construction and peepholes in any
exterior swinging entrance door to any such unit; however, any door having a glass panel shall
not require a peephole:;

2. Manufacturer's locks—whieh_that meet the requirements of the Uniform Statewide

Building Code_(8 36-97 et seg.) and removable metal pins or charlie bars in accordance with the

Uniform Statewide Building Code on exterior sliding glass doors located in a building at any
level-erlevels designated in the ordinance-; and
3. Locking devices-which that meet the requirements of the Uniform Statewide Building

Code (8§ 36-97 et seq.) on all exterior windows.

Any ordinance adopted pursuant to this section shall further provide that any landlord
subject to the ordinance shall have a reasonable time as determined by the governing body in
which to comply with the requirements of the ordinance.

Drafting note: ""County, city or town™ is replaced with **locality'* on the basis of 8
1-221, which states that **'locality* means a county, city, or town." The plural ""or levels™ is
stricken in subdivision 2 on the basis of 8 1-277, which states that throughout the Code any

word used in the singular includes the plural. Technical changes are made.
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8§-55-248.13:2 55.1-xxx. Access of tenant to cable, satellite, and other television
facilities.

No landlord shall demand or accept payment of any fee, charge, or other thing of value
from any provider of cable television service, cable modem service, satellite master antenna
television service, direct broadcast satellite television service, subscription television service, or
service of any other television programming system in exchange for granting a television
service provider mere access to the landlord's tenants or giving the tenants of such landlord mere
access to such service. A landlord may enter into a service agreement with a television service
provider to provide marketing and other services to the television service provider; designed to
facilitate the television service provider's delivery of its services. Under such a service
agreement, the television service provider may compensate the landlord for the reasonable value
of the services provided; and for the reasonable value of the landlord's property used by the
television service provider.

No landlord shall demand or accept any such payment from any tenants in exchange

therefor for such service unless the landlord is itself the provider of the service—Ner, nor shall

any landlord discriminate in rental charges between tenants who receive any such service and

those who do not. Nothing contained-heretn_in this section shall prohibit a landlord from_(i)
requiring that the provider of such service and the tenant bear the entire cost of the installation,

operation, or removal of the facilities incident-therete; to such service or—prehibitalandlord

from _(ii) demanding or accepting reasonable indemnity or security for any damages caused by
such installation, operation, or removal.

Drafting note: Technical changes.

8-55-248-13:3 55.1-xxx. Notice to tenants for insecticide or pesticide use.

A. The landlord shall give written notice to the tenant no less than-ferty-eight 48 hours
prior to his application of an insecticide or pesticide in the tenant's dwelling unit, unless the
tenant agrees to a shorter notification period. If a tenant requests the application of the

insecticide or pesticide, the-ferty-eight-heur 48-hour notice is not required. Tenants who have
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concerns about specific insecticides or pesticides shall notify the landlord in writing no less than
twenty-four 24 hours before the scheduled insecticide or pesticide application. The tenant shall
prepare the dwelling unit for the application of insecticides or pesticides in accordance with any
written instructions of the landlord; and, if insects or pests are found to be present, follow any
written instructions of the landlord to eliminate the insects or pests following the application of
insecticides or pesticides.

B. In addition, the landlord shall post notice of all insecticide or pesticide applications in
areas of the premises other than the dwelling units. Such notice shall consist of conspicuous
signs placed in or upon such premises where the insecticide or pesticide will be applied-ferty-

eight-atleast no less than 48 hours prior to the application.

Drafting note: Technical changes.

§-55-248.14 55.1-xxx. Limitation of liability.

Unless otherwise agreed, a landlord who conveys premises that include a dwelling unit
subject to a rental agreement in a good faith sale to a bona fide purchaser is relieved of liability

under the rental agreement-and, this chapter, and Chapter XX [1] (8 55.1-xxx et seq.) as to

events occurring subsequent to notice to the tenant of the conveyance. Unless otherwise agreed,
a managing agent of premises that include a dwelling unit is relieved of liability under the rental

agreement-and, this chapter, and Chapter XX [1] as to events occurring after written notice to

the tenant of the termination of his management.

Drafting note: References to Chapter XX [1] are added because that chapter
contains liability provisions that are applicable to landlords of all residential tenancies,
including tenancies governed by the VRLTA. Technical changes.

8-55-248:15 55.1-xxx. Tenancy at will; effect of notice of change of terms or provisions
of tenancy.

A notice of any change by a landlord or tenant in any terms or provisions of a tenancy at
will shall constitute a notice to vacate the premises, and such notice of change shall be given in

accordance with the terms of the rental agreement, if any, or as otherwise required by law.
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Drafting note: No change.

§55-248-15:1 55.1-xxx. Security deposits.

A. A-No landlord may-net demand or receive a security deposit, however denominated,
in an amount or value in excess of two months' periodic rent. Upon termination of the tenancy,
such security deposit, whether it is property or money held by the landlord as security as

heretnafter provided_in this section, may be applied-selely by the landlord_solely to (i)-te the

payment of accrued rent-and, including the reasonable charges for late payment of rent specified
in the rental agreement; (ii)-te the payment of the amount of damages-whieh_that the landlord

has suffered by reason of the tenant's noncompliance with 8-55-248-16 55.1-xxx or 55.1-Xxx

[tenant to maintain dwelling unit; additional obligations 8 in this chapter], less reasonable wear

and tear; or (iii)-te other damages or charges as provided in the rental agreement. The security
deposit and any deductions, damages, and charges shall be itemized by the landlord in a written
notice given to the tenant, together with any amount due_to the tenant, within 45 days after

termination of the tenancy and delivery of possession_to the landlord.

B. Where there is more than one tenant subject to a rental agreement, unless otherwise
agreed to in writing by each of the tenants, disposition of the security deposit shall be made with
one check being payable to all such tenants and sent to a forwarding address provided by one of
the tenants. Regardless of the number of tenants subject to a rental agreement, if a tenant fails to
provide a forwarding address to the landlord to enable the landlord to make a refund of the

security deposit, upon the expiration of one year from the date of the end of the 45-day time

period_pursuant to subsection A, the landlord shall, within a reasonable period of time not to

exceed 90 days, escheat the balance of such security deposit and any other moneys due_to the

tenant to the Commonwealth, which sums shall be-sent-te-the-Virginia-Department-of Housing

Heusing—TFrust-Fund-established-pursuant-to-8-36-142 paid to the Literary Fund. Upon payment

to the Commonwealth, the landlord shall have no further liability to any tenant relative to the

security deposit. If the landlord or managing agent is a real estate licensee, compliance with this
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paragraph—  subsection shall be deemed compliance with 8 54.1-2108 and corresponding
regulations of the Real Estate Board.

C. Nothing in this section shall be construed-by-a-court-of-taw-or-otherwise as entitling
the tenant, upon the termination of the tenancy, to an immediate credit against the tenant's
delinquent rent account in the amount of the security deposit. The landlord shall apply the
security deposit in accordance with this section within the 45-day time period. However,
provided_that the landlord has given prior written notice in accordance with this section, the
landlord may withhold a reasonable portion of the security deposit to cover an amount of the
balance due on the water, sewer, or other utility account that is an obligation of the tenant to a
third-party provider under the rental agreement for the dwelling unit, and upon payment of such
obligations the landlord shall provide written confirmation to the tenant within 10 days
thereafter, along with payment to the tenant of any balance otherwise due to the tenant. In order
to withhold such funds as part of the disposition of the security deposit, the landlord shall have
se advised the tenant of his rights and obligations under this section in (i) a termination notice to

the tenant in accordance with this chapter or Chapter XX [1] (8 55.1-xxx et seq.), (ii) a-vacating

written notice to the tenant_confirming the vacating date in accordance with this section, or (iii)

a separate written notice to the tenant at least 15 days prior to the disposition of the security
deposit. Any written notice to the tenant shall be given in accordance with §-55-248.6 55.1-xxXx.

The tenant may provide the landlord with written confirmation of the payment of the
final water, sewer, or other utility bill for the dwelling unit, in which case the landlord shall
refund the security deposit, unless there are other authorized deductions, within the 45-day
period;-e+#. If the tenant provides such written confirmation after the expiration of the 45-day
period, the landlord shall refund any remaining balance of the security deposit held to the tenant
within 10 days following the receipt of such written confirmation provided by the tenant. If the
landlord otherwise receives confirmation of payment of the final water, sewer, or other utility
bill for the dwelling unit, the landlord shall refund the security deposit, unless there are other

authorized deductions, within the 45-day period.
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D. Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit the landlord from making the
disposition of the security deposit prior to the 45-day period and charging an administrative fee
to the tenant for such expedited processing, if the rental agreement so provides and the tenant
requests expedited processing in a separate written document.

E. The landlord shall notify the tenant in writing of any deductions provided by this
subsection—_section to be made from the tenant's security deposit during the course of the
tenancy. Such notification shall be made within 30 days of the date of the determination of the
deduction and shall itemize the reasons in the same manner as provided in subsection-B_F.-Such
No such notification shall-net be required for deductions made less than 30 days prior to the
termination of the rental agreement. If the landlord willfully fails to comply with this section,
the court shall order the return of the security deposit to the tenant, together with actual damages
and reasonable attorney fees, unless the tenant owes rent to the landlord, in which case; the court
shall order an amount equal to the security deposit credited against the rent due to the landlord.
In the event that damages to the premises exceed the amount of the security deposit and require
the services of a-thirdparty third-party contractor, the landlord shall give written notice to the
tenant advising him of that fact within the 45-day period. If notice is given as prescribed in this
paragraph_subsection, the landlord shall have an additional 15-day period to provide an
itemization of the damages and the cost of repair. This section shall not preclude the landlord or
tenant from recovering other damages to which he may be entitled under this chapter_or Chapter

XX [1] (8 55.1-xxx et seq.). The holder of the landlord's interest in the premises at the time of

the termination of the tenancy, regardless of how the interest is acquired or transferred, is bound
by this section and shall be required to return any security deposit received by the original
landlord that is duly owed to the tenant, whether or not such security deposit is transferred with
the landlord's interest by law or equity, regardless of any contractual agreements between the
original landlord and his successors in interest.

B-F. The landlord shall:
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1. Maintain and itemize records for each tenant of all deductions from security deposits
provided for under this section—whieh_that the landlord has made by reason of a tenant's

noncompliance with § 55-248-16 55.1-xxx_or 55.1-xxx [tenant to maintain dwelling unit;

additional obligations § in this chapter] during the preceding two years; and

2. Permit a tenant or his authorized agent or attorney to inspect such tenant's records of
deductions at any time during normal business hours.

€-G. Upon request by the landlord to a tenant to vacate, or within five days after receipt
of notice by the landlord of the tenant's intent to vacate, the landlord shall make reasonable
efforts to advise the tenant of the tenant's right to be present at the landlord's inspection of the
dwelling unit for the purpose of determining the amount of security deposit to be returned. If the
tenant desires to be present when the landlord makes the inspection, he shall, in writing, so
advise the landlord-in-writing, who; in turn; shall notify the tenant of the-time-and date and time
of the inspection, which must be made within 72 hours of delivery of possession. Upon
completion of the inspection attended by the tenant, the landlord shall furnish the tenant with an
itemized list of damages to the dwelling unit known to exist at the time of the inspection.

B-H. If the tenant has any assignee or sublessee, the landlord shall be entitled to hold a
security deposit from only one party in compliance with the provisions of this section.

I. If the rental agreement is terminated due to the landlord's noncompliance pursuant to §

55.1-xxx [§ 55-248.21], the landlord shall return the security deposit in accordance with this

section.

J. The maintenance of an action by a landlord pursuant to 8 55.1-xxx [§ 55-248.39] does

not release the landlord from liability under this section.

K. If a rental agreement is terminated pursuant to § 55.1-xxx [§ 55-248.26], the landlord

shall return all of the security deposit in accordance with this section.

Drafting note: Existing 8 55-248.15:1 is retained in this article of the VRLTA, with
the addition of subsection notation for clarity. In the subsection B, the fund to which

security deposits that escheat to the Commonwealth are paid is changed from the Virginia
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Housing Trust Fund to the Literary Fund in accordance with Art. VIII, Sec 8 of the
Virginia Constitution, which states that all money escheated to the Commonwealth must
be credited to the Literary Fund. In proposed subsection C, the existing phrase by a
court of law or otherwise™ is stricken as unnecessary. In proposed subsection C, the
existing term "'vacating notice is changed to "'written notice . . . confirming the vacating
date™ because "'vacating notice’ was undefined and unclear. Language is relocated (i) to
proposed subsection | from existing § 55-248.21, (ii) to proposed subsection J from existing
8 55-248.39, and (iii) to proposed subsection K from existing § 55-248.26. These security
deposit provisions are applicable only to residential tenancies governed by the VRLTA.
Technical changes are made.

Drafting note: Repealed by Acts 2014, c. 651, cl. 2, effective January 1, 2015.

Article 3.
Tenant Obligations.

Drafting note: Existing 88 55-248.17, 55-248.18, 55-248.18:2, 55-248.19, and 55-
248.20 in Article 3 of the VRLTA are retained as proposed Article 3 of the VRLTA.
Existing 88 55-248.16 and 55-248.18:1 are relocated to proposed Article 4 of Chapter XX
[1] because they apply to all residential tenancies.

8 55.1-xxx. Tenant to maintain dwelling unit; additional obligations.

In addition to the provisions of the rental agreement and the tenant obligations provided

in 8 55.1-xxx [§ 55-248.16], the tenant:

1. Shall keep that part of the dwelling unit and the part of the premises that he occupies

free from insects and pests, as those terms are defined in § 3.2-3900, and promptly notify the

landlord of the existence of any insects or pests;

2. Shall remove from his dwelling unit all ashes, garbage, rubbish, and other waste in a

clean and safe manner and place such items in the appropriate receptacles provided by the

landlord pursuant to § 55.1-xxx [§ 55-248.13], if such disposal is on the premises;
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3. Shall use in a reasonable manner all utilities and all electrical, plumbing, sanitary,

heating, ventilating, air-conditioning, and other facilities and appliances, including elevators in

the premises, and keep all utility services paid for by the tenant to the utility service provider or

its agent on at all times during the term of the rental agreement;

4. Shall not remove or tamper with a properly functioning smoke detector installed by

the landlord, including removing any working batteries, so as to render the detector inoperative

and shall maintain the smoke detector in accordance with the uniform set of standards for

maintenance of smoke detectors established in the Uniform Statewide Building Code (8 36-97 et

seq.); and

5. Shall not remove or tamper with a properly functioning carbon monoxide alarm

installed by the landlord, including removing any working batteries, so as to render the carbon

monoxide detector inoperative and shall maintain the carbon monoxide alarm in accordance

with the uniform set of standards for maintenance of carbon monoxide alarms established in the

Uniform Statewide Building Code (8 36-97 et seq.).

Drafting note: Subdivisions A 3, 4, 6, 8, and 9 of existing § 55-248.16, which are
applicable only to residential tenancies that are covered by the VRLTA, are relocated as
proposed 8 55.1-xxx [this section].

§-55-248-17 55.1-xxx. Rules and regulations.

A. A landlord, from time to time, may adopt rules or regulations, however described,
concerning the tenants' use and occupancy of the premises. Any such rule or regulation is
enforceable against the tenant only if:

1. Its purpose is to promote the convenience, safety, or welfare of the tenants in the
premises;; preserve the landlord's property from abusive use; or make a fair distribution of
services and facilities held out for the tenants generally;

2. It is reasonably related to the purpose for which it is adopted;

3. It applies to all tenants in the premises in a fair manner;
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4. It is sufficiently explicit in its prohibition, direction, or limitation of the tenant's

conduct to fairly inform him of what he-must-ermust-ret_is required to do_or prohibited from

doing to comply;

5. It is not for the purpose of evading the obligations of the landlord; and
6. The tenant has been provided with a copy of the rules and regulations or changes

thereto to such rules and regulations at the time he enters into the rental agreement or when they

are adopted.

B. A rule or regulation adopted, changed, or provided to the tenant after the tenant enters
into the rental agreement shall be enforceable against the tenant if reasonable notice of its
adoption or change has been given to the tenant and it does not-werk_constitute a substantial
modification of his bargain. If a rule or regulation-is adopted or changed after the tenant enters
into the rental agreement-that does-werk constitute a substantial modification of his bargain, it
shall not be valid unless the tenant consents to it in writing.

C. Any court enforcing this chapter shall consider violations of the reasonable rules and
regulations imposed under this section as a breach of the rental agreement and grant the landlord
appropriate relief.

Drafting note: Technical changes.

8—55-248.18 55.1-xxx. Access; consent; correction of nonemergency conditions;
relocation of tenant.

A. The tenant shall not unreasonably withhold consent to the landlord to enter into the
dwelling unit in order to inspect the premises;; make necessary or-agreed agreed-upon repairs,
decorations, alterations, or improvements;; supply necessary or-agreed agreed-upon services; or
exhibit the dwelling unit to prospective or actual purchasers, mortgagees, tenants, workmen, or
contractors. If, upon inspection of a dwelling unit during the term of a tenancy, the landlord

determines there is a violation by the tenant of 8-55-248.16 55.1-xxx or 55.1-xxx [tenant to

maintain dwelling unit; additional obligations 8§ in this chapter] or the rental agreement

materially affecting health and safety that can be remedied by repair, replacement of a damaged
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item, or cleaning in accordance with §8-55-248-32 55.1-xxx, the landlord may make such repairs
and send the tenant an invoice for payment. If, upon inspection of the dwelling unit during the
term of a tenancy, the landlord discovers a violation of the rental agreement, this chapter,

Chapter XX [1], or other applicable law, the landlord may send a written notice of termination

pursuant to §-55-248-3% 55.1-xxx. If the rental agreement so provides, and if a tenant without
reasonable justification declines to permit the landlord or managing agent to exhibit the
dwelling unit for sale or lease, the landlord may recover damages, costs, and reasonable attorney
fees against such tenant.

The landlord may enter the dwelling unit without consent of the tenant in case of
emergency. The landlord shall not abuse the right of access or use it to harass the tenant. Except
in case of emergency or if it is impractical to do so, the landlord shall give the tenant notice of
his intent to enter and may enter only at reasonable times. Unless impractical to do so, the
landlord shall give the tenant at least-24-hours’ 24 hours' notice of routine maintenance to be
performed that has not been requested by the tenant. If the tenant makes a request for
maintenance, the landlord is not required to provide notice to the tenant.

B. Upon the sole determination by the landlord of the existence of a nonemergency
property condition in the dwelling unit that requires the tenant to temporarily vacate the
dwelling unit in order for the landlord to properly remedy such property condition, the landlord
may, upon at least 30 days' written notice to the tenant, require the tenant to temporarily vacate
the dwelling unit for a period not to exceed 30 days to a comparable dwelling unit, as selected
by the landlord, and at no expense or cost to the tenant. The landlord and tenant may agree for
the tenant to temporarily vacate the dwelling unit in less than 30 days. For purposes of this
subsection, “nonemergency property condition™ means (i) a condition in the dwelling unit that,
in the determination of the landlord, is necessary for the landlord to remedy in order for the

landlord to be in compliance with 8-55-248-13 55.1-xxx or 55.1-xxx [Landlord to maintain fit

premises; additional obligation of the landlord regarding carbon monoxide alarms]; (ii) the

condition does not need to be remedied within a 24-hour period, with any condition that needs
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to be remedied within 24 hours being defined as an "emergency condition”; and (iii) the
condition can only be effectively remedied by the temporary relocation of the tenant pursuant to
the provisions of this subsection.

The tenant shall continue to be responsible for payment of rent under the rental
agreement during the period of any temporary relocation. The landlord shall pay all costs of

repairs or remediation required to address the_nonemergency property condition. Refusal of the

tenant to cooperate with a temporary relocation pursuant to this subsection shall be deemed a
breach of the rental agreement, unless the tenant agrees to vacate the unit and terminate the
rental agreement within the 30-day notice period. If the landlord properly remedies the

nonemergency property condition within the 30-day period, nothing-herein_in this section shall

be construed to entitle the tenant to terminate the rental agreement. Further, nothing-herein_in
this section shall be construed to limit the landlord from taking legal action against the tenant
for any noncompliance that occurs during the period of any temporary relocation pursuant to
this-seetion_subsection.

C. The landlord has no other right to access except by court order or that permitted by §8

55-248.32and-55-248-33 55.1-xxx and 55.1-xxx or if the tenant has abandoned or surrendered

the premises.

D. The tenant may install; within the dwelling unit; new-burglary—prevention_security
systems that the tenant may believe necessary to ensure his safety, including chain latch devices
approved by the landlord; and fire detection devices—that-the-tepant-may-believe-necessary-to
ensure-his-safety, provided_that:

1. Installation does no permanent damage to any part of the dwelling unit:;

2. A duplicate of all keys and instructions-ef-hewto—eperate for the operation of all

devices are given to the landlord-; and
3. Upon termination of the tenancy, the tenant-shakl-be is responsible for payment to the
landlord for reasonable costs incurred for the removal of all such devices and repairs to all

damaged areas.
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E. Upon written request of the tenant, the landlord shall install a carbon monoxide alarm
in the tenant's dwelling unit within 90 days of such request and may charge the tenant a
reasonable fee to recover the costs of such installation. The landlord's installation of a carbon
monoxide alarm shall be in compliance with the Uniform Statewide Building Code (8 36-97 et
seq.).

Drafting note: "Burglary prevention™ is modernized to the preferred term
""security system.” Technical changes are made.

8-55-248-18:2 55.1-xxx. Relocation of tenant where mold remediation needs to be
performed in the dwelling unit.

Where a mold condition in the dwelling unit materially affects the health or safety of any
tenant or authorized occupant, the landlord may require the tenant to temporarily vacate the
dwelling unit in order for the landlord to perform mold remediation in accordance with
professional standards as defined in §8-55-248-4 55.1-xxx for a period not to exceed 30 days. The
landlord shall provide the tenant with either (i) a comparable dwelling unit, as selected by the
landlord, at no expense or cost to the tenant; or (ii) a hotel room, at no expense or cost to the
tenant. The tenant shall continue to be responsible for payment of rent under the rental
agreement during the period of any temporary relocation and for the remainder of the term of
the rental agreement following the remediation. Nothing in this section shall be construed as
entitling the tenant to a termination of a tenancy where-er-when the landlord has remediated a
mold condition in accordance with professional standards as defined in §-55-248-4 55.1-xxx.
The landlord shall pay all costs of the relocation and the mold remediation, unless the mold is a
result of the tenant's failure to comply with 8-55-248-16 55.1-xxXx.

Drafting note: Technical change.

8-55-248-19 55.1-xxx. Use and occupancy by tenant.

Unless otherwise agreed, the tenant shall occupy his dwelling unit only as a residence.

Drafting note: No change.

8-55-248:20 55.1-xxx. Tenant to surrender possession of dwelling unit.
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At the termination of the term of tenancy, whether by expiration of the rental agreement
or by reason of default by the tenant, the tenant shall promptly vacate the premises, removing all
items of personal property and leaving the premises in good and clean order, reasonable wear
and tear excepted. If the tenant fails to vacate, the landlord may bring an action for possession
and damages, including reasonable-atterney's attorney fees.

Drafting note: Technical change.

Article 4.
Tenant Remedies.

Drafting note: Existing 88 55-248.22, 55-248.23, 55-248.24, 55-248.25, and 55-248.27
in Article 4 of the VRLTA are retained as proposed Article 4 of the VRLTA. Existing 88§
55-248.21, 55-248.21:1, 55-248.21:2, 55-248.25:1, and 55-248.26 are relocated to proposed
Article 5 of Chapter XX [1] because they apply to all residential tenancies.

§-55-248.22 55.1-xxx. Failure to deliver possession.

If the landlord willfully fails to deliver possession of the dwelling unit to the tenant, then
rent abates until possession is delivered, and the tenant may (i) terminate the rental agreement
upon at least five days' written notice to the landlord-and, upon_which termination; the landlord
shall return all prepaid rent and security deposits;, or (ii) demand performance of the rental
agreement by the landlord. If the tenant elects, he may file an action for possession of the
dwelling unit against the landlord or any person wrongfully in possession and recover the
damages sustained by him. If a person's failure to deliver possession is willful and not in good
faith, an aggrieved person may recover from that person the actual damages sustained by him
and reasonable-atterney's attorney fees.

Drafting note: Technical changes.

8-55-248.23 55.1-xxx. Wrongful failure to supply-heat~water—het-water-er an essential
serv/ces service.

A. If contrary to the rental agreement or provisions of this chapter the landlord willfully

or negligently fails to supply-heat—+unning-water-hot-water-electricity—gas-or-other an essential
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service, the tenant-must_shall serve a written notice on the landlord specifying the breach, if

acting under this section, and, in such event; and after-a_allowing the landlord reasonable time

aHewed-the-landlerd to correct such breach, may:

1. Recover damages based upon the diminution in the fair rental value of the dwelling
unit; or

2. Procure reasonable substitute housing during the period of the landlord's
noncompliance, in which case the tenant is excused from paying rent for the period of the
landlord's noncompliance, as determined by the court.

B. If the tenant proceeds under this section, he shall be entitled to recover reasonable
attorney fees; however, he may not proceed under §-55-248.21 55.1-xxx as to that breach. The
rights of the tenant under this section shall not arise until he has given written notice to the
landlord; however, no rights arise if the condition was caused by the deliberate or negligent act

or omission of the tenant,—a—member—of-hisfamily-or-otherperson—on-thepremises-with-his

econsent an authorized occupant, or a guest or invitee of the tenant.

Drafting note: The defined term "essential service™ incorporates the named
elements of and replaces the phrase "heat, running water, hot water, electricity, gas, or
other.” Language in subsection B is amended to use defined terms "authorized occupant™
and ""guest or invitee."" Technical changes are made.

8-55-248.24 55.1-xxx. Fire or casualty damage.

If the dwelling unit or premises-are_is damaged or destroyed by fire or casualty to an
extent that the tenant's enjoyment of the dwelling unit is substantially impaired or required
repairs can only be accomplished if the tenant vacates the dwelling unit, either the tenant or the
landlord may terminate the rental agreement. The tenant may terminate the rental agreement by
vacating the premises and, within 14 days thereafter,—serve_serving on the landlord a written
notice of his intention to terminate the rental agreement, in which case the rental agreement
terminates as of the date of vacating;-e+#. If continued occupancy is lawful, 8-55-226 55.1-xxx

shall apply.
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857 The landlord may terminate the rental agreement by giving the tenant 14 days' notice of

858  his intention to terminate the rental agreement—based—upon_on the basis of the landlord's

859  determination that such damage requires the removal of the tenant and_that the use of the
860 premises is substantially impaired, in which case the rental agreement terminates as of the
861  expiration of the notice period.

862 If the rental agreement is terminated, the landlord shall return all security deposits in
863  accordance with §8-55-248:-15:1 55.1-xxx and prepaid rent, plus accrued interest, recoverable by

864  law unless the landlord reasonably believes that the tenant, tepant's-guests,-Hvitees-er-authorized
865  eeeupants-were an authorized occupant, or a guest or invitee of the tenant was the cause of the

866  damage or casualty, in which case the landlord shall account to the tenant for the security and
867  prepaid rent, plus accrued interest based upon the damage or casualty, and may recover actual
868  damages sustained pursuant to 8-55-248:35_55.1-xxx. Accounting for rent in the event of ‘
869  termination or apportionment shall be made as of the date of the casualty.

870 Drafting note: Technical changes.

871 8-55-248:25 55.1-xxx. Landlord's noncompliance as defense to action for possession for ‘
872  nonpayment of rent.

873 A. In an action for possession based upon nonpayment of rent or in an action for rent by
874  alandlord when the tenant is in possession, the tenant may assert as a defense that there exists
875  upon the leased premises; a condition-whieh that constitutes, or will constitute, a fire hazard or a

876  serious threat to the life, health, or safety of the occupants-thereef of the dwelling unit, including

877  butneotlhimitedto (i) a lack of heat-er, running water-eref, light-er-of, electricity, or adequate

878 sewage disposal facilities—er; (ii) an infestation of rodents;; or_(iii) a condition—which_that
879  constitutes material noncompliance on the part of the landlord with the rental agreement or
880  provisions of law. The assertion of any defense provided for in this section shall be conditioned
881  upon the following:

882 1. Prior to the commencement of the action for rent or possession, the landlord or his

883  agent_refused or, having a reasonable opportunity to do so, failed to remedy the condition for
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which he was served a written notice of the-aferesatd condition-ercenditions by the tenant or

was notified_of such condition by a violation or condemnation notice from an appropriate state

to-do-se-has-faHed-to-remedy-the-same. For the purposes of this subsection, what period of time

shall be deemed to be unreasonable delay is left to the discretion of the court, except that there

shall be a rebuttable presumption that a period in excess of-thirty 30 days from receipt of the
notification by the landlord is unreasonable; and

2. The tenant, if in possession, has paid into court the amount of rent found by the court
to be due and unpaid, to be held by the court pending the issuance of an order under subsection
C.

B. It shall be a sufficient answer to such a defense provided for in this section if the
landlord establishes_that (i) the conditions alleged in the defense do not in fact exist;-eF (ii) such
conditions have been removed or remedied;-o _(iii) such conditions have been caused by the

tenant-e¥, his guest or invitee, members of the family of such tenant, or-ef-his-or-theirguests a

guest or invitee of such family member; or_(iv) the tenant has unreasonably refused entry to the

landlord to the premises for the purposes of correcting such conditions.

C. The court shall make findings of fact upon any defense raised under this section or the
answer to any defense and,—thereafter; shall-pass—such_issue any order as may be required,
including any one or more of the following:

1.-An-orderto-set-off-to-the-tenant-as—determined-by-the—eourt Reducing rent in such

amount as-may the court determines to be equitable to represent the existence of any condition

set-forth in subsection A-which-is-found-by the courtto-exist;
2.—Ferminate_Terminating the rental agreement or-erder_ordering the surrender of the

premises to the landlord; or
3.—Refer Referring any matter before the court to the proper state or-municipal_local
agency for investigation and report and-grant_granting a continuance of the action or complaint

pending receipt of such investigation and report. When such a continuance is granted, the tenant
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shall deposit with the court any rents—whieh_that will become due during the period of
continuance, to be held by the court pending its further order, or in its discretion, the court may
use such funds to_(i) pay a mortgage on the property in order to stay a foreclosure,-te (ii) pay a
creditor to prevent or satisfy a bill to enforce a mechanic's or materialman's lien, or-te_(iii)
remedy any condition set forth in subsection A-whieh that is found by the court to exist.

D. If it appears that the tenant has raised a defense under this section in bad faith or has
caused the violation or has unreasonably refused entry to the landlord for the purpose of
correcting the condition giving rise to the violation, the courta-ts-diseretion; may impose upon
the tenant the reasonable costs of the landlord, including court costs, the costs of repair where
the court finds the tenant has caused the violation, and reasonable-atterrey's attorney fees.

Drafting note: The phrase ""but not limited to" is deleted after the term "including™
in subsection A on the basis of 8§ 1-218, which states that throughout the Code the term
"Includes’ means includes, but not limited to." The phrase "or conditions™ is deleted after
the term "condition™ in subdivision A 1 on the basis of § 1-227, which states that
throughout the Code any word used in the singular includes the plural. Language is
reworded for clarity and technical changes are made.

8-55-248:27 55.1-xxx. Tenant's assertion; rent escrow.

A. The tenant may assert that there exists upon the leased premises; a condition—e¢

conditions-which-constitute that constitutes a material noncompliance by the landlord with the

rental agreement or with provisions of law; or—whieh_that, if not promptly corrected, will
constitute a fire hazard or serious threat to the life, health, or safety of the occupants-thereef of
the premises, including-but-nettmited-te; (i) a lack of heat or hot or cold running water, except
# where the tenant is responsible for payment of the utility charge and where the lack of such
heat or hot or cold running water is the direct result of the tenant's failure to pay the utility
charge;—er_(ii) a lack of light, electricity, or adequate sewage disposal facilities;—er (iii) an
infestation of rodents, except if the property is a one-family dwelling; or-ef (iv) the existence of

paint containing lead pigment on surfaces within the dwelling, provided that the landlord has




938
939
940
941
942
943
944
945
946
947
948
949
950
951
952
953
954
955
956
957
958
959
960
961
962
963
964

Virginia Code Commission - September 19, 2016 meeting materials

Page 36 of 53 9/9/2016 02:59 PM #. VRLTA

notice of such paint. The tenant may file such an assertion in a general district court-wherein in
which the premises-are is located by a declaration setting forth such assertion and asking for one
or more forms of relief as provided for in subsection D.

B. Prior to the granting of any relief, the tenant shall show to the satisfaction of the court
that:

1. Prior to the commencement of the action, the landlord or his agent refused or, having

a reasonable opportunity to do so, failed to remedy the condition for which he was served a

written notice_of the condition by the tenant-ef-the-cenditions-desecribed-in-subsectionA; or was

notified of such-eenditiens condition by a violation or condemnation notice from an appropriate

state or-municipal local agency.—and-that-thelandlord-hasrefused.—or-having-a reasonable
opportunity-to-do-so-hasfaHed-toremedy-the-same. For the purposes of this subsection, what

period of time shall be deemed to be unreasonable delay is left to the discretion of the court,
except that there shall be a rebuttable presumption that a period in excess of-thirty 30 days from
receipt of the notification by the landlord is unreasonable; and

2. The tenant has paid into court the amount of rent called for under the rental

agreement, within five days of the date due-thereunder_under the rental agreement, unless or

until such amount is modified by subsequent order of the court under this chapter.

C. It shall be sufficient answer or rejoinder to-a-declaration_an assertion made pursuant

to subsection A if the landlord establishes to the satisfaction of the court that (i) the conditions

alleged by the tenant do not in fact exist,-e¥ (ii) such conditions have been removed or remedied,

of_(iii) such conditions have been caused by the tenant-e, his guest or invitee, members of-his

the family-er-his-or-theirinvitees-or-Heensees of such tenant, or a guest or invitee of such family

member, or_(iv) the tenant has unreasonably refused entry to the landlord to the premises for the

purpose of correcting such conditions.
D. Any court shall make findings of fact on the issues before it and shall issue any order
that may be required. Such an order may include—but-is-rot-Hmited-to; any one or more of the

following:
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1. Terminating the rental agreement upon the request of the tenant or ordering the

premises—surrendered_surrender of the premises to the landlord if the landlord prevails on a

request for possession pursuant to an unlawful detainer properly filed with the court;

2. Ordering all moneys already accumulated in escrow disbursed to the landlord or to the
tenant in accordance with this chapter;

3. Ordering that the escrow be continued until the conditions causing the complaint are
remedied;

4. Ordering that the amount of rent, whether paid into the escrow account or paid to the
landlord, be abated as determined by the court in such an amount as may be equitable to
represent the existence of-the any condition-ercenditions found by the court to exist. In all cases

where the court deems that the tenant is entitled to relief under this chapter or Chapter XX [1] (8

55.1-xxx et seq.), the burden shall be upon the landlord to show cause why there should not be

an abatement of rent;

5. Ordering any amount of moneys accumulated in escrow disbursed to the tenant where
the landlord refuses to make repairs after a reasonable time or to the landlord or to a contractor
chosen by the landlord in order to make repairs or to otherwise remedy the condition. In either
case, the court shall in its order insure that moneys thus disbursed will be in fact used for the
purpose of making repairs or effecting a remedy;

6. Referring any matter before the court to the proper state or-munieipal local agency for
investigation and report and granting a continuance of the action or complaint pending receipt of
such investigation and report. When such a continuance is granted, the tenant shall deposit with
the court—ents, within five days of date due under the rental agreement, subject to any
abatement under this section;-whieh rents that become due during the period of the continuance,
to be held by the court pending its further order;

7 n-ts-discretion,—ordering_Ordering escrow funds disbursed to pay a mortgage on the

property in order to stay a foreclosure; or
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8.-its-diseretion,-ordering Ordering escrow funds disbursed to pay a creditor to prevent

or satisfy a bill to enforce a mechanic's or materialman's lien.

E. Notwithstanding any provision of-this—subsection_subsection D, where an escrow
account is established by the court and the condition-er—<enditiens—are_is not fully remedied
within six months of the establishment of such account, and the landlord has not made
reasonable attempts to remedy the condition, the court shall award all moneys accumulated in
escrow to the tenant. In such event, the escrow shall not be terminated, but shall begin upon a
new six-month period with the same result if, at the end-thereef of the period, the condition-er
conditions-have has not been remedied.

E-F. The initial hearing on the tenant's assertion filed pursuant to subsection A shall be
held within—fiteen 15 calendar days from the date of service of process on the landlord as
authorized by 8-55-248-12 55.1-xxx, except that the court shall order an earlier hearing where
emergency conditions are alleged to exist upon the premises, such as failure of heat in winter,
lack of adequate sewage facilities, or any other condition-which that constitutes an immediate
threat to the health or safety of the inhabitants of the leased premises. The court, on motion of
either party or on its own motion, may hold hearings subsequent to the initial proceeding in
order to further determine the rights and obligations of the parties. Distribution of escrow
moneys may only occur by order of the court after a hearing of which both parties are given
notice as required by law or upon motion of both the landlord and tenant or upon certification by
the appropriate inspector that the work required by the court to be done has been satisfactorily
completed. If the tenant proceeds under this subsection, he may not proceed under any other

section of this-article chapter or Chapter XX [1] (8 55.1-xxX et seq.) as to that breach.

Drafting note: The phrase ""but not limited to™ is deleted after the term "including™
and "include™ in subsections A and D on the basis of § 1-218, which states that throughout
the Code the term "'Includes’ means includes, but not limited to."" In subdivision B 1, "“or
his agent™ is added after ""landlord™ for consistency with subsection A 1 of § 55.1-xxx [8

55-248.25]. In subsection C, "declaration™ is changed to ""assertion™ to conform to the
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language used in subsection A. In subsection C, the term "licensee™ is stricken and the
term "'guest or invitee' added on the basis of the definition in § 55.1-xxx [§ 55-248.4]. The
phrase "or conditions' is stricken after the term *‘condition™ in subdivision D 4 and |
subsection E on the basis of § 1-227, which states that throughout the Code any word used
in the singular includes the plural. Language is reworded for clarity and technical changes
are made.

Drafting note: Repealed by Acts 2000, c. 760, cl. 2.

Article 5.
Landlord Remedies.

Drafting note: Existing 88 55-248.31, 55-248.31:01, 55-248.31:1, 55-248.32, 55-
248.33, 55-248.34:1, 55-248.35, 55-248.37, 55-248.38:1, 55-248.38:2, and 55-248.38:3 in
Article 5 of the VRLTA are retained as proposed Article 5 of the VRLTA. Existing 8 55-
248.36 is relocated to proposed Article 5 of Chapter XX [1] because it applies to all
residential tenancies.

8-55-248.-31 55.1-xxx. Noncompliance with rental agreement; monetary penalty.

A. Except as_otherwise provided in this chapter_or Chapter XX [1] (8 55.1-xxx et seq.),

if there is a material noncompliance by the tenant with the rental agreement or a violation of §

55-24816 55.1-xxx or 55.1-xxx [tenant to maintain dwelling unit; additional obligations § in

this chapter] materially affecting health and safety, the landlord may serve a written notice on
the tenant specifying the acts and omissions constituting the breach and stating that the rental
agreement will terminate upon a date not less than 30 days after receipt of the notice if the
breach is not remedied in 21 days, and that the rental agreement shall terminate as provided in
the notice.

B. If the breach is remediable by repairs or the payment of damages or otherwise, and
the tenant adequately remedies the breach prior to the date specified in the notice, the rental

agreement shall not terminate.
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C. If the tenant commits a breach-whieh that is not remediable, the landlord may serve a
written notice on the tenant specifying the acts and omissions constituting the breach and stating
that the rental agreement will terminate upon a date not less than 30 days after receipt of the

notice. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary-centained-elsewhere—in-this-chapter, when a
breach of the tenant's obligations under this chapter_or Chapter XX [1] (8 55.1-xxx et seq.) or

the rental agreement involves or constitutes a criminal or a willful act,—which that is not
remediable and-whieh that poses a threat to health or safety, the landlord may terminate the
rental agreement immediately and proceed to obtain possession of the premises. For purposes of
this subsection, any illegal drug activity involving a controlled substance, as used or defined by
the Drug Control Act (8 54.1-3400 et seq.), by the tenant,-the-tepant's an authorized-eceupants
occupant, or-the-tenant's-guests-erinvitees a guest or invitee of the tenant; shall constitute an

immediate nonremediable violation for which the landlord may proceed to terminate the tenancy

without the necessity of waiting for a conviction of any criminal offense that may arise out of
the same actions. In order to obtain an order of possession from a court of competent
jurisdiction terminating the tenancy for illegal drug activity or for any other action that involves
or constitutes a criminal or willful act, the landlord shall prove any such violations by a
preponderance of the evidence. However, where the illegal drug activity is engaged in by-a

tenant's an authorized-eecupants,—or—guests—er—invitees occupant or a guest or invitee of the

tenant, the tenant shall be presumed to have knowledge of such illegal drug activity unless the

presumption is rebutted by a preponderance of the evidence. The initial hearing on the landlord's
action for immediate possession of the premises shall be held within 15 calendar days from the
date of service on the tenant; however, the court shall order an earlier hearing when emergency
conditions are alleged to exist upon the premises-whieh that constitute an immediate threat to
the health or safety of the other tenants. After the initial hearing, if the matter is scheduled for a
subsequent hearing or for a contested trial, the court, to the extent practicable, shall order that
the matter be given priority on the court’s docket. Such subsequent hearing or contested trial

shall be heard no later than 30 days from the date of service on the tenant. During the interim
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1072  period between the date of the initial hearing and the date of any subsequent hearing or
1073  contested trial, the court may afford any further remedy or relief as is necessary to protect the
1074  interests of parties to the proceeding or the interests of any other tenant residing on the premises.
1075  Failure by the court to hold either of the hearings within the time limits set out-herein_in this
1076  section shall not be a basis for dismissal of the case.

1077 D. If the tenant is a victim of family abuse as defined in 8 16.1-228 that occurred in the
1078  dwelling unit or on the premises and the perpetrator is barred from the dwelling unit pursuant to

1079  § 55-248.-31:01 based-upon_55.1-xxx on the basis of information provided by the tenant to the ‘

1080 landlord, or by a protective order from a court of competent jurisdiction pursuant to 8 16.1-
1081  253.1;0r 16.1-279.1; or subsection B of § 20-103, the lease shall not terminate solely due-selely ‘
1082  to an act of family abuse against the tenant. However, these provisions shall not be applicable if
1083 (i) the tenant fails to provide written documentation corroborating the tenant's status as a victim
1084  of family abuse and the exclusion from the dwelling unit of the perpetrator no later than 21 days
1085 from the alleged offense or (ii) the perpetrator returns to the dwelling unit or the premises, in
1086  violation of a bar notice, and the tenant failsprempthy to_promptly notify the landlord within 24
1087  hours-thereafter that the perpetrator has returned to the dwelling unit or the premises, unless the
1088 tenant proves by a preponderance of the evidence that the tenant had no actual knowledge that
1089 the perpetrator violated the bar notice, or it was not possible for the tenant to notify the landlord
1090  within 24 hours, in which case the tenant shall promptly notify the landlord, but in no event
1091  mere later than—7_seven days-thereafter. If the provisions of this subsection are not applicable,
1092 the tenant shall remain responsible for the acts of the other co-tenants, authorized occupants, or
1093  guests or invitees pursuant to 8-55-248:-16; 55.1-xxx and is subject to termination of the tenancy
1094  pursuant to the lease and this chapter and Chapter XX [1] (8 55.1-xxx et seq.).

1095 E. If the tenant has been served with a prior written notice-whieh that required the tenant
1096 to remedy a breach, and the tenant remedied such breach, where the tenant intentionally
1097 commits a subsequent breach of a like nature as the prior breach, the landlord may serve a

1098  written notice on the tenant specifying the acts and omissions constituting the subsequent
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breach, make reference to the prior breach of a like nature, and state that the rental agreement
will terminate upon a date not less than 30 days after receipt of the notice.

F. If rent is unpaid when due, and the tenant fails to pay rent within five days after
written notice is served on him notifying the tenant of his nonpayment, and of the landlord's
intention to terminate the rental agreement if the rent is not paid within the five-day period, the
landlord may terminate the rental agreement and proceed to obtain possession of the premises as
provided in §-55-248.35 55.1-xxx. If a check for rent is delivered to the landlord drawn on an
account with insufficient funds, or if an electronic funds transfer has been rejected because of
insufficient funds or a stop-payment order has been placed in bad faith by the authorizing party,
and the tenant fails to pay rent within five days after written notice is served on him notifying
the tenant of his nonpayment and of the landlord's intention to terminate the rental agreement if
the rent is not paid by cash, cashier's check, certified check, or a completed electronic funds
transfer within the five-day period, the landlord may terminate the rental agreement and proceed
to obtain possession of the premises as provided in §-55-248.35 55.1-xxx. Nothing shall be
construed to prevent a landlord from seeking an award of costs or attorney fees under § 8.01-
27.1 or civil recovery under 8 8.01-27.2, as a part of other damages requested on the unlawful
detainer filed pursuant to § 8.01-126, provided_that the landlord has given notice in accordance
with 8-55-248.6_55.1-xxx, which notice may be included in the five-day termination notice
provided in accordance with this section.

G. Except as_otherwise provided in this chapter, the landlord may recover damages and
obtain injunctive relief for any noncompliance by the tenant with the rental agreement or §-55-

24816 55.1-xxx or 55.1-xxx [tenant to maintain dwelling unit; additional obligations § in this

chapter]. In the event of a breach of the rental agreement or noncompliance by the tenant, the
landlord shall be entitled to recover from the tenant the following, regardless of whether-erret a
lawsuit is filed or an order_is obtained from a court: (i) rent due and owing as contracted for in
the rental agreement, (ii) other charges and fees as contracted for in the rental agreement, (iii)

late charges contracted for in the rental agreement, (iv) reasonable attorney fees as contracted
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for in the rental agreement or as provided by law, (v) costs of the proceeding as contracted for in
the rental agreement or as provided by law only if court action has been filed, and (vi) damages

for physical damage to the dwelling unit or premises as contracted for in the rental agreement.

H. In a case where a lawsuit is pending before the court upon a breach of the rental
agreement or noncompliance by the tenant and the landlord prevails, the court shall award a
money judgment to the landlord and against the tenant for the relief requested, which may
include the following: (i) rent due and owing as of the court date as contracted for in the rental
agreement;; (ii) other charges and fees as contracted for in the rental agreement;; (iii) late
charges contracted for in the rental agreement;; (iv) reasonable attorney fees as contracted for in
the rental agreement or as provided by law, unless in any such action the tenant proves by a
preponderance of the evidence that the tenant's failure to pay rent or vacate was reasonable;; (V)
costs of the proceeding as contracted for in the rental agreement or as provided by laws;; and (vi)

damages _for physical damage to the dwelling unit or premises.

Drafting note: In subsections G and H, the phrase "for physical damage™ is added
after ""damages" to clarify for what the landlord is entitled to recover. Technical changes
are made.

8-55-248.31:01 55.1-xxx. Barring guest or invitee of-terants a tenant.

A. A guest or invitee of a tenant may be barred from the premises by the landlord upon
written notice served personally upon the guest or invitee of the tenant for conduct on the
landlord's property where the premises are located-whieh _that violates the terms and conditions
of the rental agreement, a local ordinance, or a state or federal law. A copy of the notice-must
shall be served upon the tenant in accordance with this chapter. The notice shall describe the
conduct of the guest or invitee-whieh that is the basis for the landlord's action.

B. In addition to the remedies against the tenant authorized by this chapter_or Chapter

XX [1] (8 55.1-xxx et seq.), a landlord may apply to the magistrate for a warrant for trespass,

provided_that the guest or invitee has been served in accordance with subsection A.
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C. The tenant may file a tenant's assertion, in accordance with 8-55-24827 55.1-xxx,
requesting that the general district court review the landlord's action to bar the guest or invitee.

Drafting note: Technical changes.

8-55-248.31:1 55.1-xxx. Sheriffs authorized to serve certain notices;-fees-therefor fee for
service.

The sheriff of any county or city, upon request, may deliver any notice to a tenant on
behalf of a landlord or lessor under the provisions of 8-55-225 55.1-xxx or-8-55-248-31 55.1-
xxX. For this service, the sheriff shall be allowed a fee not to exceed-fwelve-dolars $12.

Drafting note: Technical changes.

8-55-248.32 55.1-xxx. Remedy by repair, etc.; emergencies.

If there is a violation by the tenant of §-55-248-16 55.1-xxx or 55.1-xxx [tenant to

maintain dwelling unit; additional obligations 8§ in this chapter] or the rental agreement

materially affecting health and safety that can be remedied by repair, replacement of a damaged
item, or cleaning, the landlord shall send a written notice to the tenant specifying the breach and
stating that the landlord will enter the dwelling unit and perform the work in a workmanlike
manner; and submit an itemized bill for the actual and reasonable cost-therefer for such work to
the tenant, which shall be due as rent on the next rent due date; or, if the rental agreement has
terminated, for immediate payment.

In case of emergency, the landlord may, as promptly as conditions require, enter the
dwelling unit, perform the work in a workmanlike manner, and submit an itemized bill for the
actual and reasonable cost-therefer for such work to the tenant, which shall be due as rent on the
next rent due date; or, if the rental agreement has terminated, for immediate payment.

The landlord may perform the repair, replacement, or cleaning; or may engage a third
party to do so.

Drafting note: Technical changes.

§-55-248.33 55.1-xxx. Remedies for absence, nonuse, and abandonment.
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If the rental agreement requires the tenant to give notice to the landlord of an anticipated
extended absence in excess of seven days and the tenant fails to do so, the landlord may recover
actual damages from the tenant. During any absence of the tenant in excess of seven days, the
landlord may enter the dwelling unit at times reasonably necessary to protect his possessions
and property. The rental agreement is deemed to be terminated by the landlord as of the date of
abandonment by the tenant. If the landlord cannot determine whether the premises-have has
been abandoned by the tenant, the landlord shall serve written notice on the tenant in accordance
with §-55-248-6 55.1-xxx requiring the tenant to give written notice to the landlord within seven
days that the tenant intends to remain in occupancy of the premises. If the tenant gives such
written notice to the landlord, or if the landlord otherwise determines that the tenant remains in
occupancy of the premises, the landlord shall not treat the premises as having been abandoned.
Unless the landlord receives written notice from the tenant or otherwise determines that the
tenant remains in occupancy of the premises, upon the expiration of seven days from the date of
the landlord's notice to the tenant, there shall be a rebuttable presumption that the premises-have
has been abandoned by the tenant, and the rental agreement shall be deemed to terminate on that
date. The landlord shall mitigate damages in accordance with §-55-248.35 55.1-xxx.

Drafting note: Technical changes.

Drafting note: Repealed by Acts 2003, c. 427, cl. 2

8-55-248.34:1 55.1-xxx. Landlord's acceptance of rent with reservation.

A.Previded_If the landlord has given written notice to the tenant that the rent will be
accepted with reservation, the landlord may accept full or partial payment of all rent and receive
an order of possession from a court of competent jurisdiction pursuant to an unlawful detainer
action filed under Article 13 (8 8.01-124 et seq.) of Chapter 3 of Title 8.01 and proceed with
eviction under 8-55-248.38:2 55.1-xxx. Such notice shall be included in a written termination
notice given by the landlord to the tenant in accordance with §-55-248.:31 55.1-xxx or in a

separate written notice given by the landlord to the tenant within five business days of receipt of
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the rent. Unless the landlord has given such notice in a termination notice in accordance with 8
55-248:31 55.1-xxx, the landlord shall continue to give a separate written notice to the tenant
within five business days of receipt of the rent that the landlord continues to accept the rent with
reservation in accordance with this section until such time as the violation alleged in the
termination notice has been remedied or the matter has been adjudicated in a court of competent
jurisdiction. If the dwelling unit is a public housing unit or other housing unit subject to
regulation by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, the landlord shall be
deemed to have accepted rent with reservation pursuant to this subsection if the landlord gives
the tenant the written notice required-herein in this section for the portion of the rent paid by the
tenant.

B. Subsequent to the entry of an order of possession by a court of competent jurisdiction
but prior to eviction pursuant to §-55-248-38:2 55.1-xxx, the landlord may accept all amounts
owed to the landlord by the tenant, including full payment of any money judgment, award of
attorney fees and court costs, and all subsequent rents that may be paid prior to eviction, and
proceed with eviction, provided that the landlord has given the tenant written notice that any
such payment would be accepted with reservation and would not constitute a waiver of the
landlord's right to evict the tenant from the dwelling unit. However, if a landlord enters into a
new written rental agreement with the tenant prior to eviction, an order of possession obtained
prior to the entry of such new rental agreement is not enforceable. Such notice shall be given in
a separate written notice given by the landlord within five business days of receipt of payment
of such money judgment, attorney fees, and court costs; and_of all subsequent rents that may be
paid prior to eviction. If the dwelling unit is a public housing unit or other housing unit subject
to regulation by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, the landlord shall be
deemed to have accepted rent with reservation pursuant to this subsection if the landlord gives
the tenant the written notice required-herein_in this section for the portion of the rent paid by the
tenant. Writs of possession in cases of unlawful entry and detainer are otherwise subject to 8

8.01-471.
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C.—Hewever—the The tenant may pay or present to the court a redemption tender for
payment of all rent due and owing as of the return date, including late charges, attorney fees,
and court costs, at or before the first return date on an action for unlawful detainer. For purposes
of this section, "redemption tender" means a written commitment to pay all rent due and owing
as of the return date, including late charges, attorney fees, and court costs, by a local
government or nonprofit entity within 10 days of said return date.

D. If the tenant presents a redemption tender to the court at the return date, the court
shall continue the action for unlawful detainer for 10 days following the return date for payment
to the landlord of all rent due and owing as of the return date, including late charges, attorney
fees, and court costs, and—dismissal—of_dismiss the action upon such payment. Should the
landlord not receive full payment of all rent due and owing as of the return date, including late
charges, attorney fees, and court costs, within 10 days of the return date, the court shall, without
further evidence, grant to the landlord judgment for all amounts due and immediate possession
of the premises.

E. In cases of unlawful detainer, a tenant may pay the landlord or his attorney or pay into
court all (i) rent due and owing as of the court date as contracted for in the rental agreement, (ii)
other charges and fees as contracted for in the rental agreement, (iii) late charges contracted for
in the rental agreement, (iv) reasonable attorney fees as contracted for in the rental agreement or
as provided by law, and (v) costs of the proceeding as provided by law, at which time the
unlawful detainer proceeding shall be dismissed. A tenant may invoke the rights granted in this
section no more than one time during any 12-month period of continuous residency in the
dwelling unit, regardless of the term of the rental agreement or any renewal term-thereef of the

rental agreement.

Drafting note: Technical changes.
8-55-248:35 55.1-xxx. Remedy after termination.
If the rental agreement is terminated, the landlord may have a claim for possession and

for rent and a separate claim for actual damages for breach of the rental agreement, reasonable
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atterney's_attorney fees as provided in §-55-248-3% 55.1-xxx, and the cost of service of any
notice under §-55-225 55.1-xxx 0r-8-55-248-3%1 55.1-xxx or process by a sheriff or private
process server, which cost shall not exceed the amount authorized by §-55-248:31:1 55.1-xxX,
whieh_and such claims may be enforced, without limitation, by-the—institution—of_initiating an
action for unlawful entry or detainer. Actual damages for breach of the rental agreement may
include a claim for-sueh rent-as _that would have accrued until the expiration of the term-thereof

of the rental agreement or until a tenancy pursuant to a new rental agreement commences,

whichever_occurs first-eecurs;, provided that nothing—hereir contained_in this section shall

diminish the duty of the landlord to mitigate actual damages for breach of the rental agreement.

In obtaining post-possession judgments for actual damages as defined-herein _in this section, the

landlord shall not seek a judgment for accelerated rent through the end of the term of the
tenancy.

In any unlawful detainer action brought by the landlord, this section shall not be
construed to prevent the landlord from being granted by the court a simultaneous judgment for
money due and for possession of the premises without a credit for any security deposit. Upon
the tenant vacating the premises either voluntarily or by a writ of possession, security deposits
shall be credited to the tenants' account by the landlord in accordance with the requirements of §
55-248-15:1 55.1-xxX.

Drafting note: Technical changes.

8-55-248.37 55.1-xxx. Periodic tenancy; holdover remedies.

A. The landlord or the tenant may terminate a week-to-week tenancy by serving a
written notice on the other at least seven days prior to the next rent due date. The landlord or the
tenant may terminate a month-to-month tenancy by serving a written notice on the other at least
30 days prior to the next rent due date, unless the rental agreement provides for a different
notice period. The landlord and the tenant may agree in writing to an early termination of a
rental agreement. In the event that no such agreement is reached, the provisions of §-55-248-35

55.1-xxx shall control.
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B. If the tenant remains in possession without the landlord's consent after expiration of
the term of the rental agreement or its termination, the landlord may bring an action for
possession and may also recover actual damages, reasonable attorney fees, and court costs,
unless the tenant proves by a preponderance of the evidence that the failure of the tenant to
vacate the dwelling unit as of the termination date was reasonable. The landlord may include in
the rental agreement a reasonable liquidated damage penalty, not to exceed an amount equal to
150 percent of the per diem of the monthly rent, for each day the tenant remains in the dwelling
unit after the termination date specified in the landlord's notice. However, if the dwelling unit is
a public housing unit or other housing unit subject to regulation by the_U.S. Department of
Housing and Urban Development, any liquidated damage penalty shall not exceed an amount
equal to the per diem of the monthly rent set out in the lease agreement. If the landlord consents
to the tenant's continued occupancy, 8-55-248-7 55.1-xxx applies.

C. In the event of termination of a rental agreement-and_where the tenant remains in
possession with the agreement of the landlord either as a hold-over tenant or a month-to-month
tenant and no new rental agreement is entered into, the terms of the terminated agreement shall
remain in effect and govern the hold-over or month-to-month tenancy, except that the amount of
rent shall be either as provided in the terminated rental agreement or the amount set forth in a
written notice to the tenant, provided that such new rent amount shall not take effect until the
next rent due date coming 30 days after the notice.

Drafting note: Technical change.

Drafting note: Repealed by Acts 2000, c. 760, cl. 2.

8-55-248.38:1 55.1-xxx. Disposal of property abandoned by tenants.

If any items of personal property are left in the dwelling unit, the premises, or-it any
storage area provided by the landlord; after the rental agreement has terminated and delivery of
possession has occurred, the landlord may consider such property to be abandoned. The landlord

may dispose of the property so abandoned as the landlord sees fit or appropriate, provided_that
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he has:_given (i)-given a termination notice to the tenant in accordance with this chapter_or

Chapter XX [1] (8 55.1-xxx et seq.),~which—+recludes including a statement that any items of

personal property left in the dwelling unit—er, the premises, or the storage area would be

disposed of within the 24-hour period after terminations;; (ii)-giver written notice to the tenant in
accordance with §8-55-248-33 55.1-xxx,-which-treludes_including a statement that any items of

personal property left in the dwelling unit—er, the premises, or the storage area would be

disposed of within the 24-hour period after expiration of the seven-day notice period;; or (iii)
given a separate written notice to the tenant,~which-inehudes including a statement that any items

of personal property left in the dwelling unit-e¥, the premises, or the storage area would be

disposed of within 24 hours after expiration of a 10-day period from the date such notice was
given to the tenant. Any written notice to the tenant shall be given in accordance with §8-55-
2486 55.1-xxx. The tenant shall have the right to remove his personal property from the

dwelling unit-e¥, the premises, or the storage area at reasonable times during the 24-hour period

after termination or at such other reasonable times until the landlord has disposed of the
remaining personal property of the tenant.

During the 24-hour period and until the landlord disposes of the remaining personal
property of the tenant, the landlord shall not have any liability for the risk of loss for such
personal property. If the landlord fails to allow reasonable access to the tenant to remove his
personal property as provided in this section, the tenant shall have a right to injunctive or other
relief as provided by law. If the landlord received any funds from any sale of abandoned
property as provided in this section, the landlord shall pay such funds to the account of the
tenant and apply-same_the funds to any amounts due the landlord by the tenant, including the
reasonable costs incurred by the landlord in selling, storing, or safekeeping such property. If any
such funds are remaining after application, the remaining funds shall be treated as a security
deposit under the provisions of §-55-248-15:1 55.1-xxx. The provisions of this section shall not

be applicable if the landlord has been granted a writ of possession for the premises in
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accordance with Title 8.01 and execution of such writ has been completed pursuant to § 8.01-
470.

Drafting note: The language "or the storage area" is included throughout for
consistency with the first sentence of the section. Technical changes are made.

8—55-248-38:2 55.1-xxx. Authority of sheriffs to store and sell personal property
removed from residential premises; recovery of possession by owner; disposition or sale.

Notwithstanding the provisions of § 8.01-156, when personal property is removed from
a dwelling unit, the premises, or-frem any storage area provided by the landlord pursuant to an
action of unlawful detainer or ejectment, or pursuant to any other action in which personal
property is removed from the dwelling unit in order to restore the dwelling unit to the person

entitled-thereto to such dwelling unit, the sheriff shall oversee the removal of such personal

property to be placed into the public way. The tenant shall have the right to remove his personal
property from the public way during the 24-hour period after eviction. Upon the expiration of
the 24-hour period after eviction, the landlord shall remove, or dispose of, any such personal
property remaining in the public way.

At the landlord's request, any personal property removed pursuant to this section shall be
placed into a storage area designated by the landlord, which may be the dwelling unit. The
tenant shall have the right to remove his personal property from the landlord's designated
storage area at reasonable times during the 24 hours after eviction-from-the-landlord's or at such
other reasonable times until the landlord has disposed of the property as provided-herein _in this
section. During that 24-hour period and until the landlord disposes of the remaining personal
property of the tenant, the landlord and the sheriff shall not have any liability for the risk of loss
for such personal property. If the landlord fails to allow reasonable access to the tenant to

remove his personal property as provided-herein_in this section, the tenant shall have a right to

injunctive or other relief as otherwise provided by law.
Any property remaining in the landlord's storage area upon the expiration of the 24-hour

period after eviction may be disposed of by the landlord as the landlord sees fit or appropriate. If
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the landlord receives any funds from any sale of such remaining property, the landlord shall pay
such funds to the account of the tenant and apply-same_the funds to any amounts due the
landlord by the tenant, including the reasonable costs incurred by the landlord in the eviction
process described in this section or the reasonable costs incurred by the landlord in selling or
storing such property. If any funds are remaining after application, the remaining funds shall be

treated as_a security deposit under-apphicable-taw the provisions of § 55.1-xxx [8 55-248.15:1].

The notice posted by the sheriff setting the date and time of the eviction, pursuant to §
8.01-470, shall provide notice to the tenant of the rights afforded to tenants in this section and
shall include in-the-said such notice a copy of this statute attached to, or made a part of,-this the
notice.

Drafting note: In the third paragraph, a reference to § 55.1-xxx [8 55-248.15:1] is
included for consistency with the preceding section. Technical changes.

8-55-248.38:3 55.1-xxx. Disposal of property of deceased tenants.

A. If a tenant; who is the sole occupant of the dwelling unit; dies, and there is no person
authorized by order of the circuit court to handle probate matters for the deceased tenant, the
landlord may dispose of the personal property left in the dwelling unit or upon the premises.
However, the landlord shall give at least 10 days' written notice to (i) the person identified in the
rental application, lease agreement, or other landlord document as the authorized person to
contact in the event of the death or emergency of the tenant or (ii) the tenant in accordance with
8-55-248:6 55.1-xxx if no such person is identified in the rental application, lease agreement, or
other landlord document as the authorized contact person. The notice given under clause (i) or
(i) shall include a statement that any items of personal property left in the premises would be
treated as abandoned property and disposed of in accordance with the provisions of §-55-
248-38:1 55.1-xxx, if not claimed within 10 days.

B. The landlord may request that such authorized contact person provide reasonable
proof of identification. Thereafter, the authorized contact person identified in the rental

application, lease agreement, or other landlord document may (i) have access to the dwelling
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unit or the premises and to the tenant records maintained by the landlord and (ii) rightfully claim
the personal property of the deceased tenant and otherwise handle the affairs of the deceased
tenant with the landlord.

C. The rental agreement is deemed to be terminated by the landlord as of the date of
death of the tenant; who is the sole occupant of the dwelling unit, and the landlord shall not be
required to seek an order of possession from a court of competent jurisdiction. The estate of the
tenant shall remain liable for actual damages under 8-55-248-35 55.1-xxx, and the landlord shall
mitigate_ such damages-as-provided-thereunder.

Drafting note: Technical change.

Article 6.

Drafting note: The designation for existing Article 6 is stricken because its
provisions are relocated: Existing 8 55-248.39 is relocated to proposed Article 3 of Chapter
XX [1], and existing 8 55-248.40 is relocated to proposed Article 1 of this chapter.

#
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CODE COMMISSION POLICIES FOR CODIFICATION

I. CODIFICATION OF SECTION 1 BILLS, ENACTMENTS, AUTHORITIES, AND
COMPACTS*

A. Section 1 bills and enactments (88 30-146 and 30-148)

Pursuant to 88 30-146 and 30-148 of the Code of Virginia, codify provisions from the
acts when the provisions have general or permanent application.

B. Authorities

Codify an authority only when it has (i) an unlimited duration of existence and (ii)
more than local or regional application.

C. Compacts (§ 30-154.1)

Each compact will be assigned a Code section number in accordance with its proper
title location.

I1. STATUTES OMITTED FROM CODE PUBLICATION*
Code sections "not set out™ (8 30-149)

1. Exclude provisions that do not have general or permanent application.
2. Exclude policy statements.
3. Exclude sections that establish the purpose of the legislation or legislative intent.

Note: The general policy has been to exclude from the Code the full text of sections
determined not to be general in nature. Below is an example of how a "not set out™ section
appears in the online Code:

8§ 36-85.4. Purpose and application [Not set out].

Not set out. (1986, c. 37.)

*See attached explanatory note from 1948 Code of Virginia recodification report


http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/30-146/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title30/chapter15/section30-148/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/30-154.1/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/30-149/

ReporT OoF COMMISSION X111
GENLERAL EXPLANATORY NOTE

STATUTES INCLUDED AND STATUTES OMITTED.

The general policy of the Commission has been to include in the proposed
Code only statutes of a general nature and to leave out special and local acts
However, acts, by their terms applicable only to particular counties and cities,
which appeared in the Code of 1919, have been retained, as also have been re-
tained a number of statutes, whether contained in the Code of 1919 or subse-
quently enacted, which relate to the courts or the officers and government of
particular cities and counties. Acts which except from their application one or
two particular counties or cities, presumably intended to be general laws, have
been included. Acts referring to particular rivers and tidal waters or other
geographic features of the State, to particular educational institutions and other
public agencies, and to the state parks, have been considgred as general acts and
have been included. .

It has been the intention of the Commission to omit statutes and parts of
statutes which have been in whole or in part repealed, expressly or by clear im-
plication, and statutes which have expired by their own terms, or have been su-
perseded by more recent legislation, or have otherwise become obsolete. Statutes
which are now in force, but which by their own terms will expire before it is
contemplated that the proposed Code, if adopted, can become effective, have
been omitted.

Statutes which have, by the Supreme Court of Appeals of Virginia, been de-
clared unconstitutional in their entirety have been omitted, except in one or two
instances where the Assembly has with apparent deliberate intent re-enacted the
statute after the decision of the Court. Statutes which have been declared un-
constitutional only as applied to certain persons or circumstances have been in-
cluded. Merely consequential amendments of statutes, required on account of
amendments to the Constitution of Virginia, have been made.

Most preambles and preliminary recitals, declarations of emergency and of
legislative policy have been omitted. Sometimes, however, preliminary matter,
particularly legislative determinations of fact, have been retained, where such
preliminary matter has been referred to in the body of the statute, or where for
some other reason it has seemed desirable to retain it.

Clauses declaring the provisions of statutes to be separable or severable in re-
lation to their validity or constitutionality, which only declare the existence of
a principle deemed to be inherent in a code, have been omitted.

Clauses which expressly repeal specific statutes, their object being accom-
plished by omission of the statutes specified, have been omitted. General re-
pealer clauses, which do not expressly repeal specified statutes, but which pur-
port to repeal all inconsistent statutes, have likewise been omitted.

Many statutes which the Commission thought it unnecessary to print in full,
but which the Commission also thought should not be repealed by omission from
the Code, have not been printed but have been continued by reference only, a
practice freely used by the Revisors of the Code of 1919. Examples of such
statutes are some of the numerous statutes, which, although general in form, are
in fact applicable only to one or two counties or cities classified on the basis of
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population or land area; statutes providing for the issuance of bonds, where no
more bonds may be issued, but where some of the bonds already issued are still
outstanding ; statutes which by their terms are to become effective only upon
the happening of some contingency, which has not yet occurred, and seems un-
likely to occur; and statutes which have been to a very large extent superseded
by more recent legislation, but not to such an extent as the Commission feels
would justify their omission. The statutes continued by reference have not been
collected in one place, but have been so continued by short sections inserted
throughout the Code at the places where the statutes so continued would have
appeared if printed in full.

Acts declared by their terms to be in effect only upon the happening of some
contingency have in instances where the contingency has occurred been printed
as presently effective statutes, without any reference to the contingency. If
the contingency has not yet occurred, the act, where printed at all rather than
continued by reference, “has been printed in its present conditional form.

TuE Tax Cope, axp Oruer “Cobes”.

The Tax Code of Virginia has been incorporated into the body of the pro-
posed Code, in Title 58, Taxation, and other statutes on special subjects here-
tofore called “Codes”, such’as The Motor Vehicle Code and The Banking Code,
have in the proposed Code been called “Laws” or “Acts”, so that if the Code
now submitted is adopted the only “Code” extant in Virginia will be the Code
of Virginia.

STATUTES FOR THE REORGANIZATION OF THE GOVERNMENT.

The various acts concerning the general reorganization, of the state govern-
ment adopted at the extra session of 1927, and thereafter, and similar less ex-
tensive statutes creating or abolishing offices and boards or commissions, and
transferring administrative powers and duties, have been given effect through-
out the proposed Code. Some of the provisions of these statutes have been
printed, and some of such provisions, where it seemed more appropriate, have
not been printed, but have been made effective by alteration of the language of
other statutes affected by them. In some instances the statute affected by the
reorganization statutes cannot be cured by alteration of the language, and has
plainly been repealed. Such statutes have been omitted. Examples are the
numerous sections in the Code of 1919 which direct- the payment of moneys
into the State Treasury to the credit of special funds, most of which special
funds have been abolished, and sections which provide special appropriations.
In making the necessary alterations in statutes affecting the administration of
the state government, the Commission has freely consulted the state officers
charged with the duties of administration, and has given considerable weight to
existing administrative practices.
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